Shea Moisture • Coconut & Hibiscus Curl Enhancing Smoothie • Hair

rated 3.9(60 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.76%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 ashlyndmarie on 7/27/2014 10:22:00 AM more reviews by ashlyndmarie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

It took me about 4 tubs (threw away the 1st tub, gave away the 2nd and 3rd) but now I finally get the hang of it and have learned how I can make this leave in/styler work for my hair. I have colored 3b/3c curls with some damaged parts from bleaching and too many spins around the color wheel. I use this product alone or with the curling gel soufflé for my wash n go. The trick for me is to apply to damp hair and use no more than about a teaspoon of product for my whole head. Then I diffuse and be on my business. It definitely gives my hair bounce and a very soft hold. My curls are defined but not super defined because I only use a little (when I use more they come out super defined, but I prefer big fluffy hair). Now that I know how to play with this, I will repurchase

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Summar on 7/21/2014 6:33:00 PM more reviews by Summar

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Dark   Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This product smells great but aside from a little moisturization, not sure that it really defines my curls at all. I've been using it for quite a while after a shampoo as a styler for wash and gos, as well as for twists and I haven't seen much of a difference in definition. I have 4a/b hair so maybe it works for those with a looser curl pattern.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 ashpash44 on 7/21/2014 11:09:00 AM more reviews by ashpash44

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

My hair just hates this stuff idk why. I seen many reviews of ppl wit similar textures as mine and they loved it but every one is truly different. I tried it a couple of years ago and hated it then but decided to give it another shot and I really really tried. I used it on damp,dry, and soaking wet hair. I tried it alone mixed it with different things it just doesn't do what I need it to do. I have had better results wit other Shea moisture products tho. My hair loves their raw Shea butter line...Btw my hair is kinky curly 4a mostly but 3c in the crown area

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mwebba1 on 7/21/2014 10:10:00 AM more reviews by mwebba1

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I did not like anything about this product but the smell. My hair just hated this product! It was not moisturizing at all for my 4B hair and I wound up giving this to a friend. It just sat on top of my hair regardless of it I used it when my hair was wet, damn or dry. Now I do love the hair milk from this line so I guess I should have stuck to that.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Josie012 on 7/21/2014 8:29:00 AM more reviews by Josie012

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I love this product. It's one of my staple products that I use every week. This smoothie leaves my hair very moisturized, while enhancing my curls. This product also has a fantastic smell, and I've gotten several comments on how well my hair smells.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 PaleInComparison on 4/6/2014 6:42:00 PM more reviews by PaleInComparison

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This is one of my HG hair products. I don't know how it took me so long to find it but I am so glad I did- the entire line of products are really worth the cost and they have decent sales regularly. One of the few products I give 5 stars to after trying at least 100 other curl products.

Pros: Smells nice, easy to apply and mixes well with other products. A small dollop of this and a curl cream make my hair beautiful, shiny, soft and oh so curly. This and Paul Mitchell's Super Skinny Serum have protected my hair so well that I rarely get split ends, knots or tangles in my hair anymore. One tub lasts me at least six months, even with twice daily use when I am working out. My hair smells and looks beautiful, and since I started using the curl shampoo from the same line it looks even more amazing. I have had so many compliments on my curls that I can't rave enough about this product or what it has done for my hair.


Cons: I still use other products, people who don't want a lot of maintenance may want a more all in one product. Does not necessarily bring out curls so much as improve their appearance. The tub means I get product under my nails but I can't see this in a bottle or with a pump.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 sharonstar1212 on 4/6/2014 11:20:00 AM more reviews by sharonstar1212

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Ehh I feel like this just made my curls look really frizzy and I felt so much of the product in my hair when I didnt use much. I wouldn't buy this again sorry. I do like all there other products except for this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 snis on 1/28/2014 4:48:00 PM more reviews by snis

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This is the second hair product in this line that I have tried and I am giving up on this line! I have come to the conclusion that Shea Butter and my curly hair are never going to be friends. The soufflé is heavy and dries out your hair. The Coconut & Hibiscus Curl & Style Milk I tried before this, was a little less drying but still not very good. Neither of these products did anything to enhance my curls either.

After several days of using this, my hair was like straw. When I went back to my stylist for a haircut she noticed how brittle my hair was and inquired as to what I was using. When I told her she stated that she had had many clients who experienced the same thing I had. She thought that Shea Butter worked as a moisturizer on skin but did not do well for naturally curly hair. After trying the above products, I truly agree. She suggested an oil like aragon or coconut oil.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sleepytree on 1/23/2014 7:57:00 PM more reviews by sleepytree

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This review is long overdue. This product is HG for me. I have 2 B/C wavy/curly hair. I have recently converted into the curly girl method which I love so far. Even before I was CG, I've been using this product for a couple of years now and it is the only product I have been consistent with. First of all, I LOVE that it is contains only natural goodness NO silicones, pthalates, parabens etc. Secondly, I love the moisture it gives my hair and how it enhances my curls. I have to have a light hand with this or it will leave my hair a bit weighed down and tacky but with the right amount my hair is nice, soft, and shiny. Using it on wet hair is a must for me. It does not entirely take care of frizz but it does help. My hair is always happiest when I use this product. I stopped using it for a bit because I felt like it was too heavy for my hair but as soon as I stopped I was not liking how my hair looked. I would recommend this for moisture and definition but not as much for hold or frizz control. My hair is definitely healthier after using it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 pinkmouse09 on 10/24/2013 4:06:00 PM more reviews by pinkmouse09

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I have 3a/b hair and I really like this. I switched to this from Beautiful Textures. My hair is becoming noticeably softer after using this. It really feels like its actually making my hair healthier as well as styling it. I use with with some leave in conditioner and am able to get a few days out of my styles. I think a lot of people are simply using too little or too much of this based on their reviews.

I see a lot of mixed reviews on rest of the line, so I probably won't be trying more stuff unless they are on sale.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Shea Moisture products

More Hair products