Shea Moisture Coconut & Hibiscus Curl Enhancing Smoothie

3.9

85 reviews

75% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Deionized Water, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter)*, Cocos Nucifera (Coconut ) Oil*, Macadamia Ternifolia Seed Oil, Magnifera Indica (Mango) Seed Butter*, Persea Gratissima (Avacado) Oil, Vegetable Glycerin, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Extract, Silk Protein, Ammonium Salt, Melia Azadiratcha (Neem) Seed Oil,Daucus Carota Sativa (Carrot) Seed oil, Sorbitol Esters, Panthenol (Pro-Vitamin B-5), Caprylyl Glycol, Essential Oil Blend, Lonicera Caprifolium (honeysuckle) Flower (and) Lonicera Japonica (Japanese Honeysuckle) Flower Extract, Tocopherol (Vitamin E), Hibiscus Flower Extract


on 8/12/2015 2:53:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I'm Caucasian and have very fine 2a/2b hair but a lot of it.

That said, I love this stuff. I don't mix it with anything as other reviewers have, I just scoop a small amount from the jar, rub between my palms for a few seconds, then scrunch through my hair from ends up but staying away from the roots. The result is soft, defined curls with plenty of movement.

I've been using this for about 2 weeks now and have had no issues (I wash my hair every 3rd day) and my hair is usually sensitive to protein, but this stuff is proving to be the exception.

Seeing as I only use a small amount, the jar will last me a few months at least, but I will most likely repurchase when done.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 8/4/2015 9:39:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is my holy grail moisturizer for my 4b/4c hair. It leaves my hair very soft and moisturise. It smells pretty good too. I use it as the C in my L.O.C. method to misturize my hair.


on 7/31/2015 4:22:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I bought this stuff on a whim the other day and then later found out that it's geared more towards ethnic hair. I'm white as can be so I was worried it might not work with my hair type, but let me tell you.... this stuff is amazing. I feel anyone with wavy or curly hair can use this. It softened my curls and even accentuated them and just made my hair texture look so beautiful and shiny. It smells amazing too. I would highly recommend this stuff! Very impressed. 👍🏻

Edit: after using it more and more I'm finding that it's just not working for me. The first couple times I used it I loved it and now it's just meh. Used it today and my hair was a frizzy/greasy mess. Not going to continue using.


on 7/31/2015 11:24:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This product has impacted my hair greatly. It makes your hair instantly soft for days on end, and it reduces frizz. A plus to this product is that it smells amazing. This works with dry or wet hair. I use this right after I get out of the shower and it really defines my curls. The price is perfect too. This is definitely a great buy!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/2/2015 7:28:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I found this product to be very heavy. It didn't soak in, it just sit on top of my hair. I noticed that I would also have what looked like white "beading" or flaking. It honestly think this product is for those with a coarser hair texture.


on 5/27/2015 10:36:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I hate this product. I feel like the lone wolf because everyone always seems to love it. It never holds my curls or makes my hair easier to manage. It just sits on top of my hair and makes it a tangled greasy mess no matter how I try to use it. Smells good tho.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

When I first bought this product, I hated it. I thought i would never work for my 2b/2c wavy hair, and I ended up using it as a deep treatment mask. I tried it over a leave-in conditioner (yes to carrots), and it left my hair with ringlets, but looking stringy after one day. A few months later, I tried it again, and now I love it!

The trick with this product for my hair is gel. I use a curl activator cream, a leave-in (GVP Conditioning Balm or Kinky Curly Knot Today now), about a quarter-sized amount of this product, with LOTS of gel on top. It leaves my hair with beautiful moisturized curls. It doesn't cause my hair to get greasy and my hair loves the protein. If I use this with my Eco Styler Krystal gel, it will easily give me 4 day curls. They won't be soft curls, but they hold will be solid, and assuming I apply these products to soaking wet hair, my curls never look hard.

I give this 4 stars because I have to apply this with a gel on top and would have loved to be able to use this without a gel.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/16/2015 5:49:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

I flipping love this stuff! But LESS IS MORE. it can quickly weigh my hair down. It is hands down the best product for my weird fine not always wanting to cooperate sort of wavy sort of curly hair. And it smells AMAZING.


on 3/28/2015 10:29:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Neutral

Hair: Black, Relaxed, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have had this product since last summer so I think it's time for a reviewer! My hair type is relaxed, fine/thin, just below bra strap in length. I alternate between blowing out my hair straight and wearing it a braid out very often. I consider my hair to be very healthy regardless of the fact I relax. I absolutely love this product. First, you receive a ton of product. A little goes a long long way with this stuff. I use it often and have barely used a quarter of the tube. It took awhile to find how much I needed to use to achieve the best results. How I use this product is, after washing and conditioning, I detangle with kinky kurly "knot today" leave in conditioner. Then I section my hair into 2-5 plaits. I apply a about 2 fingers of product to each section and braid. By morning, my hair is about 95% dry. When I take the braids out the results are soft, shiny, light, non greasy, moisturized curls that smell great. It's absolutely a product I cannot live without. I used to use Miss Jessie's curly pudding but that left my hair heavy and greasy. That particularly product was filled with mineral and petroleum oil and was insanely overpriced but I digress. Shea Moisture's product is filled with natural oils and ingredients I can read. Lol. Plus it averages about $13 and lasts a least a year. Winner in my book.


on 3/25/2015 6:30:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this product I've tried man creams for my natural hair and this is pretty much the only one that constantly leaves my curls looking amazing.




Top Rated Shea Moisture Products

Back to Top