Essence • Stay Natural Concealer • Concealers

rated 2.5(14 reviews)

Average Rating.2.5
Would buy this product again.35%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 BunnyQ on 1/7/2014 5:59:00 PM more reviews by BunnyQ

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I like the packaging and all and it's really cheap but that's about it. There is absolutely no concealing going on around there! After a while of trying it out and hoping it would work on my under eye circles I just gave up and tossed it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 nlls11 on 8/22/2013 4:14:00 PM more reviews by nlls11

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I like trying essence products since they are so cheap... It gives a natural look but very sheer coverage. I can even tell you that it has no coverage. I am in 001 soft beige which fits my fair/medium skin perfectly. It won't cover up ANY of your blemishes or dark circles. But i like the packaging and the brush it has. Anyway won't be repurchasing it.. P.S : Rimmel Hide The Blemish Concealer is highly recommended girlfriends! (Apart from the ladies with dry skin)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 gildoush22 on 3/21/2013 10:35:00 AM more reviews by gildoush22

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

its very sheer, if you have dark circles wont do much for you, but if u just want to highlight or brighten under eye area, its a good product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 rosademarzo on 2/17/2013 2:45:00 PM more reviews by rosademarzo

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This concealer doesn't really work as such. It doesn't conceal anything on me, it just sits there, piled up over my foundation. If I try to build it up, it just become more obvious and still doesn't give coverage.
In general, I do like many Essence products and sure will keep trying new ones whenever I can (not available in my country), but this one was a disappointment.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 ILoveitxo on 2/15/2013 11:04:00 AM more reviews by ILoveitxo

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I think the only positive thing to say about it is that it's really cheap. That all. It smells really weird, doesn't stay on long, it doesn't look natural and the packaging is horrible. When I open it again my whole desk is full of this 'concealer'. The smell is awful, really, and the smell stays the whole time!

I'm not going to buy this again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 olivegarden on 11/1/2012 4:18:00 AM more reviews by olivegarden

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

As said in the title - it really is natural, and so it's coverage isn't the best, it doesn't conceal a lot - well, as much as a medium coverage foundation would. But it lasts a long time and if you don't have much to conceal, this is a great choice. The shades are natural, too, it wasn't hard at all to choose the correct one, it suits the skin nicely. As for the lasting power - doesn't last too long - up to 6 hours, which is enough for me.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Enkida on 9/5/2012 2:21:00 PM more reviews by Enkida

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I own essence Stay Natural Concealer in "04 soft honey."

After running out of my US version of Maybelline's Dream Lumitouch concealer, I realized I had a serious lack of colour options to choose from in Germany. I ended up with a high-end product that had my colour match but cost a whopping 32 euros for 1.5ml of product, and went on an affordable drugstore dupe search a short while later.

Happily, essence Stay Natural was one of the few concealers that had a passingly acceptable colour for my skintone, and for the more than affordable price of 1,95 euros for 1.5ml. That's about where the good news ends.

First of all, the packaging: this is not unique to essence, but I truly abhor highlighter pens with the brushes attached. It wastes product - something you just can't afford to do when these tubes come with generally less than 2ml of concealer in them to begin with - and it's unhygenic. I get around this problem by simply cutting the useless brush off, whether on this product or even my 32 euro high-end. Still, having to modify the packaging at all on any product knocks the rating down for me automatically.

Much more to the point, while the concealer was an okay color match to my skin, after about 20 seconds of wear it began to mildly sting underneath my eyes. Not enough to cause any redness or lasting irritation, and the sting faded after a few minutes as well. Still, I have at this point tested enough low, mid and high-end concealers to realize that something in the ingredient list wasn't working well with my generally non-sensitive dry skin. This is the only illuminating undereye concealer I have tried to date that I ever had a reaction to, and I can't help but think it's because of cutting corners on ingredients to achieve that dirt-cheap price.

Lasting power was fairly mediocre, and it did crease on me. I gave it two uses before giving up on it - for a few euros more, I can get much better and non-painful products of the same type from the drugstore, and with the price tag, it didn't hurt to just chuck it. Obviously, not a repurchase for myself.

Normally I would recommend a product like this younger people looking to experiment with illuminating concealers for the first time, because it's not bad and dirt cheap, but in this case I'd advise others to stay away. I don't have sensitive skin at all and I reacted to this product; even if you don't have sensitive skin and don't react to a product with questionable ingredients, repeated use of an irritating chemical can LEAD to sensitive skin problems in the future. For one or two euros more, I feel you can find something safer for your delicate undereye skin.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 pashmeash on 8/6/2012 2:54:00 AM more reviews by pashmeash

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

i have nothing against this concealer at all. the coverage isn't completely there, but i'm really dry under the eyes so i can't have much coverage anyway. the click application brush works well, the colour is a little yellow-toned but definitely workable. it also blends nicely. for $3, i'm not gonna be its harshest critic.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 FilaretiMl on 7/29/2012 10:16:00 AM more reviews by FilaretiMl

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

its a good eye brightener but i like it..

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 fofocool on 7/28/2012 7:29:00 AM more reviews by fofocool

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

it's not a concealer
it just brightens the under eye area for when ou don't wana wear any makeup... nothing more.. good if you habve perfect skin! also it didn't
last on my combination skin!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Essence products

More Concealers products