Butter London Tea with the Queen

4.5

15 reviews

80% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 12/23/2014 3:59:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm

Hair: Other, Straight, Other

Eyes: Black

As someone who prefers loud colors and finishes on my nails, I'm only just venturing into nude polishes despite having worn and collected nail polishes for a decade or so. Tea with the Queen is probably the second nude polish I've ever put on my fingers, and I'm surprised by how much I enjoy the elegantly understated effect. TwtQ is a medium tan with lots of pink and a hint of peach, and it just makes my hands look really fresh and polished. I'm around an NC30, and this polish is a hair lighter than my skintone, but much pinker, so my nails don't blend into my hands. I'd say the finish is creme with a bit of jelly; I needed three coats for full opacity, and each coat was slightly translucent and squishy-looking like a jelly. I think TwtQ could be sheer enough to work for jelly sandwiches, and it'll definitely play well as a base for all kinds of nail art. All in all, this is a beautiful nail polish that makes me feel silly for ignoring nudes for so long!



on 7/10/2014 9:50:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I quite like this polish, but it's not bold, exciting, or loud. In fact, it matches my skin tone exactly (but not in a creepy way).
Will this work for other skin tones? I'm not sure...

It is just very quiet and polished. My nails are done and that's that. I really like this on my hands when the color on my toes is bright, just as a sort of balance without clashing, if that makes sense?

I use three coats of this to get a completely smooth, opaque color. You might be able to do it in two. The wear I get from Butter London is terrific, easily a week with a good base and top.

I would certainly like more colors in this line. I have Big Smoke (adore it), Lady Muck (like it too!), and TwtQ. Just can't decide which I'll get next!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Nude shade that has a hint of peach on my neutral NC20- like skin. Very tame, no shine, and entirely work appropriate but unique enough to get positive comments. Butter London polishes will last a week on average with minor tip wear, and this shade is no different.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 1/19/2013 1:13:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is a gorgeous nude color; very complimentary to my pale complexion. One of the best of their products, I find the polish is nice to apply and without t doubt I get the most compliments on this color over any other.

Goes with anything - not a statement polish but uber flattering. Hightly recommend.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 1/13/2013 9:13:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Butter London seems to divide the minds a little, but I have to say they offer all the colors I was looking for for ages. They have several shades I tried to find from other brands but they often turned out to look rather differently on my nails than in the bottles. With Butter London it is the first time that the colors turn out to be even more beautiful than in the bottles. I have very pale, cool-toned skin, and TWTQ just looks so lovely. It gives a perfectly, neat look to hands and feet without being loud or boring. And it's the same with several other BL colors, like "Aston", "yummy mummy" or "lady muck". They just look elegant and lovely.
If it comes to the price: apart from the fact that, with a good base and top coat I never had polishes lasting longer than these, this is also a vegan brand with the "animal cruelty-free" bunny on the backside, and without using poisonous substances (Toluene, formaldehyde etc.) most other brands use. For that, and with the lovely, extraordinary colors and the extreme lasting power I gladly pay a little more.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 12/31/2012 10:36:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Fine

Eyes: Brown

BL's Tea with the Queen is a beautiful, creamy medium-deep neutral color. It's a great nude shade for my NC40-42 (NARS Syracuse) skin tone. I've received many compliments when wearing this shade. Thankfully, I purchased this lovely polish during a promotion and got a great bargain. I very rarely ever pay full price for anything, especially nail polishes (exception is Chanel). So, I recommend getting it on sale. Overall, a very good classic color. Try Tea with the Queen for a refined and clean look.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 10/19/2012 2:48:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Out of the three Butter London polishes I ordered, I liked this one the least, although I expected the most. I wanted a neutral nude that wasn't the color of silly putty, like Yummy Mummy. I previously purchased BL's lippie in Toff, which I really liked as a lippie, but was a tad too pink for the nail look I was going for. TWTQ looked like it was more neutral. It is, but it still has a cool pink tone to it. It applied rather streakly on me, and it is going to take a base coat, at least 3 applications and a good top coat to work. I'll wear it, but I wish it were more opaque and less pink...the TWTQ gloss, on the other hand, is a gorgeous nude for those who wear cool colors and are fair.


on 9/10/2012 3:52:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Tea with the Queen may be only slightly more "exciting" than bare nails, but when applied with some expertise, this boldly overpriced English polish gives a refined and well groomed look to the hands. The shade is rather odd actually... it is a fleshy warm toned camel, yet does have an almost imperceptible speck of something like "lavendar" in the mix, as other reviewers have noted. So I'm not surprised that it works on cool skin tones as well as warm. I have a golden undertone to my very pale skin, and it looks "good" on me... not great, but good. I think it would great on me without the odd lavendar tinge. It's opague at 2 coats, and darker than it looks in the bottle. I was disappointed about that, because I prefer a lighter nude... dark nude creams tend to look too "1970's school-teacher" to me. Although, since it IS darker than many nudes, I suppose it'd be a nice nude to pull out for autumn and fall. Unlike some other reviewers, I see NO shimmer in this polish, not even a trace, not even if I stretch my imagination to it's fullest capacity. Too bad, because I love me a subtle shimmer. The shape of the bottle wins my award for "best looking nail polish bottle of all time," but I would not purchase this again. Why, you ask? Well, I do love sophisticated nail color... I'm 48, and will rarely go in for a super bright or glittery or offbeat nail color unless it's got a an "adult" vibe somehow, or I just happen to flip for it. And Tea With The Queen IS a sophisticated adult shade. But that's just it... it's a tad TOO appropriate and "safe" for me... if I feel like playing it THIS safe, I'd rather just wear two coats of CLEAR, or a nude sheer, which is an equally polished and "fresher" look. On a much younger woman, I think this shade might look super cute and campy. On a woman my age, however, darker flat nudes just tend to look "old lady." After having worn it a few times now, I'm either donating it to my polish-crazed 20-ish secretary, OR keeping it and infusing it with some fine gold shimmer. Have tea with THAT, Queenie!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 9/3/2012 12:43:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I am an avid nail polish collector and I rarely ever wear nudes. Teals, sparkles, magnetics, glitter, holos... Stuff I like is generally decidedly unsubtle. But Tea with the Queen is honestly a color I adore. It's a neutral but unlike the more popular beigey/pinky ones, has a warm, caramel tint. I would have never purchased this had I not tried it at a friend's. I was pleasantly surprised. Even though I am cool-toned, the warm color worked really well. I would have thought Yummy Mummy would have looked better on me instead but I did not like that one. Overall, I am very glad I found this polish. Butter Londons generally apply well and last - and I adore their bottle style. I now have a neutral that I can wear for serious occasions at work, to balance a striking outfit, or well, for tea with the queen :-)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/26/2012 10:29:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

EDIT: Just did a glitter gradient with Deborah Lippmann Diamonds and Pearls, instant transformation! It's subtle enough to still be office appropriate, but adds some visual interest to an otherwise boring nude. See picture.

Ehh, kinda disappointed with this shade. Boring nude, reminds me of those granny nude bras, yuck


Top Rated Butter London Products

image

Yummy Mummy

57 reviews
Back to Top