Butter London • Tea with the Queen • Polishes

rated 4.5(13 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.76%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 jauntilyaskew on 5/22/2013 3:28:00 AM more reviews by jauntilyaskew

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Nude shade that has a hint of peach on my neutral NC20- like skin. Very tame, no shine, and entirely work appropriate but unique enough to get positive comments. Butter London polishes will last a week on average with minor tip wear, and this shade is no different.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* 3110hello on 1/19/2013 1:13:00 PM more reviews by 3110hello

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

This is a gorgeous nude color; very complimentary to my pale complexion. One of the best of their products, I find the polish is nice to apply and without t doubt I get the most compliments on this color over any other.

Goes with anything - not a statement polish but uber flattering. Hightly recommend.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 siobhan5 on 1/13/2013 9:13:00 AM more reviews by siobhan5

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Butter London seems to divide the minds a little, but I have to say they offer all the colors I was looking for for ages. They have several shades I tried to find from other brands but they often turned out to look rather differently on my nails than in the bottles. With Butter London it is the first time that the colors turn out to be even more beautiful than in the bottles. I have very pale, cool-toned skin, and TWTQ just looks so lovely. It gives a perfectly, neat look to hands and feet without being loud or boring. And it's the same with several other BL colors, like "Aston", "yummy mummy" or "lady muck". They just look elegant and lovely.
If it comes to the price: apart from the fact that, with a good base and top coat I never had polishes lasting longer than these, this is also a vegan brand with the "animal cruelty-free" bunny on the backside, and without using poisonous substances (Toluene, formaldehyde etc.) most other brands use. For that, and with the lovely, extraordinary colors and the extreme lasting power I gladly pay a little more.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Beauty4Ashes on 12/31/2012 10:36:00 AM more reviews by Beauty4Ashes

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

BL's Tea with the Queen is a beautiful, creamy medium-deep neutral color. It's a great nude shade for my NC40-42 (NARS Syracuse) skin tone. I've received many compliments when wearing this shade. Thankfully, I purchased this lovely polish during a promotion and got a great bargain. I very rarely ever pay full price for anything, especially nail polishes (exception is Chanel). So, I recommend getting it on sale. Overall, a very good classic color. Try Tea with the Queen for a refined and clean look.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Halloqueen on 10/19/2012 2:48:00 AM more reviews by Halloqueen

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

Out of the three Butter London polishes I ordered, I liked this one the least, although I expected the most. I wanted a neutral nude that wasn't the color of silly putty, like Yummy Mummy. I previously purchased BL's lippie in Toff, which I really liked as a lippie, but was a tad too pink for the nail look I was going for. TWTQ looked like it was more neutral. It is, but it still has a cool pink tone to it. It applied rather streakly on me, and it is going to take a base coat, at least 3 applications and a good top coat to work. I'll wear it, but I wish it were more opaque and less pink...the TWTQ gloss, on the other hand, is a gorgeous nude for those who wear cool colors and are fair.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 tangomaya on 9/10/2012 3:52:00 AM more reviews by tangomaya

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Tea with the Queen may be only slightly more "exciting" than bare nails, but when applied with some expertise, this boldly overpriced English polish gives a refined and well groomed look to the hands. The shade is rather odd actually... it is a fleshy warm toned camel, yet does have an almost imperceptible speck of something like "lavendar" in the mix, as other reviewers have noted. So I'm not surprised that it works on cool skin tones as well as warm. I have a golden undertone to my very pale skin, and it looks "good" on me... not great, but good. I think it would great on me without the odd lavendar tinge. It's opague at 2 coats, and darker than it looks in the bottle. I was disappointed about that, because I prefer a lighter nude... dark nude creams tend to look too "1970's school-teacher" to me. Although, since it IS darker than many nudes, I suppose it'd be a nice nude to pull out for autumn and fall. Unlike some other reviewers, I see NO shimmer in this polish, not even a trace, not even if I stretch my imagination to it's fullest capacity. Too bad, because I love me a subtle shimmer. The shape of the bottle wins my award for "best looking nail polish bottle of all time," but I would not purchase this again. Why, you ask? Well, I do love sophisticated nail color... I'm 48, and will rarely go in for a super bright or glittery or offbeat nail color unless it's got a an "adult" vibe somehow, or I just happen to flip for it. And Tea With The Queen IS a sophisticated adult shade. But that's just it... it's a tad TOO appropriate and "safe" for me... if I feel like playing it THIS safe, I'd rather just wear two coats of CLEAR, or a nude sheer, which is an equally polished and "fresher" look. On a much younger woman, I think this shade might look super cute and campy. On a woman my age, however, darker flat nudes just tend to look "old lady." After having worn it a few times now, I'm either donating it to my polish-crazed 20-ish secretary, OR keeping it and infusing it with some fine gold shimmer. Have tea with THAT, Queenie!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* alissss on 9/3/2012 12:43:00 AM more reviews by alissss

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I am an avid nail polish collector and I rarely ever wear nudes. Teals, sparkles, magnetics, glitter, holos... Stuff I like is generally decidedly unsubtle. But Tea with the Queen is honestly a color I adore. It's a neutral but unlike the more popular beigey/pinky ones, has a warm, caramel tint. I would have never purchased this had I not tried it at a friend's. I was pleasantly surprised. Even though I am cool-toned, the warm color worked really well. I would have thought Yummy Mummy would have looked better on me instead but I did not like that one. Overall, I am very glad I found this polish. Butter Londons generally apply well and last - and I adore their bottle style. I now have a neutral that I can wear for serious occasions at work, to balance a striking outfit, or well, for tea with the queen :-)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 uponbluemoon on 1/26/2012 10:29:00 PM more reviews by uponbluemoon

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

EDIT: Just did a glitter gradient with Deborah Lippmann Diamonds and Pearls, instant transformation! It's subtle enough to still be office appropriate, but adds some visual interest to an otherwise boring nude. See picture.

Ehh, kinda disappointed with this shade. Boring nude, reminds me of those granny nude bras, yuck

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rn88 on 10/13/2011 9:57:00 AM more reviews by rn88

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I had this color applied at the salon yesterday. Very pretty and feminine tan/pink on my nails. Great for the office. I have become a big fan of Butter London and so far, I have not been disappointed. Of the colors I've tried so far, I like Tea with the Queen and Hen Party the best on my hands. Would highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* izzybella on 9/29/2011 1:15:00 PM more reviews by izzybella

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is not the most unique nail polish color, but it's a workhorse shade if you work in a more formal office. TWtQ is one of those "bandaid" type shades. It's more peachy/salmon-y on me than tan/pink, and reminds me of $OPI Nonfat Soy Half Caff or a peachier OPI Dulce de Leche. It was a bit streaky going on, but two coats did the trick. It also looks good on toes and makes them look polished without being too obvious.
At $14 this is a big pricey for what it is, so I would get it on sale or through a swap. I wouldn't buy this again because there are so many similar shades that are as good or better in quality.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Butter London products

More Polishes products