Shea Moisture • Thickening Growth Milk • Hair Treatments

rated 3.3(16 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.68%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 Rubia1 on 12/17/2014 2:04:00 AM more reviews by Rubia1

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I had purchased this due to a friend recommending it to me, and she went on about how great it was so surely I purchased the leave in treatment. Before trying the product I had returned to the store for something, and noticed the complete line including the Shea butter shampo, conditioner, and deep conditioner were on a good sale- so what do I do, buy all of it. Just on the word of my friend saying its wonderful for her hair. (As we must keep in mind what works for one person may not for another especially when dealing with hair products) so when I finally got to try these, I was excited thinking my hair was going to come out amazing and knot free- silky smooth .. Not the case . And I had also read good reviews online including this website. I suppose my hair just dose not like Shea butter, why Idk but im a little frustrated. Trial and error right ..

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 morenitaxoxo on 12/5/2014 2:14:00 PM more reviews by morenitaxoxo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This product is alright. It smells good but that's it. It's kind of thick so I use it when my hair is in a bun or ponytail and I need to smooth flyaways. To be honest, none of Shea Moisture's hair products have worked well on my hair so take this review with a grain of salt lol

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* evanlami on 11/16/2014 10:05:00 PM more reviews by evanlami

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I'm pretty impressed with this product. I don't use very much--just a little dollop or two. It smells great and is great at volumizing. It also leaves my hair very smooth and doesn't make it look oily like a lot of hair products. It lasts a very long time as well.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 falkenna on 9/29/2014 9:42:00 PM more reviews by falkenna

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I bought this before reading reviews but still decided to give it a shot nonetheless. I am so glad I did! I have very, very thin curly hair that is prone to breakage (thank you genetics!). I've been using this product for about a week, and my hair has noticeably thickened and has more of a shine. I only use it on my ends as that's my true problem area and my hair gets oily quite quickly. This works best after showering, but sometimes I apply it as a pick-me-up before going out to really add shine and volume to my curls. My hair is still thinner than I'd like, but no product can work miracles - with that in mind, this is a great product that has been so helpful toward improving my self-confidence.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 BeautBetty on 9/6/2014 12:55:00 PM more reviews by BeautBetty

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I don't know if it matters or not but I am not African American but I use and love Shea moisture hair products.
I have a short pixie cut
this makes a great setting gel for me. It is not sticky and smells wonderful. Use it at the gym and others comment on the softness of the hair.
As for growth, since my hormones are damaging my hair faster than I can replace it! I cannot vouch for the growth part of it. But I will rebuy it!
Price paid was 9.99usd, which I consider a bit high

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 dgenise on 6/10/2014 4:22:00 PM more reviews by dgenise

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Dark   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Jus got this from target, I love shea moisture products, I hope to see some improvements in my hair.right now i suffer from thinning edges and my hair barely grows.
it would be nice if this stuff works.I dnt like the smell at all, it smells like cheap perfume. Txtur of product is perfect for my dry relaxed hair

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* XoXoSinCity on 6/17/2013 5:41:00 AM more reviews by XoXoSinCity

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I really wanted to love this as I have so many other Shea Moisture products I use, especially as it's targeted with so many benefits for fine wavy hair like mine. It seems like it has the exact same formula of the Thickening Conditioner which did nothing for me either. They both have this heavy thick lotion texture as opposed to a styling product. Didn't give my hair any slip whatsoever as a leave in and felt like I was in fact applying lotion to my hair. Once again a shame as has such good ingredients but wish it was a more creamy absorbing formula. As many great products as the line has doesn't seem to have any lightweight styling products for fine wavy hair unfortunately. Will try the Curl Leave-in Mist next at my last attempt of a styling product in the line (the Thickening Mist was horrid for me as well as felt like oil mixed with water and did nothing).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 leahraneighh on 3/29/2013 9:38:00 PM more reviews by leahraneighh

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I am on day three of this product and so far I'm lovin' it. At first, I wasn't too impressed because I allowed my hair to air dry and it seemed like it's usual self (flat, frizzy and dull). But today, after my shower, I added a little bit to my hair and styled it (just blow dry). I noticed a huge difference. My hair was extremely soft and silky feeling, and it looked amazing. It even kept up the silkiness throughout the entire day. Very impressed! The natural ingredients are really beneficial to my hair, especially since it is mostly dry and damaged from coloring so much.

Note that I am also combining this product with the thick + growth shampoo from Shea Moisture. That may make a difference.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 chococatbeauty79 on 3/2/2013 12:00:00 PM more reviews by chococatbeauty79

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Cool   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

....This product does work but, dont expect it to be moisturizing, i have to mix this with evoo....I already have naturally thick hair, but, this product made my hair even thicker and grow more....

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ljoseph29 on 12/20/2012 10:25:00 PM more reviews by ljoseph29

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Don't like the smell of the product and it never gave my hair volume.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Shea Moisture products

More Hair Treatments products