Gold Bond • Sheer Ribbons Body Lotion • Lotions/ Creams

rated 4.4(12 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.91%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 zanderae on 11/26/2012 6:45:00 PM more reviews by zanderae

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

First time I saw this I thought, "Lotion in a can. How quaint." I had a coupon and there was a sale on it so I bought the Pearl Radiance version, thinking I'd just try it and it would be a gimmick and it'd be too pearlescent for me - but a fun idea. Well, I was wrong on all counts except for it being a fun idea; this stuff is very, very moisturizing and works as well as any other lotion I have. I have both formulations of this and prefer the Pearl Radiance because it has less of a floral scent, but if you're looking for pearlescence and/or radiance you might look elsewhere; there's a little shimmer to this product, but really not much and that suits me just fine.

Would repurchase, have repurchased, will continue to repurchase - but not for full price.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kellirae on 6/10/2012 2:15:00 PM more reviews by kellirae

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I love this stuff. A bit on the pricey side for a drugstore lotion. You get 7 oz and the usual price is 9.99. I had been wanting to try it since I saw it come out year. Well I found it at all places my local SafeWay grocery store for 5.99. I also had a coupon, so I got it for 4.99 a bottle. I got one of each. I really like it! It is very moisturizing and leaves my dry summer skin feeling soft and the scent is not overly offensive. It doesn't interfere with my perfume at all. I will buy this again if I can get a good deal. I don't see paying 9.99 for it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 LemonSun on 4/28/2012 11:12:00 AM more reviews by LemonSun

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I love this lotion! I have the pearl radiance version, and used it last night for the first time in awhile. My hands were so rough and scaly from washing them constantly, due to the fact that I work in a jail. My hands get so dry and cracked that they bleed! I used this last night and woke up this morning to soft, smooth, completely healed hands!! The only reasons I took a lippie off is the price, which is pretty high for a drug store lotion, and also because the 'pearl' is virtually non-existent. No worries about looking too glittery ladies! Overall, I love this and will definitely purchase again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* magpiesparkle on 3/7/2012 12:48:00 AM more reviews by magpiesparkle

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Just heavy enough to take care of my winter dry skin but not too heavy. I have the pink version and the scent is soft, subtle and doesn't clash with whatever perfume I might be wearing. Definite repurchase!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SaraLee2 on 2/12/2012 11:42:00 PM more reviews by SaraLee2

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this 'cuz I loved the way my hands felt and looked after using the tester, super smooth. I got the Pearl Radiance version and while the shimmer is non-existant, it does leave a lovely sheen thats seems to be noticeable only in direct sunlight, but its definitely there. The lotion however is surprisingly excellent. Its very thick and rich, much more like a butter than a lotion. It does take a bit to rub it in, but it absorbs quickly for such a thick cream, and leaves a coating on skin that feels soft and smooth, not sticky or greasy...almost like a powdery smoothness. It makes my skin feel super smooth. It lasts for 24 hours as my skin gets immediately slimy in the shower the next morning when the water hits it, but washes off easily. The scent is a light, fresh citrus, which I really like, and doesn't compete with perfume. In the winter my skin gets very itchy and prickly by the end of the day if my lotion isn't working, and I get none of that when I use this. I certainly hope it lasts longer than 2 weeks, but I will still buy it again.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SophieH on 12/27/2011 11:52:00 PM more reviews by SophieH

Age: Unknown   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I tried the Pearl Radiance version of this (the other version is called Silk Softness; I also have a can of that and will be trying it soon). The first thing that was stunning to me about this body lotion is the price--I paid about $9 for a mere 7 ounces of product. That's a very high price per ounce for a drugstore formula. While I like a lot about this product, I don't think it's worth that cost, since it is possible to get comparable results from products that are a lot less.

I like the can packaging and the mousse-like delivery system; I find them much more convenient for travel than pump bottles. The product comes out soft and thick. It is quite heavy for a lotion; in fact, the texture is more like that of a body butter. However, it is easy to spread and absorbs quickly.

The smell is soft and sweet--rather nice, and lingering. The shimmer is extremely subtle and, frankly, barely noticeable. You will not look "glittery" at all with this. The product moisturizes very well and leaves skin soft and hydrated with only minimal greasy residue.

It is a solid, high-quality and enjoyable product; however, I will not repurchase because there are far cheaper drugstore lotions that perform just as well.

UPDATE: My first can of this body lotion lasted a mere 2 weeks. Price-wise this is equivalent to a prestige product. Quality-wise, it's good, but probably not worth it for long-term use.

I am now trying the Silk Softness formula and find it to be quite similar to the Pearl Radiance, but with a different scent and without the faint shimmer. The Silk Softness has a weaker scent, which is a drawback in my book since I like the fragrances of these products. Silk Softness is a faint citrusy-floral. I think I enjoy the formula of the SS a little more than the PR; SS really does leave skin silky.

I am finding that both formulations leave a substantial bit of residue or "coating" on the skin...which will then ball up if you scratch or rub your skin after applying. It's not a huge deal, but still a drawback for me. I like the format and the scents of these lotions but do not plan to repurchase except as an occasional treat.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 speakeasiez on 12/17/2011 1:53:00 PM more reviews by speakeasiez

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

Since I'm constantly around young children (I'm a preschool teacher), I wash my hands constantly with soap and hand sanitizer. That, mixed with the cold, dry weather has been making my skin crack and ache. I have had quite a few friends recommend this product to me, and since I've always loved the Gold Bond Ultimate line, there was no second thought about hitting up Walgreens to buy it. I found it is a tad pricier than I'd expected, but after using the SilkSoftness (the pink bottle) and applying it all over, it was completely worth it! I have noticed the hair on my legs is growing less coarse and less often; thus, yields less shaving! When you have little time on your hands, every minute counts in the shower. Who wouldn't want to shave less? My hands also feel incredibly soft and smooth and stay that way overnight. Two thumbs up!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Tovah on 12/10/2011 10:55:00 PM more reviews by Tovah

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I didn't buy this because I wanted a moisturizer, I bought the "Pearlradiance" formula because I wanted something that would make my skin shimmer in candlelight. I love to use products with crushed pearls (even underarm deodorant) so I thought I'd give this a try. My skin gets sallow in the winter, and a little shimmer makes it look healthy again. As far as the "pearl radiance" goes, this is a dud. It has no shimmer, glow, reflection etc. However - this is a great moisturizer! It's creamy, but light. It's not greasy at all, or sticky. I usually avoid lotions and creams on my body because I don't like to feel gooey, but this one leaves only a slight filmy feeling, and it does make my skin feel softer. I could do without the fragrance, because it's strong enough to compete with my perfumes. It has a powdery citusy tea scent that's calming and pleasant, but, except for perfume, I'm an unscented kind of gal. For softening skin, though, this is excellent. It's great on legs after shaving.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* missvox2 on 12/8/2011 10:26:00 PM more reviews by missvox2

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

I got the blue one which fragrance is more fresher and gives a subtle pearly sheen. This lotion is decadent for a drugstore item. The scent is subtle enough that it won't bother sensitive skins. This is a very rich buttery and emollient foaming cream. It has urea, shea, glycerin, tropical ceramides a bunch of natural good stuff, Its not paraben free though. The dispenser is sort of a pain as you cannot control if you want a tiny amount. It does have silicone up on the ingredients list so it will leave you slippery and dissipates after a 15 minutes. I like to use it on my feet and put on some cotton socks overnight and wake up with the softest skin ever. Its totally worth the price.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Stephsayss0 on 10/19/2011 12:44:00 PM more reviews by Stephsayss0

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I used the version with the pink ribbons after smelling the tester. Smell is amazing! Left my skin feeling very smooth, almost powdery. Rather pricy for a drug store lotion, but worth it. I'm not sue how i feel on the aerosol can, hard to control, but nice once you get the hang of it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Gold Bond products

More Lotions/ Creams products