Chanel Illusion d'Ombre


59 reviews

79% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$$



on 7/24/2015 2:54:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I have this color in New Moon, which I purchased a year ago and thought was limited edition but now I see it on the website? I hope this is permanent bc I LOVE this eyeshadow! I buff it onto my primed lids with a stout little RT brush and am good to go. My favorite way to wear it is in a thin layer--this gives me a sheer & shimmery peach-mauve-beige shade. If I add more layers, the mauve is more dominant. It does have glitter in it but for me, fallout is minimal.

on 7/4/2015 4:47:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I own Illusiore, Epatant, and Fatal, and I must say i really do live these eyeshadows. I have so many MAC eyeshadows and other palettes but i always go back to these shadows when in doubt. It is a pretty steep price for a single eyeshadow when some palettes are almost the same price, but I'd rather get one eyeshadow I really love rather than a whole palette of colors I never use. I usually wear Illusiore for everyday and i'll layer it with other matte colors and but a color in the crease if I have the time, otherwise i just take my MAC 217 and just blend it out. I have green eyes and it really brings out the green with the slight purple undertone. Epatant is a more going out color, but it is so unique that it can change a whole look. I got Epatant while looking while looking at fantasme the other silver which is really just white. I wanted a silver with a bit of color to it and it sorta has a green undertone. Fatal is sorta reddish and brown, i love this color as well. I just put MAC painterly under and this dont budge at all! These are my go to eyeshadows and are worth the $36!

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have this in the shade 'Mirage'.

The colour is a gold, brown colour but just a pre warning, unless you build the colour up this comes out a lot more sheer than what it looks like in the tub!

I love that I can build with this product and I find this shade completely perfect for creating a smokey eye using this cream shadow and this only!

I apply all over the lid using my finger (I did use the brush provided at first but found that the product rolled up and none actually stuck to the brush in order for me to apply it) then I add a little extra in the crease and outer corners and blend with my MAC 217 blending brush and there you go! Perfect brown/golden smokey eye created in seconds using the same product in the same shade!

I have to say I do find that if I wear this and this alone, it doesn't last too long without a primer (hense the 4 and not 5 lipstick rating) so if I know I'm going to be wearing this for a long time I will use a non coloured primer (my favourites are the Nars Shadow Primer or the original Urban Decay Primer Potion) beforehand and it helps so much with the staying power! I also love that you can use this as a base for powder shadows which I've been doing a lot recently and it works great!

Like I said the colour pay off from one small application is a lot lighter/more sheer than the colour looks in the packaging BUT the colour you see in the pot is easily achievable with layering and blending of the product, which I actually quite like because I feel like I can get use from this in the day time for a subtle look or night time with a heavier make up look! (I don't know if the colour pay off is the same in every shade or just this one)

Beautiful for people with blue eyes but a great colour all round!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

on 9/21/2014 10:45:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Fabulous easy to use eyeshadow. My favorite is Emervielle. The CHANEL artist showed me how to use it as a shadow base as well as a highlighter. I love the fact that you can layer the colors or if you apply a powder shadow on top it intensifies and holds the color all day. I tried using the black shade as an eyeliner along my upper lashes like the artist did on Anne Hathaway at the Oscars last year and I fell totally in love with the look.

on 8/12/2014 3:05:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Purchased this eye shadow in Emerveille to use as a highlighter. The container has a generous amount of powder to last months. The color looks prettier on than in the container. I shied away from this shadow because of the amount of shimmer but when persuaded to "try" the color, I was pleasantly surprised. It blends beautifully...almost too beautifully, one needs to be a bit heavy handed to apply the shadow for true color. The creamy, powdery texture doesn't last long, but with any powder shadows, this can be helped with adding water to the texture to bring out the color and wear. For me, the color alone is worth reapplying whenever it fades.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

on 5/13/2014 8:42:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I have it in shade 82 (Emerveille). I love the peachy color, it brings out the green in my eyes. But I did have a problem with its poor lasting power until I tried this trick: I use a wet synthetic flat brush, I pick up some Emerveille and then some (any) powder eyeshadow, and my eye makeup lasts until I remove it hours later without smudging or smearing. It is amazing! Why don't Chanel guys tell you to use it that way from the start? It would save my some disappointment.

on 2/28/2014 6:43:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Black

At first I bougt Diorshow fusion mono, which appeares very similar. My disapoitment was undiscribeable.
After that I went to the store and bougt this.
I apsolutley LOVE IT!
Recomend it to everyone.....
Colors are beutiful, it lasts very long, it aplies nicely, it doesnt iritate my eyes and i deeply recomend it.

on 10/5/2013 5:31:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I just purchased in Convotise and I love it, I pair it with Epatant and these two shadows bring out the gold in my brown eyes. I also bought Joues Contrast in their newest color, Accent it looks soft and ashey but really shows up on my skin, I am medium fair and have a lot of yellow in my complexion, I believe a NC 25-30, I used this blush with a fluff brush and placed in the eye socket just beneath the orbital bone, so those three things and my cheapo( $1.99)Jordana felt tip black eyeliner traced into the lash line and I am done. These shadows as well as the blush has been on for over 10 hours, I just took a shower but did not wash my face and all the color is STILL there. So even though Chanel is expensive out of the gate, in the long run it is a true bargain. I should add that I am no spring chicken, almost 60 ! yikes that was hard to write.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

on 9/24/2013 4:55:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Bought the color Illusoire, which is a lovely amazing color. But this stuff doesn't last but an hour on my eyelids no matter how much priming I do to get it to stick.. I wind up with creases almost immediately! WOW, that's fast Chanel, for a formula that you charge almost 40 dollars for and you've smacked a LONG WEAR label on it. Of course, once it starts creasing then it fades, by the afternoon, you cant even tell I put on any eyeshadow with the exception of MAYBE one or two stray glints of glitter in the corner of my eye. The brush is a little stiff and should only be used it you want to use it as an eyeliner because attempts to use it to blend or add more color to the lid result in uneven application, however this all depends on whether or not you can get it to stay put.

This eyeshadow makes me so sad, the color is so beautiful with dark brown eyes.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

on 9/12/2013 4:01:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Illusion d'Ombre Eyeshadow in the shade - Illusoire: I LOVE this shadow and I rarely say this! Everytime I use it, I swear to myself that I should use it everyday, but I'm even too lazy to apply this (and it's pretty simple to apply) on certain days and want a "clean" look on other days. This shade is that perfect mix of taupe/purple/grey that is impossible to pin down (which I love in a shade). I have light golden brown, warm eyes and it really offsets them perfectly and gives me a super easy, effortless smokey eye. Depending on how much you apply dictates daytime/office appropriate or evening only. It's classy though - no way around that. Applies so easily with just a flat, synthetic eyeshadow brush and can give you a smudgey eyeliner look along the bottom lashes too, with ease. For me, it lasts all day with no creasing, but I DO use UDPP and I DON'T have exceptionally oily lids and am careful not to apply too much eye cream around my eyes in the a.m. before make-up. Love THIS! Expensive but worth it!!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Back to Top