Unlisted Brand • Sirius Skinsonic Brush System • Misc Beauty Tools

rated 4.4(21 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.90%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 rlott on 5/24/2014 11:19:00 AM more reviews by rlott

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Got the Sonic for Christmas and after using it for 5 months it has become an essential part of my skin care routine. I use it for cleansing twice a day (about 1 minute each time) and for exfoliation about twice a week (the exfoliation applicator that comes with it is pretty good). I don't think the hydration applicator is that good (it tends to absorb quite a bit of product) but I still use it on occasion. The toning attachment which at first I thought was superfluous is actually pretty good. The brush runs on 2 AA batteries and I haven't had to change them yet. It's quite light and small so you can take it with you when traveling. I think the normal brush head is a little harsh for cleansing so I use it only for exfoliation. The sensitive brush head is perfect for cleansing, and even on my sensitive skin it feels soft and gentle. The brush comes with 5 heads and I think it would be a good idea to substitute a delicate brush head for one of the applicators. This way there would be a complete range of brushes - delicate (for super-sensitive skin), sensitive and normal. Also adding those little plastic covers for brush heads would be useful as well.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ziastarlight on 5/23/2014 2:29:00 PM more reviews by ziastarlight

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Other    

{UPDATE}
[Received the return yesterday! So yay. Updating it to four lippies.]

{ORIGINAL} I bought this off of Amazon when it was on sale for about $30. I don't think I would have bought this if it was any more expensive, but I really wanted to try out the whole 'Clarisonic Experience thing'.

Now, it's not a bad little gadget, and it can exfoliate, but I don't recommend this for anyone who has really sensitive, flaky, acne prone skin. Sure, I used the delicate head, but it still kind felt like it was scratching. My skin would be a bit red after using. I generally used this every morning, sometimes at night, but as a rule once a day.

It didn't make my skin worse, but it didn't make it better. I would have continued using it for exfoliation, but then it broke after about 3 months. I think water got in the batteries case. So try not to use this in the shower. I emailed Sirius Beauty, and they said they would return it as it was still under the 1 year warranty. I shipped the unit to to them in March and haven't got the replacement back yet (end of May). I just emailed them again to remind them and they said they would ship it out, but I don't know, I will update when/if I get it.

I know that the motorized facial brush concept works out great for some people. I just think my skin was too sensitive to handle the scrubbing bristles, but I do have sensitive skin. In it's defense, my skin would feel 'clean'. Just not 'soothed'. The 'clean' feeling is very nice, but for me personally, the scrubbiness was a bit much.

Now I use a microfiber cloth for exfoliation, and that's about as much as my skin can handle. I personally recommend you to try out a microfiber cloth first, as it works as well (possibly better) at exfoliation and is very soft, plus it's a lot cheaper (runs about $1- $2 a cloth). If you want something more, stimulating skin, scrubbing etc then try out the Skinsonic.

In conclusion, 3 lippies for the fact it wasn't terrible, just not for me, and that it broke a bit quickly + sluggish customer service.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* JadaIgwe on 11/2/2013 2:06:00 AM more reviews by JadaIgwe

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Deep Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I am so glad I bought this. I noticed a difference in the texture of my skin (dry/sensitive) after just a couple uses. I will say, I was a little overenthusiastic the first time and scrubbed really deeply which left me a little pink.

Now I go much gentler. This is a gentle way to glaze over your face and very effective when applying cleansers and serums.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 gracc on 9/15/2013 1:09:00 AM more reviews by gracc

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Got this in the mail about a month ago after seeing a groupon deal. Before this, I was thinking about purchasing the Clarisonic Mia because I have been struggling with acne and was hearing a lot of great reviews on it. I did hold off on it because of the price. Then I ran into the Sirius Sonic Skincare System on groupon for 24 bucks and thought, what the heck I'll just try it. OMG I am in love! My acne has improved so much!! Granted, I do use a acne face wash with benzoyl peroxide, but still, I know this makes much more of a difference than if I was just scrubbing my face with my hands. I can literally see my pores unclogged after using it. My face feels so fresh and clean after I wash it.

It is also battery powered, so unlike the Clarisonic you don't need to charge it. I use this every night and have not needed to change the batteries once.

The brush heads are much more affordable as well and they also have the sensitive and normal skin options.

Even my sister (who is acne free and has never struggled with acne) fell in love with this product!!!

I definitely recommend this for EVERYONE! I will never go back to scrubbing my face with my hands again.

Bottom line: effective, affordable, life changing, worth the investment, etc.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kookymeow on 1/13/2013 12:44:00 AM more reviews by kookymeow

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

I read about this while randomly going through beauty reviews, so I decided to give it a try. Iíve never used a sonic skincare system before, so there isnít anything I could compare it with, although I could say that most reviews deem this as the cheaper alternative to Clarisonic.


For cleansing, I use the sensitive skin brush, I was afraid that the normal brush might be too harsh. I only use this at night as my assurance that any traces of makeup are removed - and it does a good job at this. After using makeup remover, I start my cleansing routine, and notice after that the brush has removed even more foundation. I know this because one night I decided to re-wash my face after the first pass to see if there would be any more foundation left and voila, no traces left - the brush was white as snow on the second washing (but left my skin really raw and tingly). So I could therefore conclude that it works.


At night I use the toner/massager. I canít say I could see the results immediately, but I could say that it definitely feels soothing.


I also use this with my exfoliator (currently it's Soap & Glory's The Greatest Scrub of All), although I couldnít say that this is more effective compared to just using my fingers. I could only hope that it does, given the sonic thing going on.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 scissorbrit on 12/14/2012 2:30:00 AM more reviews by scissorbrit

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Red, Curly   Eyes: Brown    

I have been meaning to review this for a year- Best thing I ever bought!
I was considering the Clarisonic until some reviewer there mentioned this one. I was kind of skeptical and worried that it ran on batteries (didn't want to change them all the time) but I have zero regrets with this and I have only had to change the batteries once.
I use it only at night followed by alcohol free toner and night cream. I feel like it has made my skin look younger, brighter, cleaner, and more youthful and at the same time cleared my skin up incredibly (besides the small hormonal (monthly) break out, but this speeds up clearing up my skin too).
I've been using it for a year and feel like I "reverse aged" the first few months and then maintained this more youthful look all year. Felt a little harsh at first, but I only used it at night (so I wouldn't be red in the day) and within a few days I noticed a great difference and now I can't go to sleep without cleaning my face with this. I wash off my makeup and use St. Ives Green Tea Cleanser on the brush. I feel like my lotions can sink in much easier and my skin never looks dull.
I only wish they made a tiny travel sized one because I take this everywhere I go!
If you're debating this or Clarisonic, I feel like this is incredible and I don't see how Clarisonic could be any different, especially $100 more different.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Jazzypurply on 10/11/2012 11:45:00 PM more reviews by Jazzypurply

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Many people buy this product because it is touted as the best cheap knockoff of the Clarisonic Pro. I certainly did. Now that I have used it, I see it far more than a cheap knockoff. It certainly surpasses the Clarisonic Mia. The different brush options are very useful, especially on the days where you don't want to irritate your skin any further but still want to benefit from the sonic movement.
My skin problems consist of occasional pimples, whiteheads, and small blackheads in the nose area. There was no change in pimples (which I rarely get anyways). Whiteheads.. Gone! The ones I do see (1x every 2 months, maybe) disappear in a night. My blackheads are completely gone on my nose. The only ones left are on the sides of my nose (my oiliest part).

The only negative:
Customer service was nonexistent. Nobody replied to my calls or emails on their website. For purchasers, I advise you to contact them through their Amazon.com account, no matter which country you purchased their product from. Anyways, I love me product!
A code for 10% off your order from the site: SIRIUS10

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ecl4 on 8/23/2012 8:44:00 PM more reviews by ecl4

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

My first review ever on MUA. The reason I feel so compelled to write a review about this is because it has dramatically changed my skin. For about 3-4 years now, I have suffered from adult acne, which grew progressively worse. I was never without a few cysts on my forehead or my cheeks, and it was unbearable to walk out without any makeup on. After some research, I have heard about Clarisonic, but didn't give it too much of a thought. It wasn't until my mom found a cheaper alternative, along with glowing reviews and comparisons between two that gave me hope in trying this.

No regrets. After a couple months of usage, I saw a huge transformation. At first I tried to use it twice a day but found the friction from the bristles causes a bit of redness, so I reduced it to using it at night. I also found that the normal brush head works better for me than the sensitive one since my skin is very stubborn and resilient. I still have a few breakouts during PMS but definitely nothing as major as before. Now I can walk out of the house with nothing on or just a sheer coverage of BB cream.
The fact that it uses replacement batteries is a big plus for me because built-in batteries are such a hassle when they die. I have used this for 6 months with rechargeables without needing to recharge yet. Also helpful when you have a 15-minute charger!
Skinsonic is still incorporated into my daily routine, and I just ordered a new set of brush heads. Can't wait to use them.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 eangelz on 8/7/2012 8:29:00 AM more reviews by eangelz

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

After losing the first shipment via the postal system, I contacted Sirius customer service. The one lady who I believe is the sole customer service provider, was pleasant to deal with. She took no longer than a day or two to respond usually and sent me a replacement express with a tracking number. So for the customer service although it isn't as fast and efficient as others, for a sole customer service provider, I was happy with the service provided.

Like many others here, I was originally going to purchase the Clarisonic Mia but ended up going for the Skinsonic after reading many reviews and the difference in price swayed me completely. I like that it's battery powered - I'm already a very heavy packer when I go on trips so not having to carry another charger is a bonus for me. The multi heads which come with it makes it feel like value for money. However, I have not actually tried all the heads yet. I'm currently using the sensitive head, every second day. My face feels so nice and smooth and squeaky clean after using this.

One thing I have noticed is because the Skinsonic is cleaning the pores out, the pore is also now empty which seems to be attracting dirt so I'm noticing a lot more black heads which I had never previously seen before, in particular on my forehead. I've started looking at other products to help with tightening of pores or a deep pore cleanser to help with keeping the pores clean. I will update this post once I find a product which works.

One con of the product I've noticed is the lack of a timer... though it is easy enough to count myself.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 NMitchel on 8/5/2012 1:00:00 AM more reviews by NMitchel

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Love this brush! I use it once or twice a week (I rarely wear any makeup, although I use this brush on days where I throw a BB cream on) before I go to bed and it is more than enough for my needs.

The packaging is simple and comes with 5 heads. Two are sponges (which, honestly, I do not use), one is the sensitive, one is the normal head (which has a black ring around it), and one massaging head.

I threw out the sponges because I found them...disgusting, not to put too fine a point on it. There is no real way to clean them.

I use the sensitive head on my face, it is gentle and it doesn't take that long to count a minute off to clean your whole face. I use the normal head on a bit of chicken skin I have on my arms about twice a week, and it has definitely helped!

The massaging head is so relaxing, just don't press too hard or overdo it. I'm not quite sure about the anti-aging aspects of this head but it comes in super handy if someone in your house has a headache, too. I also use this head a few times a week after I've applied a moisturizer in place of one of the sponges to help my skin absorb the product better.

The first few times you use this you will probably break out and be really, really red. Please don't freak out, it's just your pores finally pushing all the dirt out! :)

I have really bad blackheads on my nose and chin. This brush as almost eliminated all but a small patch of the darn things on my chin and most of the ones on my nose. I have been battling these little devils for years and this Skin Sonic has worked wonders on destroying them!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Misc Beauty Tools products