Aubrey Organics • Natural Sun Saving Face SPF 15 • Sunscreen

rated 3.8(8 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.62%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 maggi27 on 2/12/2013 5:48:00 PM more reviews by maggi27

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this product on sale because I wanted to try a natural, physical sunblock instead of chemical sunscreens containing oxybenzone etc.

Aubrey Saving Face does leave a whitish cast on my face, which may be more apparent because I have medium brown skin. However, if I mix it with a couple of drops of jojoba oil (which is one of the ingredients anyway), it spreads better and looks better. I don't burn, just tan, so the SPF 15 is good enough for me, and I think it does work and stays on all day. Make sure you remove it with either a foaming cleanser or a combo of yogurt+jojoba (which I use), though, or it will stay on otherwise.

If you have naturally oily skin or the weather is sweat-inducing, you can apply this sunscreen on slightly damp skin to spread it better, effectively substituting water for the jojoba oil.

I am acne-prone and this sunscreen has the curious effect of calming breakouts instead of aggravating them. :) Probably the zinc!

BTW, even jojoba oil has an SPF of around 4.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mickeytbird on 10/26/2012 1:30:00 PM more reviews by mickeytbird

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Very nice feel, no white tint.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 shannonannagins on 8/22/2012 8:42:00 PM more reviews by shannonannagins

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Probably not the worst natural sunscreen, but not the best, by far. Another reviewer commented that she looked as though she'd rubbed butter on her face after applying this, and I quite agree. Very greasy, not even water resistant for 5 minutes (although it's not meant to be, most zinc ox sunscreens are a bit resistant) and just generally unpleasant and heavy. There was not a white cast and I didn't break out, but then I only used it once and returned it. Will not repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Angeldoll on 6/28/2012 12:59:00 PM more reviews by Angeldoll

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I wear this when Im out in the sun (after or before peak hours) and love how it moisturizes my skin. I wouldnt wear this under makeup thou as its a bit heavy. It has not caused any breakouts. I hope they make this in an spf 30 for the face so I Can take it on holidays as I tried the spf when I was in hawaii and It wasnt strong enough. But for Canada, its perfectly fine in the 15.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* gabiinchicago on 12/18/2011 8:02:00 AM more reviews by gabiinchicago

Age: 44-55   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I would buy this again if the SPF were higher ...

PROS: didn't break me out!, not too matte, not too greasy, unscented, price, physical--no chemicals

CONS: low SPF which means winter use only, a bit of a white cast and reflective even with powder, not *really* organic (they had to take the word "organic" off of their packaging so that Whole Foods would still keep it on the shelf--according to an employee there--since Aubrey doesn't comply with the FDA's definition of organic...)

I won't return this since I can use it in the winter, but honestly, it doesn't look that great on: the 12% zinc oxide seems like it should be less visible. I will use this if I can't find something better in a higher SPF.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Maite5468 on 11/6/2011 10:19:00 PM more reviews by Maite5468

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

UPDATE - Well, it ended up being way too oily for me, my foundation kept sliding off :o/ sooo I returned it, I'm trying out another (Devita's Solar Protective Moisturizer SPF 30) and so far so good.......will review it later when I knw for sure it's gonna work.

WOW. I have tried so many physical sunscreens including HE ones like Josie Maran's Protect Daily Sun Protection.....I was about to give up on sunscreens thinking maybe I was just allergic to them since they all seem to break me out in little bumps. NOT THIS ONE THOUGH!!! Finally!!! I know the spf is not that high but I'm not in the sun that often, and combined with my foundation which also has spf I think it's enough to protect me the small amount of time that I am in the sun. AND it doubles as a moisturizer so I don't have to put one on in addition to this.....it's alittle oily but I just let it soak in for like 10 mins then blot my t-zone with an oil absorbing sheet or tissue and I'm good to go! Great stuff! :D

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 love4roses on 8/9/2011 5:12:00 PM more reviews by love4roses

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I have extremely sensitive skin to many products.. when I found this sunscreen at the store I had to purchase this product and give it a try :)

I really like this product, I use this daily as my moisturizer and really like how it makes my skin so soft and absorbs very nicely too.


    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* staci01 on 7/25/2011 9:59:00 PM more reviews by staci01

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Other, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Other    

I have really moody skin that breaks out at the drop of a hat and sunscreen has always been my biggest frustration. I've been on the hunt for one that works well with my skin for six years now and thought I'd found my HG with Clarins Dayscreen SPF 40 in the old formula. It works well with makeup but always leaves my skin with deep acne and surface bumps. After more trial and error with chemical and physical SS I found that physical was best, though I still would break out, though tricky to work with. The Natural Sun Saving Face is a new, or reformulated, product and since it was on sale and under $10 I figured it couldn't hurt to try. I'm thrilled to report no breakouts or clogged pores! It also calms my skin and doesn't cause any redness and feels and acts like a moisturizer instead of just SS so I don't have to apply a separate moisturizer before this. The cons are that 1.) my skin looks like I rubbed butter all over my face and 2.) it doesn't work well with powder foundation. I have oily skin so there's no way I'd add a liquid foundation to my routine. Still though the fact that I don't break out, and the moisturizing benefits, is a HUGE deal for me and for that I'll keep using. Giving this a 4 and would give a 5 if ti wasn't so greasy. Ingredients: Zinc Oxide 12%, Purified water, simmondsia chinensis (jojoba) oil*, helianthus annuus (sunflower) seed oil*, galactoarabinan, glyceryl stearate, cetearyl alcohol, stearic acid and sodium cocoyl glutamate, butyrospermum parkii (shea) butter*, camellia sinensis seed oil*, brassica campestris-aleurites fordi oil copolymer, aloe barbadensis leaf juice*, glycerin, epilobium angustifolium (Canadian willowherb) flower/leaf/stem extract, glyceryl caprylate and glyceryl undecylenate, leuconostoc/radish root ferment filtrate, lonicera japonica (Japanese honeysuckle) flower extract, lonicera caprifolium (honeysuckle) flower extract, populus tremuloides bark extract, gluconolactone, tocopherol (vitamin E), citric acid, xanthan gum. *organic

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More Aubrey Organics products

More Sunscreen products