Illamasqua • Skin Base foundation • Liquid

rated 3.7(138 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.62%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 MlleThiery on 1/8/2015 12:04:00 PM more reviews by MlleThiery

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I'll say upfront if you're looking for medium-full coverage or something very build-able, keep looking because this foundation is very light.

At $50 a bottle I would have moved on because, damn, that's expensive. However the MUA at Sephora was having a difficult time finding a foundation that matched my skin (I have yellow and pink tones which is not common) until she put this on (Shade 3.5). I was surprised how easily this blended in and how my face felt like there was no make up on it! My boyfriend persuaded me to splurge and get the bottle.

The bottle is the perfect size for portability and it's a squeeze bottle so application is fast and easy. I am lucky and have great skin so I just need something to cover the minute flaws and occasional zit or freckle. I dislike the look and feeling of layered/heavy make up so I really appreciate how this feels like there's nothing on your skin. As for staying power, I notice a tiny layer of residue on my cell phone at the end of the day but other wise it stays put and doesn't change color.

Conclusion: If you have normal to great skin and you can spare $50 with out much problem, this is a yes. My skin type is on the dry side of normal.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Livceinwen on 12/21/2014 3:15:00 PM more reviews by Livceinwen

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Loved this at first when I had it colour matched at the illamasqua counter, it was one of the hottest days of the year. It took about 3/4 hours to look oily, which is incredible because I am SUPER oily and I have to touch up within half an hour with powder or a blotting sheet. I thought this would help me with my oiliness, but now it doesn't, and I still get really oily:( nice foundation for wearing if you know you will be photographs though, as long as I powder first!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 GeorginaG on 11/10/2014 8:23:00 PM more reviews by GeorginaG

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Love this foundation! You can always tell in pictures when I have it on. You must apply it sparingly or build for fuller coverage, otherwise it sits on your skin looking like thick foundation. The bottle is great as the way it stands means no furious shaking to get the product out. Set with Illamasqua translucent loose powder or Dermablend setting powder. The only negative is the price compared to high st brands but it is worth it (particularly if you're very pale and struggle to find the right shade), but Illamasqua have a discount loyalty scheme and a few promotions a year. I have the compact foundation too but it doesn't apply smoothly after a few months. Much prefer skin base liquid! I use SB3.5 and am a MAC NC15.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 NC1987 on 11/2/2014 10:53:00 AM more reviews by NC1987

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Hazel    

i do like this foundation, its nice for good coverage so i use when i go out. it is slightly on the pricy side and its a bit of a nightmare to get out of the tube. Probably won't buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 jjquan on 10/23/2014 12:06:00 AM more reviews by jjquan

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

When I initially started using this product, it had great coverage and didn't make me super oily. I had put it aside to use another foundation and came back to it and for some reason, it didn't suit my skin anymore. If you're looking for that dewy skin look, this will do it for you, but if you have oily skin, stay away! This made my skin even oilier looking and I found that the foundation slid as the day progressed - even after setting it. I would say that this is light coverage. I wouldn't recommend trying to layer this, as it would just make it oily. I loved the packaging. The shape is really unique and easy to dispense. Unfortunately, this product was just not for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LongBeachGirl on 10/16/2014 4:02:00 AM more reviews by LongBeachGirl

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I happened late on a sale for Illamasqua with most everything sold except their foundation. Lots and lots of foundation in only two shades, 03 and their darkest color. Took a chance and got the 03 which turned out to be a perfect match. Not only that, it is such a gorgeous foundation that looks better than every favourite foundation I have ever owned. Using a damp beauty blender and really pressing it into the skin makes it last the entire day. The best thing is it seems to look better as the day goes on. I ended up going back and buying three more bottles but if I could have I'd have bought a dozen.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sharminasyeda on 9/26/2014 7:38:00 AM more reviews by sharminasyeda

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

For a girl who usually sticks with BB cream and tinted moisturiser, this foundation is a godsend! It's light yet effective and doesn't feel heavy on the skin which is exactly what I was looking for.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 nelehhx on 9/8/2014 11:28:00 AM more reviews by nelehhx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is one of the many foundations I have tried, which I have put on and thought "Oh my god I look AMAZING, my search is finally over, HG!!!!", and only a few hours later to realise that I just wasted $50.

The colour match is fabulous. It makes me look GORGEOUS. I have porcelain skin and I can't even explain it... it's radiant, the coverage is crazy, it makes me look like a doll. The coverage is also undetectable, it looks so natural. It's really beautiful.

...until about an hour later when the madness begins. This gets oddly shiny in an hour... it contains talc (which I wasn't happy about) so technically, it should control oil to some (ANY, PLEASE) extent. But instead it makes you oilier. Chemistry you crazy thang. So yeah, it gets really shiny super quickly - even if i set with powder. It makes no difference. And it's a real oil shine, not a 'my skin is healthy and i'm luminous' shine.

It also broke me out pretty badly. Bad for me, anyways - like three pretty big zits at any one time. Of course I was in denial and thought 'i haven't been drinking enough water!' while downing 20L a day. As well as zits it kind of just clogged up my whole face... my skin texture went from smooth to bumpy with a lot more redness than usual. But the foundation would 100% cover it all anyways so I persevered for a bit.

At this stage I am no longer using it as my every day. I might keep it to wear on special occasions because the coverage and finish are so nice but eh. Once the bottle finishes I won't repurchase. My skin deserves better.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Sophielxx on 8/17/2014 6:45:00 AM more reviews by Sophielxx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Horrific...only word I can think to describe this.

Bought this on a whim without looking at reviews first, and the colour match was completely off.

Tried to make it work regardless - thought maybe used sparingly, it wouldn't be so obvious (big mistake - I looked like Bart Simpson with jaundice!!)

After a few hours, it was almost as if it has risen and was sat on top of the oils. I tried everything - with primer, without primer, with powder, without powder. I tried four different brushes, stippling, buffing, anything I could think of. The result was always the same. I would end up taking it off at lunch time and reapplying as it was getting progressively worse!

I was rematched in the end by a different sales girl as they would not let me return, only exchange, only to find it looked like I had been smacked in the face with a bag of flour. A third sales girl was there when I went back after a walk around looking as if I had witnessed the resurrection of Michael Jackson, who decided it would probably be easier on everybody's stress levels if I was just given a refund.

I will never ever even look at Illamasqua's foundations again after that horrific trip - I will stick to my beloved MAC I think!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 huntybooboo on 7/29/2014 2:32:00 AM more reviews by huntybooboo

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

this is my favorite foundation and has been my go-to for a couple years now. it's very concentrated in pigment & i use an amount abt the size of a pea for full coverage everyday, a bit more for a truly flawless/nighttime look. it doesn't look or feel heavy despite the great coverage & it sets better than most foundations i've tried. a lot seem to want to come off even while i'm still putting them on, but this pretty much stays where i put it. it lasts very well both on the face throughout the day/night as well as in the tube; one lasts at least 4 months for me.

i apply w/ fingers in gentle sweeping/circular strokes over lightly moisturized skin. i haven't really bothered to try it w/ brushes tbh bc it works so well w/ fingers & i prefer that. i think a lot of people buff it in to avoid cakeyness esp on dry skin, but my skin is normal/combination & i haven't had any issues w/ that. i don't usually prime but have tried this w/ hourglass veil mineral which worked well. i also once got the illamasqua hydraveil w/ this in a value kit from their website & it works beautifully w/ that of course; i intend to try it with the matte veil when i get that as well. i have set w/ many different powders & most work pretty well w/ it; my current fave is elf studio hd.

one of the other great things abt it for me is the shade selection, particularly on the pale end. i've used shades 3 & 4.5. they are pretty close in color & both work for my fair, slightly warm-leaning skin. normally i reach for the fairest shade in a range of foundation & it's often not quite pale enough &/or a bit too pink, but there are a lot of shades to try here for pale people, & a white to mix & lighten, which is also invaluable for makeup artists. the range is unfortunately not quite as wide on the deeper end but there are some fairly dark shades, as well as a large spread in the middle.

i've been pretty impressed w/ illamasqua products overall; they're a truly artistic brand & cruelty-free which is a must for me, & this is the crown jewel of their whole line for me. different things may work better for different people, but i'll keep coming back for this again & again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Illamasqua products

More Liquid products