Maybelline • Shine Sensational Pop Stick Citrus Slice • Lipstick

rated 3.3(18 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.55%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 sibby94 on 10/8/2013 7:51:00 AM more reviews by sibby94

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

Citrus slice has zero colour. Really just like a scented lip balm.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lac66 on 5/18/2013 8:02:00 AM more reviews by lac66

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I really like this product. I got the one in Cherry Pop, which is a reddy cherry shade. It is very sheer and it gives a nice shine. It doesn't last long but I love the feeling of applying the jelly like lipstick. The only reason I am commenting on citrus slice is because they only had the option to comment on this one but I don't have citrus slice only cherry pop. The only bad thing I have to say is if you only but on one layer of it, because of the red, it makes it look like you have just eaten pasta like a tomatoey sort of look which is not attractive xxx

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 DarkMia1 on 2/6/2013 3:29:00 PM more reviews by DarkMia1

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I HATE IT SO MUCH! this is definetly first time then I hate lipgloss so much,it gives no shine at all,no color or something else it just amazingly dry your lips! The feeling is so bad,I am feeling like all the water from my lips are gone or smthing,and it looks on lips horrible,me and my friend bought it ad she think the same ! REALLY I DONT RECOMMEND NOBODY TO USE IT.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MadHattress on 11/10/2012 10:30:00 AM more reviews by MadHattress

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I'm sold ! These lippies from Maybelline are so cute and they give just a nice healthy natural glow to the lips. I'm not fond of lipstick and lipglosses (I prefer to focus my make up on my eyes) so these are just perfect to give your lips a "lip-but-better" look.

I seriously don't get all the negative comments these babies get. They're not supposed to be glosses or lipsticks, they're tinted lipbalms in the first place. (and if you layer them often throughout the day like one does with a lip balm they prettily stain your lips)

I picked four of them : Crystal Pink, Cherry Pop, Citrus Slice and Tropical Pink. Their scent is to die for !!!! and their look is soooooo cute ! :)

I hope Maybelline never discontinues them, and creates more shades ! :)

They're absolutely awesome when you don't want your lips to look overdone like if you're into the "smokey eyes and nude lips" look.

I admit they can be a lil bit drying but you can always layer another lip balm over them or add lip gloss.

LOVE THEM :) :) ;)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* nearyroth on 1/30/2012 12:08:00 AM more reviews by nearyroth

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I've had these for awhile (seeing as these were LE from summer last year) and I loove them! I have Citrus Slice and Raspberry Ice. They are sheer and not to glossy and like a stain. They're a great dupe for DuWop Iced Teas. I love the look of these!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Joamy on 9/10/2011 2:37:00 PM more reviews by Joamy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I absolutely looooove these! I purchased pink lollipop and fruit punch and I love them. It gives you a nice tint to your lips (and my lips are very very pale) At first it goes on clear but after a few it give you pretty pink lips. It's not a lipstick so don't expect to be a as pigmented as a lipstick but it does the job of giving you a nice hint of color. I would post a picture later for it. Overall I will be purchasing a few of these for sure since they are limited edition. I'm also considering to write to maybelline and telling them to keep them around and/or come up with more colors....I love them that much lol.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cherrycherryboomboom on 8/19/2011 10:46:00 PM more reviews by cherrycherryboomboom

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

These are such pretty dupes of the DuWop Iced Teas or Clarins Crystal Smooth balms. They remind me of jello or gummy bears, but go on like a mood ring. They smell magnificent and have no real taste. I bought two today in the shades Citrus Slice (120) and Fruit Punch (130). A few things...


A) First off, open the tube before buying to make sure the stick wasn't swatched or used. These tubes do NOT have protective seals, and all but two from the entire product display were used at my Ulta. Annoying. This leads to my next point...


B) There are four shades (Pink Lollipop -- clear neon pink, Raspberry Ice -- clear medium pink, Citrus Slice -- clear neon orange, Fruit Punch -- clear red)... *BUT*... each shade gives a VERY similar, if not the same, color after application. I swatched the gunky, used ones on my wrist in order to test my theory out.


I suspect each shade contains the same pH-sensitive or heat-sensitive dye, giving that nice tint/stain. So whichever one you end up buying, even if it isn't the one you originally wanted, it won't matter. Slick on a few layers, then wait a minute or two for the color to fully develop. The color will darken with time. Voila! Beautiful.


C) The product itself is VERY moisturizing, and this moisture lasts! The color also lasted on my lips for roughly 5 hours -- pretty darn long, especially through beer and pizza. It really does give the effect of having just eaten a popsicle. It particularly makes me look like I finished a great make-out session, haha.


Granted, my lips don't have much color in them to begin with, but overall, I'll probably be reaching for these more than my HG tinted lip balms. Snatch them up fast because they're limited edition, ladies!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 friscogirl on 8/18/2011 6:00:00 PM more reviews by friscogirl

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I love the pop sticks! I have all the colors and I bought back ups of every one but this one (and that is only because I have less coral stuff but I might get another Citrus Slice too if I come across it!). I am fair with pale lips. I have searched YEARS and spent a lots of money trying to find a lip balm that is NOT glossy but more stain-like. These totally fit the bill. I have to layer several layers of the color on but the color starts to pop after a few minutes. Then, it stays on for the rest of the day (even though I reapply it when my lips get dry like I would chapstick). It totally gives the stained look and it is much more natural than some glossy colored lip balm. LOVE THESE! Wish they were not LE.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 tori8780 on 8/18/2011 4:29:00 PM more reviews by tori8780

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this fully expecting it to be just a sheer, balm like product. As far as that goes, it performs well - smells delicious, decent hydration, light shine. What I wasnt expecting, however, was the taste. I have 2 of these, and they both taste atrocious. I fully admit that I'm a lip licker. But none of my lippies taste like this! Its bitter and just awful in general. Maybe its just me, since I havent seen anyone else complain about it, but both of mine have the same taste and its a deal breaker for me. If they tasted as good as they smelled (or didnt have flavor at all), these would probably be a staple in my purse.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mmbabies on 8/18/2011 1:22:00 PM more reviews by mmbabies

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I love this stuff! I bought mine in the color Raspberry Ice and yes when you first apply it there is no color but give it a few minutes and viola a nice berry pink. I think this is one of those products that you either love or hate and the color really depends on individual chemistry and the natural pigmentation of your lips. So bottom line go on and buy it but save your receipt just in case.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Lipstick products