Alba Botanica • Acnedote Deep Cleaning Astringent • Toners

rated 3.5(21 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.57%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 AngelJayy on 4/13/2014 1:26:00 AM more reviews by AngelJayy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

My skin is acne prone, and since I just had a baby m hormones have been seriously running high. So when I got a small breakout I thought it was no big deal. Then it randomly got worse... Much worse. So I dug into my box of treatment products I had from high school (all 2-3 years old.) I ran across this, which had never been used. So I thought, why not. It stings, no doubt about it. I bought it because it's got the highest amount of the acid it contains that it can have (2%) plus it has a high level of alcohol. I want the acne gone and I am not wanting to take baby steps. If you have sensitive skin or your breakout is just a couple of pustles... I reccomend something less strong. This stuff is just on it as soon as you put it on your skin. It stings, it's a little strong smelling (which is to be expected though not desirable,) and my skin feels tight and not sticky... Sticky is everyone else's word but I would say it's just less slick... You have more friction than you did when your face was simply washed after you've applied it. That's okay with me though because I don't want my face slick, slick equals oil. I can see why a lot of people are using the word sticky though. So yes it burns a bit and it's a bit "sticky" if that's what you want to call it... but it seems to be preventing new pustles and bringing those I have to their end stages so they'll go away. (This may be why some people are saying they are havning breakouts, it's bringing those small ones to the surface so they can be eliminated that already existed but were less noticable.) I would probably buy again. If I have another bad break out...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Paulinecheyram on 3/4/2014 9:31:00 PM more reviews by Paulinecheyram

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love this astringent. The ingredients in it are great & more natural than other toners. Yes, it does feel a bit strong, but my skin isn't too sensitive. Really helps with my super oily skin & blackheads! helps quite a bit with my acne as well. Howdever, the packaging sucks. Please don't be stupid & use this if you have dry skin....duh lol

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 TrueCOWgirl on 1/11/2014 12:39:00 AM more reviews by TrueCOWgirl

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

This product isn't for everyone, as it can be a bit harsh by stinging or drying out.

My skin is combination. I'm prone to acne, but it also gets flaky.

First off - I find this product to be too strong alone, I add about 1 part witch hazel to 3 parts toner. It really takes the edge off the sting (the nose/chin area is most sensitive for me), but it still deeply cleans oil, residue, and makeup.

I don't use it daily though, only 2-4 times a week, if even that.

It feels a little sticky, so I recommend using it only at night. I let it dry for 5min, then dab on Burt's Bees Blemish Stick anywhere I have pimples (this stuff is pretty strong too, so if my skin is still stinging from the toner, I skip it). Once that's completely dried/absorbed, then I add my vitamin A retinal cream or I massage a few drops of jojoba oil into my skin. My face has an even glowing tone by morning.

I still have yet to find a product that will completely disintegrate my black needle points on my nose/chin (I've tried EVERYTHING! Lemon/honey, baking soda, DIY pore strips, spot-treatments, I'm still searching for something to make my nose be free of those little black buggers!), but this combination helps to tighten pores without over drying, and it at least decreases the look of the needlepoints by about 40-50%

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 dejena on 11/17/2013 11:15:00 PM more reviews by dejena

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This toner is fantastic at getting every last trace of makeup off my face. If someone has oily skin, I would recommend this to them in a heartbeat. In fact, my skin up until a year ago was that way. And it worked great on my skin last year!

Now, on my newly changed dry skin, it has a very strong chemical burning sensation. Either my skin has turned sensitive, or it's an allergic reaction. Immediately I had to rinse my face with cold water, and slather on my most hydrating and calming face mask for an hour. The first thirty minutes my face was still burning, and the last thirty minutes spent trying to repair the damage.

Three lippies, because it did work when my skin was an oil slick.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* miyoshi637 on 9/3/2013 12:24:00 AM more reviews by miyoshi637

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

This may not be for everyone, sure it has alcohol in it, but my skin has changed since hitting 30 and this stuff has worked really well for me. It stings a little around my nose when I use this, but works very well by getting extra dirt and oil my cleanser has left behind. I use the same brand of face wash and works wonders for me! If you have super sensitive skin, this may not be for you.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 eslovely on 8/12/2013 11:40:00 AM more reviews by eslovely

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Let me just say that this toner isn't for everyone, but it works well for me. I have sensitive skin so I have to be careful of overly harsh products and I have combination/oily skin. It does a great job at clearing excess oils from my skin without drying it out. It tingles on areas I have a few larger pores, but nothing that I can't handle. If you have dry skin, I wouldn't recommend this because I'd assume it would be more drying since it does have some alcohol in it. This toner is highly concentrated with Aloe, which is good for soothing the skin. Which is why for me, the tingling sensation doesn't last long. Some other products I use with this toner to see a difference in my skin are: Alba Acnedote Deep Pore Wash (you really need to use this cleanser with the toner to see results), Aloe Vera Gel (to sooth the skin and a little hydration), and a moisturizer (a light or gel moisturizer is you have combination/oily skin and a rich/heavier moisturizer if you have dry skin). These products together have really saved my skin, so I would recommend those suffering from mild to severe acne to try them :]

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Jackieb2 on 8/12/2013 5:27:00 AM more reviews by Jackieb2

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Let me just begin by saying that this product should not be called a "toner," because it's alcohol content is seriously too high to be anything other than an astringent. I had done some research to find out which acne/problem-skin products were the most effective (incuding cost-effective as well), and it seems that people really like the Alba Botanica Acne Dote line of products. I have been using the Burt's Bees Anti-Blemish Solutions line of products for approx. two weeks now, and they have really helped my skin and have improved it overall. However, I decided to give this Alba Botanica stuff a try, as all of the reviews I read gave it a big thumbs up.

Well, this product? It's not good. First of all, after I cleansed my skin with the Deep Pore Wash (which I haven't found that effective, by the way), I would wipe my skin down with one of the Alba clean towlettes, and then I would pour a little bit of this astringent on a cotton pad and gently wipe my face with it. The INSTANT it touched my skin, it burned. Not just a stinging sensation like some reviewers have written about; no, this actually burned. I thought that maybe this was just the product doing its job in killing acne bacteria; but I have only used this product for two days, and I already have a breakout and my skin is oily. It also left my skin feeling a little "sticky," and I'm noticing many other reviewers have experienced that, as well.

I paid $12.99 for this product, and in less than 72 hours, I already have a breakout after using it. Not only that, but this product also hurts when applied, and it doesn't make sense to me that an acne fighting product would literally burn and sting your skin, especially if the product is supposed to be natural and soothing. Also, this line of Alab Botanica products doesn't seem to be available in any other store except for Whole Foods (I live in Toronto, ON and cannot find this stuff anywhere else); it's not at all convenient for me to travel out of my way to buy products that, personally, I find to be over-priced and harmful to my skin.

So many people have loved this line of products; if it works for your skin, then you should keep using it. I know what it's like to come across products that actually work for your skin, especially if you've struggled to find something in the past. I am definitely going to stick with my Burt's Bees Anti-Blemish Solution products, because they have worked far better than this stuff, they're available in almost every store, and they're a lot more cost effective.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Jiketsu on 7/28/2013 10:08:00 AM more reviews by Jiketsu

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

Although I love Alba's Gentle Acne Wash, this toner is just far too harsh for my skin. It stings a bit, and maybe contains too much alcohol. After using it, I broke out with small cystic acne. Furthermore, like a previous reviewer, my oily skin compensated for the harshness by becoming even oilier. Also, the tips of my fingertips are completely dry, rough, and peeling from where I held the astringent soaked cottonpads. If something can even my fingertips brittle, why would I apply it to my face.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 therealiluvbmx on 7/26/2013 10:47:00 AM more reviews by therealiluvbmx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I've been breaking out with cystic acne for a few weeks now and want to try something different to calm/ cure them. I thought I would give this a try because I've heard many people say Alba is very natural with their product. However this dries my skin out and actually produced more oil. I broke out more than I ever did. I used it along with their moisturizer but it didn't work for me. I returned them and bought cetaphil instead and suddenly my face doesn't have all those oil anymore and my cystic acne is going away. That's why I'm sure to say that this product doesn't work for me. I don't recommend it either.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 cboylove on 4/23/2013 11:42:00 PM more reviews by cboylove

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I was looking for boots rose water toner but ended up with this instead. This is only $2.50 at target so it wasn't such a loss. Upon application it burns and it feels sticky. I should have read ingredient list more thoroughly. Clear packaging too.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Alba Botanica products

More Toners products