L'Oreal • Feria in Violet Soft Black • Hair Color

rated 1.7(27 reviews)

Average Rating.1.7
Would buy this product again.22%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 KiaC on 2/18/2014 12:19:00 PM more reviews by KiaC

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Terrible!! I had pretty much virgin hair, that is a medium brown with red undertones, since I'd cut most of the hair off that had been colored. I wanted black hair with purple tone. I ended up with dull burgundy and not pretty at all. I was so disappointed. I know not all colors are going to end up exactly like the color on the model on the box but this wasn't even anywhere near what the model's hair is. I have no idea what color they used on her because I don't believe that it was this. I went back to the store and bought a blue black to cover it up because I didn't know what else to do and I really needed to get rid of the warm red. Save your money. You'd be better off dying your hair soft black and then using a demi permanent purple over it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 ambrose16 on 1/14/2014 9:48:00 PM more reviews by ambrose16

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have a medium to dark shade of brown hair and I have been wanting to add a purple tint to it. I went and bought this product today. While doing exactly how the instructions said, I noticed my roots were getting a lot lighter (more of a red tone) and it seemed the rest of my hair didn't budge in colour. When it was time to wash it out, and I blowed dried my hair, it in fact did ONLY dye my roots. The rest of my hair stayed the exact same colour it was prior to dyeing it. Not even to a colour it showed on the box. So disappointed.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 melissambehm on 10/25/2013 7:59:00 PM more reviews by melissambehm

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Well, let me start by saying thanks to everyone who reviewed this product. I never even thought to look at reviews for the specific color before trying one out. I bought this color as I wanted to try a softer version of black since I've never gone that dark. I've died my hair a couple different reds so luckily after I applied I noticed the color was looking super red. Even more so than dyes I've used to go red, so I knew something was up. I searched for black dye turning hair red and found these reviews. I was only halfway through the development time, and after reading the reviews saying hair turned magenta at the roots (exactly what was happening on my head) I decided to wash out right away. My roots are still light red and lighter than the rest of my hair, but I think the damage would have been much worse if I hadn't rinsed out early. So grateful I came across this. DO NOT TRY THIS PRODUCT! I'm heading back to the store to try something different, and I will definitely be reaching out for a refund.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* leoisillon on 10/20/2013 9:47:00 AM more reviews by leoisillon

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

I have very dark brown hair that looks like it's almost black. I normally don't buy black hair dyes as it can look too stark. I usually will buy dark brown. Like everyone else I was intrigued by the promise of having violet tones in my hair. I wasn't expecting to change hair colors as virtually nothing but bleach penetrates the darkness of my hair. This worked as I expected. The overall color of my hair didn't change, but you can see red tones in it. Almost like highlights. I'm pretty happy with it. I wish it was more of a burgundy color, though. This turned out candy apple red. Oh well. I liked the conditioner it came with and they included a set of gloves as well.

Edit: Okay so I was wrong. Instead of highlights after a couple of days I noticed the top of my head was had a noticeable red color. I think the color must have been most concentrated there and it penetrated through my dark brown hair. It's not a cute look. It's not horrible, but I went to the drugstore to buy a different dye to go over this. I'm disappointed because I do better with the Revlon brand, which is less expensive than L'Oreal and deliver much better results.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 linerfreakxx7 on 9/17/2013 6:41:00 PM more reviews by linerfreakxx7

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this last night because the color looked really pretty! Black hair dye fades out fast if you're hair is not that color naturally, so I wanted violet tones to prolong the black, however I read online before using it that hair looks nowhere near black when you use it. Some people said that their hair turned brown, cherry, chocolate cherry, or even bright purple. Oh God, I was pleading that I would not get purple! I can't face my parents like that and college starts next week!!
So I tried it out anyway this morning against my better judgement. As soon as I mixed the color, the color turned bright reddish pink. On my skin, it turned a vibrant purple and the dye on top of my scalp looked pink. Within twenty minutes, my hair started to turn red. OMG. At least it wasn't purple. L'Oreal, you are really lucky that before I bought this dye, I was deciding between red and black. I don't mind my hair being red because I liked being a red head (when I was 16!!!) but seriously, why is your black hair dye red?? My hair is so much lighter than before and now my hair is as red as it's ever been. It's more red than when I actually used red hair dye!
I guess I'm really fortunate that I can handle red hair...but c'mon....I really wanted black hair.

Moral of the story:
Listen to the reviews online. One girl tried it and her hair is completely cherry. Do not use unless you want your hair burgundy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 shinka on 4/20/2013 12:16:00 PM more reviews by shinka

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

I used this dye in 2007, I can't remember what my hair color was pre-dye but I know my hair wasn't virgin. I ended up with the EXACT color on the box, maybe even darker, I was upset no one could see the purple tint but people could in sunlight. Dyed it again in 2009 and again got the exact color on the box.

Last week I decided to go back to this color and was horribly disappointed - it turned out just as everyone is describing, a deep maroon or reddish magenta, in my case very bright. Most of my hair was virgin after growing out a half shaved head, so I expected the same color I got years ago. I have to chalk this up to Loreal changing the dye formula maybe between 2009 and now. Will not try to redye with this color after reading everyone elses reviews. I thought I had just bought a bad batch at my store but now I know the problem is more widespread.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 LexiJay on 4/8/2013 9:49:00 PM more reviews by LexiJay

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I started out with a dark red-ish brown. I wanted a violet black color and thought it would work out. My hair did turn black but it had no hints of any purple, blue, or even red tints in it. It made my hair dull, and very dry. I will never go with this dye again. I later tried olia hair color. It was amazing. Word of advise.. SKIP IT. not worth it at all. Waste of 18 dollars (I had to buy two boxes because my hair is so long).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Stephanie2014 on 1/7/2013 2:51:00 AM more reviews by Stephanie2014

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Other, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Other    

Gonna keep this short. I've been dying my hair black for the past six months. My roots had grown out and I wanted to try something new. The box showed that It would turn out the same on my roots and my black hair. It did not, but I'm still pleased. The black did not change at all, I think this is for naturally dark brown hair. It turned my roots BRIGHT RED/PURPLE. I happen to love it, but it is not at all like it shows on the box. I plan to lighten my hair back to its natural color and go for an all over dramatic red/purple. But it is DEFINITELY not the color on the box.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Misshepburn15 on 1/2/2013 8:28:00 PM more reviews by Misshepburn15

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I was skeptical when I first read the reviews for this product, but I noticed a pattern: those who have hair that is any lighter than dark dark brown will get very apple red highlights. But! Me having dark dark brown hair, love the results. HOWEVER, the color is definitely not the same as the picture on the box..so don't buy this if you want the color on the box. I would say that the base color is a dark dark brown(I guess it's soft black) but the tint is more of a reddish purple, not a violet/blue that I was expecting.. So, if you are very dark haired and want a little mahogany in your locks then this is for you... Don't buy if you have light hair!!! Shame on L'Oreal for being misleading, but I still give them credit , because its a beautiful color. My only other complaint is that the directions tell you to shake the developer bottle with the flat cap, but it doesn't fit. I used the closed applicator tip to shake it and it worked just as well.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 alf8312 on 11/27/2012 6:16:00 PM more reviews by alf8312

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

There's been alot of bad reviews about this, but it turned out very good on me....I started with brownish reddish hair and I've washed it twice already and it's still dark and there's a purplish reddish tint to it especially in the sun...I love it..now just to see if it fades like all the other Loreal products...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More L'Oreal products

More Hair Color products