Calvin Klein • CK One Shock • Fragrances

rated 3.1(15 reviews)

Average Rating.3.1
Would buy this product again.46%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 Dis8ged on 3/27/2014 8:29:00 PM more reviews by Dis8ged

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I got this as a gift, and have been using it for about a month now. Frankly, I'm only using it because my Gucci Flora has run out.

I don't know much about the base and top note of perfumes, so I'll just review it in layman terms.

Longevity: I like my perfumes to last throughout the day, but this is not one of them. I spray a total of 10 times all around on different vein spots, and it actually can last about 14 hours. I feel that it's a waste though, to use so much of product just to make it last.

Scent: It is really sweet, and has a vanilla aftertaste to it. I don't dislike it, but it's not my favourite either.

Packaging: I really dislike that there's no cap, making it really inconvenient to carry it around.

Verdict: Wouldn't repurchase. It's just not worth it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SorceressOfTheDark on 11/10/2013 5:45:00 AM more reviews by SorceressOfTheDark

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Takes quite a few sprays to enjoy the creamy vanilla in this Calvin Klein edition. The name and bottle are evidently geared again to a pocketbook that knows no bounds and that is truly a shame. The scent is pretty straight forward. A berry vanilla with a sprinkling of cocoa mixed in for good measure with no sillage and no longevity. It does smell good but really, what is it's point? There are far too many excellent vanilla potions on the market at lower, exactly the same and higher price points. There is no shock value here, except the price and the fact that "Mr. Klein" slapped his moniker on yet another bottle. More of an expensive body splash that has a name and a trendy bottle. Tsk, tsk, tsk. This is a young ones' delight to show off to their friends.
Top Notes: Peony,Red Poppy, Passion Flower.
Middle Notes: Jasmine, Narcissus, Mexican Chocolate, Blackberry.
Base Notes: Musk, Patchouli, Amber, Vanille.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SparkleBunny37 on 5/6/2013 3:28:00 PM more reviews by SparkleBunny37

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Shock by CK One is an "edgy, sexy, impulsive, electrifying new fragrance". CK One, a sub-brand of Calvin Klein, describes Shock as "a fierce bouquet of passionflower, intensified with a drizzle of liquid chocolate accord, and warms into a second skin musk for an addictive signature". CK One offers a version of Shock for men and women, I'll be reviewing the women's version. I received a sample of this fragrance in a swap with my friend Stephanie. There are two sizes of this Eau de Toilette to choose from; 1.7 fl oz ($42) and 3.4 fl oz ($52), which is pretty affordable for a designer fragrance. CK One products can be bough through the Calvin Klein website, at department stores, Sephora, and Ulta. Calvin Klein cosmetics/fragrances are produced by Coty, which has a sketchy and unclear animal testing policy. This fragrance was made in France.
Shock has girly yet edgy packaging. My sample came in a white cardboard folder with the CK One logo in black and the Shock logo in playful pink letters with a brush stroke design. The sample tube features the same design, and a little spritzer, which is great because I hate those little vials! I can't really speak for the full sized perfume's packaging, I don't recall ever seeing it in person. It appears to be an opaque white bottle with a screw on cap and shares the same design as the sample.
Top Notes: Passionflower, Pink Peony, Poppy Flower
Mid Notes: Liquid Chocolate Accord, Blackberry, Narcisse, Jasmine
Dry Notes: Vanillin, Patchouli, Amber, Skin Musk

I've been wearing Shock by CK One on and off for about two weeks and honestly I still haven't formed a solid opinion on it. Sometimes I love it, other times I feel really neutral about it. If anything, Shock is fairly unique at first. CK One describes this fragrance as a "juicy floriental", but nothing about Shock strikes me as juicy, in fact this scent is just about fruitless. When first spritzed on, Shock is kinda plasticy and unpleasant, but it quickly settles onto the skin. At first stiff I pick up a yummy, warm chocolate note mixed with just a hair of blackberry and some nondescript florals. Shock morphs into a warm floral as time goes on and it loses it's interest. Florals bore me, so once Shock's sweet, chocolaty notes wear away my neutral opinion kicks in. This scent, like most eau de toilettes, doesn't last very well on me, I only get about 2-3 hours of wear from Shock. This is a surprisingly light scent, it stays very close to the skin. By no means is Shock a weak fragrance, I think "delicate" would be a better term to describe it.
Shock by CK One is totally mis-named in my opinion. You must have an incredibly sheltered scent palette to be "shocked" by this fragrance. This scent is great at first, the chocolaty note really gives it a spark of delicious individuality, but it fades into a run of the mill floral. The price for Shock is pretty reasonable, considering the brand. Spritz this scent on or ask for a sample next time you head into the department store. Shock is worth checking out, but for me it isn't a scent worth buying.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ohsailor on 7/25/2012 6:08:00 AM more reviews by ohsailor

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

(This review is for the CK One Shock for Men)

Scent: a good one-word summation of the scent of CK One Shock for Men would be "fresh". It is a light, fresh and citrus scent that is perfect for summer. I prefer men's fragrances over women's because they tend to be lighter and less cloying or flowery. The fragrance isn't too masculine so for a woman it is very wearable. It isn't heavy or overbearing - it sits in the background without being too obvious (or too subtle!)
However, I've had this fragrance for 7 months and the scent has started to "disintegrate" - at times, it smells like it has "gone off" which is quite discouraging. It has not been exposed to heat or light so I am unsure about what the cause of this is although hopefully this is a freak one-off.

Packaging: The idea behind the packaging is interesting, providin distinction from CK One whilst also retaining some of the design features. Initially I liked the bottle however I have two problems with it. Firstly, the lack of a lid grates on me. Secondly, the black bottle means I can't tell how much I have left. Yes, they are minor quibbles but it seems CK have just valued design over practicality.

Price: mid-range price bracket which is expected.

Overall: I would definitely purchase this again (despite my problems with the smell after 7 months - I feel this is probably a one-off as no other review has mentioned it!) It is incredibly wearable and attractive for both men and women. It might not beat my beloved Cool Water but it is a great summery, citrus and light fragrance.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ilovethe80s87 on 3/26/2012 12:42:00 AM more reviews by ilovethe80s87

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This smells really good, kinda yummy! It's got naturally sweet notes, not overly done by sugary stuff and cotton candy :P And I don't have to worry about overloading on this stuff because it'll wear off pretty quickly. Yeah, that sucks, but if you can find this stuff somewhere cheap, it's not a big deal. I probably won't buy it again, though. It was just a free gift with purchase of a christmas gift. It's a good first perfume for teens I'd think. It's a really good frangrance, when you can smell it haha!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 PandaPurr on 2/15/2012 7:57:00 AM more reviews by PandaPurr

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Notes; Passion Flower, Pink Peony, Jeweled Poppy Flower, Liquid Chocolate Accord, Blackberry, Narcissi, Hypnotic Jasmine, Magnetic Ambers, Vanilla, Patchouli, Second Skin Musk.

I really love this scent.When I spray it on I smell coconuts and vanilla with some pink peony.I lasts 2 hours on me which isn't the best but I can live with it.It just smells so good!

I love the bottle because it's just so different,I guess.It's kind of milky which is cool but I can't see when I've run out which is quite bad.But not many bottles are like it,so it will defiently stand out.

It is also kind of zesty.I would say this is a day time scent but maybe not for work or school in my opinion.Of course wear how you want though :)

Thank-you for reading and I hope it wasn't too long (:

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* captainflamingo on 1/25/2012 2:24:00 AM more reviews by captainflamingo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Dark, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

2s all around. The first note is straight up mandarin orange. In ten minutes, it softens and little white floral comes out to say hello. Another ten minutes, it's gone. Very juvenile scent. Poorly blended and not complex at all. While it's a pretty scent, I couldn't stand smelling like it for more than the allotted half and hour slot. The packaging is gaudy with a white bottle with hot pink SHOCK scrawled across it. You can't tell how much you have left, either. The price isn't bad for a fragrance, but the unimpressive scent and the nonexistent lasting power makes it not worth 1/10th of it. Fragrance-wise, Calvin Klein will never re-live the days of the original One, Escape, Obsession, and Eternity.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Olfactoryblowout on 1/18/2012 1:24:00 PM more reviews by Olfactoryblowout

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Mama always told me if you don't have anyting nice to say then don't say anything at all. So I 'll keep this very brief. Smells like sour chemicals and citrus. lol. Take what you want from that. Not good at all. Don't waste your $$$.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 brunettex on 12/3/2011 8:23:00 PM more reviews by brunettex

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

It's like an overpriced body splash or something....I know it's an EDT but it just doesn't last. You can definitely skip out on it and buy a body spray with the same type of scent somewhere else.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Donnz on 11/20/2011 3:23:00 AM more reviews by Donnz

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This is going to be my scent for this summer (southern hemisphere). It is a delicious, straightforward boysenberry ripple icecream soda smell that sits close to your skin so no sickening monster silage. It doesn't change too much from the initial spray and fades out quite nicely after around 3 hours which is fine for an edt. Can't wait to purchase a bottle!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Calvin Klein products

More Fragrances products