100 Percent Pure Pure Argan Hydration Moisturizer SPF 30

3.8

13 reviews

69% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$$

Not tested on animals

INGREDIENTS

Active Ingredients: 20 Zinc Oxide;Inactive Ingredients: Aloe Barbadensis (Organic Aloe Juice) Leaf Extract*, Argania Spinosa (Organic Argan) Kernel Oil*, Rosa Canina Seed Extract (Rosehip Oil), Tocopherol (Vitamin E), Extracts of Euphorbia Cerifera Cera (Candelilla) Wax, Camellia Sinensis (Organic Green Tea) Leaf*, Rosmarinus Officinalis (Rosemary) Leaf, Origanum Vulgar (Oregano), Thymus Vulgaris (Thyme), Hydrastis Canadensis (Goldenseal), Lonicera Caprifolium Flower and Lonicera Japonica (Honeysuckle) Flower and Cinnamomum Zeylanicum Bark (Cinnamon) * Certified Organic


on 6/27/2015 3:04:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've only been using this product for a week but so far I haven't had any problems. I think I am using the most recently updated version that comes in a plastic tube, not a pump.

I was having a really difficult time finding a mineral sunscreen without silicones and any coconut oil products. This brand seems to be the only one that offers such a sunscreen. I don't find the product to be that thick compared to some other sunscreens I've tried. BUT, I do find that it very white and you really have to rub it in. After rubbing it in, I see a barely noticeable white cast on my face and eventually the product absorbs and it disappears. I tried the other spf products that 100% pure offers on my hand at the store and felt like this one was the least white.

I put this on top of my a.m. moisturizer and although I don't find it greasy, I do feel it is a bit heavy and that my skin definitely feels more moisturized. It isn't enough that it bothers me or that I've tried skipping my usual moisturizer to use this as my only a.m. moisturizer.

The only thing I find annoying is that the plastic screw top cap isn't connected to the bottle. So you have to turn the cap and then it comes off completely in your hand. It is a bit annoying to have to take the extra step to place it on the counter or the extra effort to hold it in my hand. Picky, I know! But, I don't think I have any other products that I use daily that have a cap that comes off fully.
-----------------------
Update 6/27/15: I tried using this as my sole facial moisturizer this morning. When I put it on, my face looked like super white like a hockey mask and there was no rubbing it in to make the whiteness go away. So I waited like 1 minute and it absorbed and the whiteness went away.

The other thing I noticed is that it did ball up a little on my face. Not that bad though. I wiped it away with a tissue and didn't feel like all the moisturizer was gone and I needed to re-apply. I just find it weird that when I put this on top of my normal moisturizer I don't have any of these problems..

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 5/20/2014 3:01:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

i have mixed feelings on this product, which i recently tried for the first time. from what i've read online, the old formulation in the glass bottle was better, but i haven't tried that, so i can't say. what i can say is, i was thrilled to find a high spf moisturizer with argan oil that is cruelty free. that is the good part about this moisturizer.

however, there are a few bad things. the most frustrating thing is the pump. it will either not work at all or it will work at first, then stop working, OR it will pump out a tiny bit but not enough. i usually have to either open it or shake it down and keep pumping until it finally comes out. i think they need a much better tube/pump design.

the product itself is pretty good, it moisturizes well, but it goes on thick and white and sort of makes my eyebrows look weird. luckily i have to pencil in my eyebrows because i dye my hair, but if i didn't, i'd have to be careful to steer clear of them with this. it's not absolutely horrible, but it could be better, especially if they went back to the old design or changed the design of the pump/bottle.


on 5/26/2013 3:06:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

The new plastic packaging is a little weird. The pump will release more product as it goes back up to normal position so you need to pump less than u want then catch the extra. Owise it's more manageable than a lot of other pumps out there.

Favorite daily sunscreen so far. My skin tends toward dry and I use lots of treatments and a light moisturizer with much less SPF so this goes only around eyes and rosacea areas, unless ill be outdoors all day (then I skip the other moisturizer and use this all over). It's hydrating but not greasy at all. Must apply it in smallish sections quickly or skin absorbs the moisture and it gets dry and harder to spread. It soaks in very well and leaves no residue at all.
Yes there's a white cast for a few minutes but really is gone after 5 or so.

Mineral powder goes on fine after a minute. I'm not sure yet about the effectiveness of the SPF. I'll see after a day outdoors tomorrow. I'd been using other ss as backup thru winter skiing.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 2/20/2013 6:41:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Green

There is a lovely, soft texture to this lotion. It goes on white but disappears after a little while. I love that there's no scent. My face is not oily or shiny at all. Overall, it's functional because it's so healthy and safe for your skin and it's cosmetically elegant.

$26 for 1.6 ounces is a bit pricey, but it's worth it because this product delivers in both the moisturizing and sunscreen department.

What i don't like the the tube pump. The picture is that of a bottle pump, which I would prefer.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/24/2012 6:43:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love!!! I have oily acne-prone skin and it helps my skin stay matte without irritating it. My face looks brighter and more alert compared to when I had none on. The bottle was a bit annoying towards the end. The dispenser stopped working so I had to open the bottle and pour it out.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/11/2012 12:22:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Black

I contacted100% Pure to ask if they use NANO particles in their SPF products, and they said they NEVER use them.

It's pretty remarkable that this product doesn't turn your face white, despite being completely NANO-free.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 1/6/2012 2:32:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I keep forgetting to review this moisturized. Used it this summer and I still have 1/4 left. Towards the end of summer, I forced my boyfriend to used it up but he said it doesn't work. Truly, I don't like it too much either. Aside from it feeling nice on my skin, the SPF doesn't really work. The argan content must be quite low as most high potency argan products are very moisturizing. Not this one, it feels watered down. 100% Pure cheaps out again.


on 9/28/2011 5:53:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Black

I'm giving this only 4 because of the nano thing (tho' I think nano zinc oxide is supposed to be relatively OK)--otherwise, I love this as a sunscreen for the face. Unlike other reviewers here, I find it isn't greasy as compared to most other sunscreens out there, and I can say this having used it in the humid tropics all summer! In fact, I found on the days I used it on its own without some light moisturizer underneath my skin felt a little on the dry side. Will definitely buy again.


on 9/13/2011 7:07:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought the Argan Oil moisturizer about 2 months ago to compare to the 100% Pure Pomegranate moisturizer (SPF 20), which I had been using for over a year. The additional SPF is a definite plus and I feel that the argan oil seems to be more moisturizing. I use it under the 100% Pure Healthy Skin liquid foundation and they work well together.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 8/27/2011 6:27:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I actually loved this moisturizer! It was very light and I used 1 up for the summer and enjoyed the quality on my skin. A bit on the oily side, but I liked it as it is based on pure argan with the SPF. But I do think they uses nano particles which aren't natural. Nonetheless I think I'm going to buy this again next summer!


Back to Top