Shea Moisture Coconut & Hibiscus Curl Enhancing Smoothie

4.0

79 reviews

77% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Deionized Water, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter)*, Cocos Nucifera (Coconut ) Oil*, Macadamia Ternifolia Seed Oil, Magnifera Indica (Mango) Seed Butter*, Persea Gratissima (Avacado) Oil, Vegetable Glycerin, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Extract, Silk Protein, Ammonium Salt, Melia Azadiratcha (Neem) Seed Oil,Daucus Carota Sativa (Carrot) Seed oil, Sorbitol Esters, Panthenol (Pro-Vitamin B-5), Caprylyl Glycol, Essential Oil Blend, Lonicera Caprifolium (honeysuckle) Flower (and) Lonicera Japonica (Japanese Honeysuckle) Flower Extract, Tocopherol (Vitamin E), Hibiscus Flower Extract


Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

When I first bought this product, I hated it. I thought i would never work for my 2b/2c wavy hair, and I ended up using it as a deep treatment mask. I tried it over a leave-in conditioner (yes to carrots), and it left my hair with ringlets, but looking stringy after one day. A few months later, I tried it again, and now I love it!

The trick with this product for my hair is gel. I use a curl activator cream, a leave-in (GVP Conditioning Balm or Kinky Curly Knot Today now), about a quarter-sized amount of this product, with LOTS of gel on top. It leaves my hair with beautiful moisturized curls. It doesn't cause my hair to get greasy and my hair loves the protein. If I use this with my Eco Styler Krystal gel, it will easily give me 4 day curls. They won't be soft curls, but they hold will be solid, and assuming I apply these products to soaking wet hair, my curls never look hard.

I give this 4 stars because I have to apply this with a gel on top and would have loved to be able to use this without a gel.



on 4/16/2015 5:49:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

I flipping love this stuff! But LESS IS MORE. it can quickly weigh my hair down. It is hands down the best product for my weird fine not always wanting to cooperate sort of wavy sort of curly hair. And it smells AMAZING.


on 3/28/2015 10:29:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Neutral

Hair: Black, Relaxed, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have had this product since last summer so I think it's time for a reviewer! My hair type is relaxed, fine/thin, just below bra strap in length. I alternate between blowing out my hair straight and wearing it a braid out very often. I consider my hair to be very healthy regardless of the fact I relax. I absolutely love this product. First, you receive a ton of product. A little goes a long long way with this stuff. I use it often and have barely used a quarter of the tube. It took awhile to find how much I needed to use to achieve the best results. How I use this product is, after washing and conditioning, I detangle with kinky kurly "knot today" leave in conditioner. Then I section my hair into 2-5 plaits. I apply a about 2 fingers of product to each section and braid. By morning, my hair is about 95% dry. When I take the braids out the results are soft, shiny, light, non greasy, moisturized curls that smell great. It's absolutely a product I cannot live without. I used to use Miss Jessie's curly pudding but that left my hair heavy and greasy. That particularly product was filled with mineral and petroleum oil and was insanely overpriced but I digress. Shea Moisture's product is filled with natural oils and ingredients I can read. Lol. Plus it averages about $13 and lasts a least a year. Winner in my book.


on 3/25/2015 6:30:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this product I've tried man creams for my natural hair and this is pretty much the only one that constantly leaves my curls looking amazing.


on 3/13/2015 4:16:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I have thick and wavy but very frizzy hair. I use this every time I get out of the shower and it makes my curls look more defined and less frizzy while also making my hair smell wonderful!


on 2/13/2015 9:22:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I LOVE THIS SO MUCH! I use this as a styler for my curly hair and it give my curls so much definition! I use the Shea Moisture Coconut & Hibiscus Styling Milk or the Yucca & Baobab Thickening Growth Milk to moisturize my hair before I go in with the smoothie. My curls are so bouncy and holds all day long! Not to mention it smells like pina coladas! This is my holy grail and a must for all my curlies!


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

My search for the perfect styler/leave in conditioner for my 3c/4a hair is complete =-). I use this EVERY time I wash my hair because I am an avid protective styler and will leave my hair alone in that style for 3weeks tops. When it's time to take down my hair it still smells amazing and feels like I moisturized it yesterday when really it was 2-3 weeks ago. I swear by this stuff, my search is over!!!!!


on 1/7/2015 5:08:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Other

Eyes: Brown

i'm very on the fence about this product. Mainly because the last time I tried using this product by itself, and let it dry, it left my hair feeling dry and crunchy. Probably because of the silk protein in it.

If your hair is protein sensitive, do be wary about this product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/6/2015 10:12:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Works very well on my daughters very curly hair. Gets rid of all tangles and knots and air dries to perfect tendril curls


on 12/24/2014 1:16:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Neutral

Hair: Black, Kinky, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is the best all-in-one hair moisturizer and styler that I have tried since I've been natural (almost 12 years!) It is a thick, creamy product that comes in a jar, which I think is appropriate for products of this consistency. There is a light, floral scent with a hint of coconut; I don't notice it at all once my hair has dried. I use on freshly washed hair, applying a generous amount and smoothing it down my hair in three or four sections. I smooth a bit on the edges and fluff my hair, and I am done with my wash-and-go.

In real life, people have complained to me that this product can cause buildup on their hair. I avoid this by only applying on freshly washed, damp hair, and not reapplying until I wash again. I refresh my style on subsequent days by showering without a cap, fluffing my hair with wet hands, and/or spraying on some SheaMoisture Coconut & Hibiscus Hold & Shine Moisture Mist. I can go 3-4 days with this daily routine along with sleeping with a satin bonnet.

This is a product that I have recommended again and again to people with hair similar to mine. I have 4a, thick, below-brastrap , color-treated hair.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Hair Products


Moroccan Oil
811 Reviews
Deep Repair Mask
311 Reviews


Top Rated Shea Moisture Products

Back to Top