Chanel • No.19 Poudre • Fragrances

rated 3.3(23 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.52%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 colodon on 4/17/2014 5:05:00 AM more reviews by colodon

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I loved and wore the original No 19 as a signature scent in the early 90's, i wouldn't wear it these days only because nobody wears fragrance on a everyday basis within my social circle, wearing No 19 would be a bit of a faux pas.
Enter No 19 Poudre, this is my HG everyday fragrance, gentle, exquisite, calming, leaves me feeling confident and pulled together, I ignored it for years thinking it was a full on powdery version of No 19..it's not, there are echoes which are delightful but the drydown is ethereal and beautiful, I think Chanel is ahead of the game with this beauty.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* gmstrack on 6/23/2013 10:04:00 AM more reviews by gmstrack

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

No 19 Poudre Chanel could be the shy, yet talented niece of Chanel 19. Auntie is wealthy (thanks to her own efforts) and has aged quite well; in fact, she takes a young lover from time to time, but never allows herself to be bothered with permanent attachments. Children (and some adults) who read “The Witches” by Roald Dahl cower in terror has she approaches. Her obsessive-compulsive disorder is apparent if one were to inspect her well-kept home: the space between the refrigerator and the wall doesn’t harbor a speck of dust, and of course her lingerie wardrobe is organized and color coded. We will not discuss her Chanel handbag collection. The young niece, on the other hand, is a straight-A student studying art history at NYU and lives in a small bohemian loft. Her elegant, yet relaxed appearance draws everyone who meets her in for a closer look. She has a couple of confidantes whom she shares her bed with, but prefers to maintain friendships instead of settle down. She spends her spare time volunteering at soup kitchens and hanging out with friends at trendy cafes and bars. In spite of her art degree, she knows that she will land a decent job immediately after graduation—auntie will make sure of it.

Mediocre longevity; wears close to the skin; I can’t help but like it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* zeynepd on 5/14/2013 7:53:00 AM more reviews by zeynepd

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a modern iris + powder by Chanel, different enough from divine and dry No.19 - though, in my opinion, not necessarily better. No.19 Poudre opens with slightly bitter green notes together with something that hints at leather and adds some interest. However, it settles into its powdery iris heart in almost no time. To my nose, it's a clean, modern powder on the sweeter side and it's more like white musk than, say, a powder scent that hints at your makeup bag. The drydown is rather creamy and vanillic with some sandalwood. Both No.19 and Poudre have low sillage and weak lasting power on me. I wouldn't buy Chanel no.19 Poudre because I enjoy Frederic Malle's Iris Poudree much more than this. 3.5

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 SomeOtherName on 11/30/2012 12:51:00 AM more reviews by SomeOtherName

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I found this entirely by accident. Had a bottle of No. 5 years ago, lost it in a move and finally, nearly 20 years later, decided to try it again. Except the sample I got was No. 19 Poudre, which I discovered after trying it on and not recognizing the scent at all. I'd worn No. 5 for a few years and figured I'd remember the scent but when I didn't, read the card and figured out why. I never would have tried this one, but I am so glad I did. This is a very grown-up, soft, close-to-your-skin fragrance (on me, at least) that is intensely feminine but gently reserved. I don't even feel like I'm wearing a fragrance -- it is more like that's just what my skin smells like, and it works. No headaches, no smells-like-every-one-else, just this lovely, clean, green scent with that light powdery iris. Truly lovely.

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Gother on 9/29/2012 4:11:00 PM more reviews by Gother

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Violet    

A calm, galbanum light green morning horseback ride amidst a field of powdery iris while the sun is shily rising and the air is still filled with fresh dew. A slightly cold waft of condensed neroli greenness comes from the earth and envolutes your senses. You're alive in this morning and that is all you really need, and all you want. No worries, no mundane tasks now, only the unlimited musk blue sky and the newborn jasmine bushes leaning against the ancient tonka bean walls along the road you're following. All that vetyver calm is a promise of peace and goodness....
Here take this day and live it to the full, 'cause you deserve this calm, lady of lightness

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 waddlecakes on 9/7/2012 7:35:00 PM more reviews by waddlecakes

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

What on earth is wrong with people on here? Why the obsession with complex, difficult scents? Since when has a perfume been meant to replace your own personality? Poudr seems to have received lots of complaints re 'wallpaper''yness, but this generally appears to be because it is constantly compared to the original 19. If you want something that smells like and reminds you of No.19, I would suggest....buying No. 19.

Let's not forget that No. 19 is often disliked by a great many people. And then let's remind ourselves to consider Poudr on its own strengths, as opposed to in comparison with the original.

Poudr still has the green, icy elements of No. 19 - the difference here is that rather than have those cold, watery elements (which are quite beautiful, and I am definitely a No. 19 fan) dissipate and drift away in an even colder misty drydown, they instead transform into something warm and lightly powdered.

What's not to love? You get the green, the slight acid, the lemon, the sparkle, and are left with a sheer coating of dusted iris that stays with you all day.

It feels extremely organic to me - it has that in common with No. 19. I don't feel like this smells synthetic, or knowing. As some have mentioned, it's discreet enough to be worn to work or to school, but equally makes for a very gentle, natural tender scent to wear out in the evenings.

Poudr is first and foremost about fragility, to my mind. It's a fickle scent that switches and changes, as opposed to No. 19, which undergoes a fairly reliable transformation. The fragrance is a young one - by which I don't mean it is made to be worn by the young, but rather that it mirrors a young personality. One that isn't quite settled, one that tries to be many things at once. I like it for this erratic aspect.

22 out of 23 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LizWords on 9/3/2012 2:44:00 PM more reviews by LizWords

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I am somewhat surprised by all the negative reviews here. I actually like the poudre more than the original no. 19, but it appears I am the minority with that opinion. I have tried the no. 19 parfum as well and couldn't stand it, seemed primarily like light citrus to me. There is a note in both the original no. 19 and the poudre version that comes off as sour to me, maybe it's the lily mixed with the citrus, I don't know, but in the poudre version the omnipresent powdery iris offsets that sourness within the first minute or two of spraying and helps it settle down into a nice wearable floral. There is definitely something sharp about both no. 19s, it's not really a warm fragrance, even the iris in the poudre version doesn't entirely tone down the sharpness. The amount of iris in this is just enough for a hint of powdery floral, there is no overwhelming baby powder like smell. I find its florals and citrus and powder appropriate for spring and summer, and it seems fresh and airy when the weather is nice, I find myself wearing it to work a lot. When the weather is cooler I find this more of a formal scent, icy and elegant, so I don't wear it as often, as I like warmer, deeper fragrances when the weather is cold.


I think the lasting power of this EDP is phenomenal, the lightest spraying on skin lasts for most of the day, on clothes it lasts even longer.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ArizonaAngel on 8/18/2012 11:19:00 PM more reviews by ArizonaAngel

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This seemed like it would be right up my alley for a summer fragrance but nope. I enjoyed it when it was first applied but after a few minutes it settled into something reminiscent to old-school "Charlie" (a scent I adored in HS by the way!) with a bit of powder mixed in. This scent is not for me so no, I definitely wouldn't buy this again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* stayce on 8/6/2012 8:01:00 PM more reviews by stayce

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I inadvertently received a sample of this from Nordstrom when I was meaning to try No.19 proper. It opens with a big cloud of rooty iris and then settles into... well, like a surprisingly soft Deep Woods Off. And I usually like green scents! I keep catching whiffs and getting confused, thinking "I didn't put on bug spray today... did I?" No dice.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 arrasarras on 4/1/2012 4:47:00 AM more reviews by arrasarras

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This has nothing to do with the original Chanel 19.
I don't like the smell.
I find it a big mistake from Chanel, they could better make the body emulsion from Chanel 19 equal with the fragrance.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Chanel products

More Fragrances products