Neutrogena • Neutrogena Naturals Purifying Pore Scrub • Scrubs

rated 4.2(33 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* guitarheroine91 on 9/14/2014 8:02:00 PM more reviews by guitarheroine91

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I love this scrub so much. I use it once a week, sometimes twice, in place of my normal cleanser, and I swear it makes my face so smooth! No dryness, nothing but beautiful glowing skin. What more could you ask for? The granules are very fine and not harsh at all, but still effective at removing dead skin. The smell of every product in the Naturals line is to die for. This will be the best scrub you ever buy, and your face will thank you!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 joannzuniga on 8/22/2014 4:09:00 AM more reviews by joannzuniga

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This caught my eye while I was searching for Cetaphil at Walmart. I was really drawn to the way it was packaged It was kinda similar to The Murad's packaging. But also what really stuck out was it is labeled Neutrogena Naturals so I totally looked at the ingredients. I also purchased the cream cleanser to go with it. So far this product is pretty good it does it job, it has a slight tingling sensation after, This has mini scrub beads that aren't as harsh like the St. Ives Apricot scrub, smells pretty good, feels really refreshing, and really cleans out your face. If you really want get a clean feeling in your face you should pair it with the cream cleanser. Then follow up with a moisturizer after and their you go less money spent but it's just as good. I would definitely repurchase this!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 erobert714 on 8/18/2014 12:21:00 PM more reviews by erobert714

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I've tried many scrubs at the drugstore and this is probably the best I've tried. I wouldn't say this does a lot in the exfoliating department, but you don't want to be using harsh exfoliates on your face anyway. Look into AHA/BHA exfoliants if you want something to REALLY exfoliate.

However, I have sensitive combo/oily skin and this does not dry me out, break me out etc. It's SOOO gentle, unlike a ton at the drugstore that leave me with those little bumps from over exfoliation. I only use this three times a week because I don't want to waste product, as I need quite a bit since it's slightly watery and also my skin is super sensitive.

I've use this 5-6 days in a row before though and my skin looked amazing, it really does help with minor breakouts! If you have acne though you really shouldn't be exfoliating like this everyday. I'm going to repurchase soon actually. I was thinking about getting something else but everything I've researched seems to harsh or like it would dry me out. I was debating between this and Aveeno's positively radiant scrub but it has polyethylene beads which are horrible for the environment. I don't want them on my face anyway. Hopefully they don't discontinue this.. it's one of the only things I like from Neutrogena. I highly recommend this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cbarber018 on 8/10/2014 10:02:00 PM more reviews by cbarber018

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Love this product I'm on my second bottle initially I tried it at my sisters house and I came downstairs she said your face looks so good not knowing it was from her bottle. It has a nice smell, I'm on my second bottle. It lasts a long time. Great product overall. Would definitely buy again and again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 AllyDean on 7/31/2014 11:27:00 PM more reviews by AllyDean

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I purchased this thinking it was a scrub (ie, "exfoliator") but it turns out it's more suitable as a cleanser. The product is very watery with very minimal beads and thus only effective for cleansing. As an exfoliator, this product has done nothing for me.

UPDATE
Used this a couple more times and realised the concentration of beads wasn't balanced in the tube which resulted in very minimal amount of beads with first few use. With the recent use, I ended up with a much more concentrated amount which also reduced the watery-ness of the product. Definite improved performance although still not as effective as I would have liked it to be.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CordulaM on 5/26/2014 11:52:00 AM more reviews by CordulaM

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I really wanted to like this, so I hate to give a bland rating, but unfortunately, there are a few things I really don't like.

I picked this up from good reviews and I used it for a bit and I really loved how soft and smooth my skin looked, but I seriously question whether I can use salicylic acid. That's my own issue. It's weird, because when I use SA products, my skin breaks out but the area where I don't have break outs is nice and smooth and less red, and this specifically made my tone look really nice. I still got a few breakouts (and still do) but it wasn't horrific for me like most things are. But I really am almost convinced I can't use SA and after going back and forth with that theory a few bajillion times, I really think I have to cut it out. I called Neutrogena and asked how much was in this, and they didn't know, so it's possible that it worked somewhat because the level isn't high or super strong.

But while we're on ingredients, it really bugs me how they list it. While they show how natural the ingredients are, all things are derived from some natural source initially, but by not saying WHAT the chemical name is, it's extremely misleading and hard to find out if there is something in there that is problematic. I suppose if someone has say, a coconut allergy, they won't use it regardless of how it's listed or derived, but so many things are made from coconut product including many soap products so it really bothers me how underhanded that is. I feel they are trying to make it look more natural than it really is and for quality alone it's not like it's the best product.

I'll say the plus is that it smells nice, and it didn't tear my face up like some scrubs or even cleansers can. The beads were very minimal so it doesn't irritate. But estheticians have told me that scrubs should be dissolvable or they can irritate more than we realize. I used to harshly scrub and that has fallen wayyy out of my routine. One of my major long standing issues is bumps and I find scrubbing makes a whole massive ZERO difference. If not irritates it worse. And as I mentioned, SA is not for me, even though everyone swears it's the cure for it. I have had better luck with enzymes and other exfoliants.

I did end up returing this and then months later bought another one. I still didn't 'love' it, I was just desparate for something mildy not-horrific. But I couldn't use it too often and using it sparingly did nothing either so return #2 and I'm done with it. I'm sure someone with less sensitive skin could have luck with it, but generally I feel neutrogena is a pretty chemical-riden and over all not stellar company and I'm not loving the sneakyness of this advertizing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 monica3210 on 5/11/2014 7:20:00 PM more reviews by monica3210

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this though I can't use it everday, even though it states you can. The reason for not using it everday is because any exfoliating face wash I've used gives me small skin colored bumps after a few weeks of continuous use. At first I thought my skin didn't like this but then I realized it is just that my skin can't handle so much exfoliating. So I only use this every now and then. I can use it for a few days without any reactions to it, I do this if I happen to be breaking out in small pimples and it'll get rid of them but of course I can only do this for a few days or I'll over exfoliate. I would definitely buy this again and it smells nice (like apples, though not natural apples).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* addied on 3/14/2014 9:38:00 AM more reviews by addied

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Absolutely love this! I found that this product doesn't overly dry my skin out and I already have dry skin. Great for pimples, I now have clearer skin & it has been years since I have seen my skin looking smooth & less pimply. I'm recommending it to my friend who is also suffering acne.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 taylorxyz on 1/25/2014 6:19:00 PM more reviews by taylorxyz

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I have dry skin and my dermatologist recommended that I start exfoliating my skin only ONCE a week, and recommended this product. I first tried it today and I am amazed. All that gross flaky skin has come off beautifully WITHOUT drying my skin out! It also didn't make my face turn red or itch or burn, but I didn't think it would, considering it is a gentle cleanser. I would recommend this as a weekly exfoliating cleanser to anyone with dry skin! :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 howlethenight on 12/7/2013 11:55:00 PM more reviews by howlethenight

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

THIS STUFF IS A MIRACLE. I have been using this for about two years now on and off of it because I am the queen of buying new products that I end up not liking. but I have always gone back to this product. I have VERY oily acne prone skin and I use this product day and night after I take off my make up. I wash it with a cheap facial brush I got from Sally's. this is ONLY product that clears me up fast and stays that way. I follow it with the neutrogena pore toner and in the morning, the wash with the toner and neutrogenas oil free moisturizer. definitely plan on using this for a while

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Neutrogena products

More Scrubs products