Too Faced • Smokey Eye Collection • Palettes

rated 4.4(18 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.72%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 SarahAutumn on 5/13/2014 12:51:00 PM more reviews by SarahAutumn

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is the only Too Faced eyeshadow I've tried, and it's ok but I'm not super impressed. The highlight shades, Firefly, White Lie, and In A Flash, are my favorites in the pallette. They're all smooth and nicely pigmented, as well as Cloves and Nice Ash (Nice Ash is probably the nicest and most pigmented of the bunch.) However, some of the eyeshadows are just not amazing, especially Smoking Jacket and Smolder, which I have not been able to blend together without looking like a shimmery bruise. Smoking Jacket, Smolder, Up in Smoke, and Smokin Hot are all less pigmented than I would like, look somewhat patchy when applied, and are not super easy to blend (though I will say they're nowhere near the worst eyeshadows I've tried. They're just not the best either.) Something I do like about this palette is that nothing is super glittery and it includes two mattes and one almost matte. This, in theory, makes everything in the palette super wearable, but I just don't find myself reaching for this palette very often. Another criticism I've heard from a lot of people (and I agree) is that the way Too Faced intends for these shadows to be combined (both in the way the palette is arranged and with the included example cards) doesn't really work. I do think that the Day and Classic color combinations are nice (though I much prefer to apply them differently than the cards suggest) but the Fashion colors look like a silvery bruise every time I try to wear them together. I suppose I need to play around with the colors more and find the best ways to combine them, but I don't really love this palette enough to feel compelled to do so. Also, most of the colors have fallout, but it's not horrible. So, in conclusion, I do like some of the shadows in this palette and I wouldn't say it's a bad product, but it's not exactly the most unique and original palette ever created so there are much better options for the price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 celticcavegirl on 1/27/2014 10:26:00 AM more reviews by celticcavegirl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I love this palette and use it every day. Originally I had the Sephora smokey pallete but there was just too many shades I didn't use (it's very much 'cool' shades) and many were very glittery and too 'loose' and would fall all over my face. One of the reasons I love this palette is that the browns are not too orangey which is what I tend to find with many other products

For day wear, I use 'white lie' as a highlighter on the browbone and the inner corner. I then use 'firefly' on the lid and then a blend of 'cloves' and 'nice ash' in the crease and smudged under the lower lashline. I then use a blend of 'up in smoke' and 'smoking hot' as a liner in the out corner of the lower waterline and a little on the top lid (and flicked out). I fill my brows with 'smoking hot'

For evening I use 'white lie' as before, a blend of 'up in smoke' and 'nice ash' all over the lid and under the lower lashline, a light amount of cloves/nice ash slightly above the crease, and smoking hot in the crease

I don't use the bottom row as my eyes are green and brown so these cool tones don't suit me - but they would be great for blue eyes

For a really dressy look I usually use the sephora palette as they have more shimmery colours but I have to be a lot more careful with the application


Pros - buildable, blendable, highly pigmented shadows. Good colour choice, Lovely packaging. No mess when applying and long-wearing
Cons - shadows are too small and highlighters too big. Would be better for me to have some green tones instead of the 3 blue-based tones

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 caravaggio1092 on 1/26/2014 11:45:00 AM more reviews by caravaggio1092

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

Watch me get ready with this palette! :




    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 hoatzin1 on 1/20/2014 4:29:00 AM more reviews by hoatzin1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I like this palette but I'm not in love with it like the Sephora Smoky Eye palette. This one is definitely more portable since the packaging is smaller. The package is made of cardboard and there's a magnetic flap with a pull tab for opening. I took off a lippy because it lacks a mirror. I know some people don't care about this but I like to have a mirror with all my palettes for easy touch ups when I'm on the go and sometimes a mirror just isn't around or your cell phone reflection doesn't cut it. Where the mirror should be is an image of a smokey eye with an arrow pointing to 3 instruction cards inserted inside the cover. The cards cover a Day look, a Classic look and a Fashion look (which makes use of the purple shadow). This palette cost me $39 from Sephora.

SHADOWS - this palette comes with 9 shadows. The 3 highlight shadows are about 3-4x the size of the lid and liner shadows which doesn't make sense to me because I use the least amount of the highlighter colors and more of the lid/crease colors. I assume you can mix and match the colors but it's not laid out that way in the palette. The shadows feel buttery, but the pigmentation is hit or miss. In a Flash is very pigmented as is Smoking Hot. The other colors, while good, requires at least one more swipe to get the color you need.

TOP ROW - Going across the palette from left to right,you have the Day highlight color in Firefly which is a shimmery off white with a gold tone. The lid/crease color is Cloves which is a shimmery medium brown. The liner color is Up in Smoke which is a satin brown color (not matte).

MIDDLE ROW - your large highlight color is White Lie which as the color implies is a shimmery white color. Then the lid/crease color, Nice Ash, which is a blue toned shimmery grey. Smoking Hot, the liner color, is a matte black.

BOTTOM ROW - In a Flash is a very shiny silver color with glitter dispersed through out. Depending on how much you layer on, it can be pretty glittery, but it will take a lot of patting on for the glitter to cover your eye and by that time your lid will look like a mirror. This is definitely a good color to put on your lid and not so much under your brow. Smoking Jacket, is a beautiful shimmery purple color in the palette which comes across as a dark purple on your lid (the shimmer doesn't show as much as in the palette). The liner color is Smolder which is a charcoal matte black with a slight blue undertone. Unfortunately that color applies kinda chalky (maybe matte colors have that problem).

I don't think I got my money's worth here because most of the colors here I don't think I'd use. It will probably take me a long while to hit pan with the highlight colors which is possibly a good value. Honestly, I don't think I'd purchase this again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 ughlexuh on 7/31/2013 7:28:00 AM more reviews by ughlexuh

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I received this palette as a gift from my mom about a year ago. Honestly, I've probably only used it about 10 times. I just don't find most of the colors very practical for everyday, then again it is for "smokey" eyes. The color pay off is GREAT though, and the packaging is very nice. I would not repurchase again just because I don't find that I would be getting my moneys worth.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 pcjo on 2/18/2013 7:46:00 AM more reviews by pcjo

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Really a nice combination of colors. They are well pigmented, not too much fall out and the glitter is minimal......very nice soft shimmer shades. They all blend well and do not irritate my eyelids.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jellyfiish on 12/25/2012 10:06:00 PM more reviews by jellyfiish

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is an adorable palette. The packaging is sturdy and travel friendly. The shadows and highlighters are pigmented and all work together very well. I'm very happy that I got this as a gift, the price is a little steep but after trying it I could justify purchasing it again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 magnifiquee on 11/28/2012 1:31:00 PM more reviews by magnifiquee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I usually only buy Too Faced face products but this is the first eyeshadow purchase I have made. I am really pleased with their eyeshadows. First off, they are so freaking pigmented it is ridiculous! They are gorgeous, vibrant, long lasting and very easy to blend. I love that they have little instructional cards in them to give you ideas for different looks, that is definitely a plus for someone who is just starting off with makeup. Also the packaging is gorgeous and sturdy, very chic. Some of the cons about this is that it is SO expensive in Canada, one of the palettes is $46 compared to the $38 it is in America which is really unfair because usually it's only a couple of dollars difference in other products in the US. Anyway, it's alright since I don't think I will ever repurchase this palette since sooo little goes such a long way and I probably will never hit pan with any of the shadows ever. I am excited that Too Faced has such beautiful shadows and I will definitely be checking out other shadows by them.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* staciarose22 on 2/3/2012 6:00:00 PM more reviews by staciarose22

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

The old Smokey eye palette has been discontinued. It's no longer for sale on the Too Faced website, so that means it's gone for good. This is the replacement, and so far it's getting a lot more positive feedback on here and the internet. I've never bought anything from Too Faced before today. Not that I don't buy a lot of moderate to high end products, but I didn't know how to approach Too Faced or even know much about the brand other than their eye primer. Some of their packaging is over the top to me or too flashy, but I love the eye palettes and their whimsical themes with pinups, fairies, or glitter. These are more compact than they used to be and they take up less space. You have to have your own brushes and mirror. It's not an on the go palette, but you can travel with it easily. For $36, you get three large highlights as you can see, and six colors in various shimmers and mattes. The silver highlight is opaque and intense, metallic with the right primer. I'd use LA Splash sealer/base with that one since those shades tend to be heavier unless you have a sticky base. I'm going to test it for a week or two and update, but so far it's really good. I also like the "midnight glamour in a garden" them for this palette.

The Too Faced website describes these shades as:
1. Firefly: silvery taupe
2. Cloves: Bronzey brown
3. Up In Smoke: Blackened brown
4. White Lie: Sugar white
5.Nice Ash: charcoal
6.Smokin' Hot: matte black
7.In A Flash: silver shimmer
8.Smoking Jacket: Black plum, I'd call it a chrome purple.
9. Smolder: matte navy

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 GetSmart on 1/31/2012 8:02:00 AM more reviews by GetSmart

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

I first purchased the Natural Eye palette and FELL IN LOVE! I don't usually splurge on eyeshadows, I usually buy less expensive ones (in Australia this eyeshadow palette costs $59 US), but having loved the natural eye, I got this one, too.

I don't like the colours in this palette - they don't compliment my skin tone nor my eye colour. There are 3 matte colours, which is nice (hate palettes that are ALL shimmer), but I feel these colours all lean towards a 'cool' undertone, and as a warm toned gal, they do nada for me.

The quality is lovely, as per usual with Too Faced palettes, they DO have staying power, particularly with a primer, they are pigmented - certainly, but so many of them are frosty and cool toned that they will predominantly work for cool toned gals - particularly green eyes, I feel.

I'm still waiting for my Romantic Eye collection, I'm hoping the colours are better suited for me.

I wouldn't buy again, because they don't compliment MY skin tone, but the quality is there, so i'm not dissing the product itself.

//edit: I'm going to say that I have made *some* of the colours work for me. I pair them with silver jewellery, to complete the more frosty/cool toned look. You CAN make them work if you are of a warmer undertone, but I still say warm toned girls are better off buying a more suited palette fo this kind of money.

Phenomenal quality shadows, though. Love!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Too Faced products

More Palettes products