Tarte Amazonian Clay 12-hour Full-Coverage Foundation SPF 15

3.6

585 reviews

60% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

6% Titanium dioxide 3% Zinc Oxide Inactive Ingredients: Water, cyclopentasiloxane, octldodecyl neopentanoate, butylene glycol, plyglyceryl-4 isostearate, dimethicone crosspolymer, PEG/PPG-18/18 dimethicone, dimethicone, silica, cetyl PEG/PPG-10/1 dimethicone, stearic acid, aluminum hydroxide, sodium dehydroacetate, phytantriol, hexyl laurate, triethoxycaprylysilane, nylon-12, sodium chloride, kaolin, tocopherol, tetrahexyldecyl ascorbate, polyvinylalcohol crosspolymer, magnesium chloride, potassium chloride, zinc chloride, lysine, sodium hyaluronte, hexylene glycol, caprylyl glycol, phenoxyethanol. potassium sorbate, titanium dioxide, iron oxides, mica Made in USA


Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I bought this product a few months ago from Sephora in light sand. The shade is perfect for my skin color, has a natural finish and stays matte for the full 12 hours :). Yes, it's pricey but a little bit goes a long way with this stuff so I think it's worth it. If you are looking for full coverage, this product doesn't deliver on that but when I pair it up with the Tarte Amazonian Clay concealer, I'm all set :). I have oily, sensitive skin and this foundation has cleared up any blemishes I had. Pretty close to perfect, in my opinion.



on 4/24/2015 10:14:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

not worth the money


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I actually liked this foundation a lot, it made my face very dewy and soft. Covered a lot of redness for me. Price is high but I think if you have a lot of redness/acne, it's worth it. However, despite the natural claims, it clogged up my pores and caused cystic acne in less than a week. Everyday I was waking up with new pimples, so I had to return it. Would repurchase if it actually worked for me:(


on 4/23/2015 8:39:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Still no shade range for nc44-nc45 in this foundation

It's nice that tarte have introduced more shades for darker skin tones but they are still ingnoring a large market of dark women who are dark tanned- medium dark skin tones. They have managed to make the shade Tan-Sand in the airbrush powder foundation for nc44-nc45 but couldn't even be bothered to make an equivalent shade in this foundation. Also the new shades that they have introduced for darker skins are more red based. Even the dark sand shades which are meant to be yellow based have more red undertones. Yet again tarte think that most dark woman are Nw45, Nc50 or above. This company is still ignoring large market of darker skinned women, which shows a bit of ignorance.


on 4/23/2015 12:05:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I fell in love with this foundation because my skin is very pink and it is very difficult to find foundations that do not look yellow on my skin. I was so excited because it was great coverage and my exact skin tone. I use to have terrible acne until I went on accutane for a year and my acne was completely gone, I could stick my face in a pan of grease and still have flawless skin- but this foundation gave both my sister and me terrible cystic acne. I am still grieving over this foundation ):


on 4/22/2015 12:43:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

When I am not using my Merle Norman Lasting Foundation, I use this. I like that it provides SPF protection (which I wish was a bit higher), and the physical barrier sunscreen (vs. chemical barrier sunscreens in other products) doesn't break me out. Great coverage. Doesn't feel like a mask (as long as I use a light hand like I should). Just make sure you get someone who knows this product to color match you.


on 4/20/2015 8:16:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I love the squeeze bottle. It gives me total control over the amount I need. This foundation is super thick but doesn't feel heavy on the skin at all. Definitely not full coverage! Doesn't live up to that claim. It can definitely go beyond 12+ hours though.!it kept me matte, didn't smell horrible and felt natural on my a face. It's not my favorite foundation. I got it for the warmer months ahead to keep my matte. Hottest day so far was about 80 so far, it held up quite well. We've had some humid days already also and it held up nicely. I did need to touch up with my powder midday but not a lot. This foundation selection, in my opinion, runs a bit yellow. I got the shade Ivory because it was the closest to my skin tone (I'm cool toned) and the color is slightly off. It's blendable, but I can still tell the difference. if it holds up well, ill use it during the summer/spring months only. My HG will always be Lorac Natural Performance.


on 4/14/2015 4:33:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

If you have oily skin... avoid this foundation!!!

I have been using this product for about two months now and am very disappointed. I had been looking for a full coverage, long lasting foundation for quite some time when I stumbled upon this Tarte foundation. I read reviews about it and watched videos in which people gave it very high ratings. I am sad to say that I highly disagree with them! Everything seemed fine when I first applied it, I was actually very impressed by the coverage. Although, I wouldn't call this a full coverage foundation, but it is definitely buildable!

Anyway, the real disappointment was about two hours into the day when I was basically really, really oily and clung to my dry spots making them extra flakey and the "full coverage" I had was not so "full coverage". Not to mention that this foundation also comes right off with the slightest touch to my face. It wouldn't have been that bad if I could just put on some powder and blot, but honestly it's like I had to completely redo my makeup to get the look that I wanted with it. It has great pigmentation and such but it does not last at all and feels really heavy if you choose to try and build it up.

I also have really acne prone skin but this foundation didn't seem to break me out anymore than usual so, that's sort of a plus.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/13/2015 2:20:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I actually purchased this foundation a while ago, but am just now writing a review. I went to Sephora looking for a full coverage, matte finish foundation. I spoke with a rep, she did the skin IQ thing, and this foundation was one of my matches. She said it was highly recommended for people with oily skin, which I have.

I was very disappointed with this foundation because for two main reasons. First, it did not stay matte on my skin. Honestly, after about two hours I was greasy and there was makeup separation on my nose and forehead. Second, it made me break out, especially on my cheeks. I think because the foundation itself is so heavy (it really does feel like a clay or thick mousse) it clogged my pores, causing the breakouts. I say these things after having used this foundation for about a month. I tried different application techniques ( brushes, beauty blender, etc), different primers and setting sprays and even no primer at all. Nothing seemed to help. It felt like $30+ dollars wasted to be honest.

Will not repurchase, will not recommend to people with oily/ acne prone skin.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 4/10/2015 12:27:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I did not break out from this product! I use this for when I need full coverage or I've got bad blemishes. A little of the product goes a long way, which I think is great because I get more value for my money. The formula is great, it doesn't slide off my face even when it gets oily. It's got a thick consistency which I'd say is pretty normal since this claims to be a medium to full coverage foundation. Considering it is on the thicker side, this does not feel heavy on my skin at all! Regarding the longevity of the product, I'd say the staying power is pretty good considering I live in a pretty humid area. I like that it has SPF too since I use this mostly during the day, I do not recommend using this for the evening or a night out since it may create a white cask under flash photography. Only thing I don't like about this product is since the consistency is so thick, it tends to be a little bit drying but it could be either a good thing or a bad thing depending on how your skin is on that day.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

Review ? Tarte Amazonian Clay Full Coverage Foundation by BeautyLoDown

This vs.That | (Review + Demo) Laura Mercier Silk Creme vs. Tarte Amazonian Clay 12 Hr Foundation by JJ BeautyRoom



Back to Top