L'Oreal • Feria in Violet Soft Black • Hair Color

rated 1.9(32 reviews)

Average Rating.1.9
Would buy this product again.28%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 katly3877 on 10/20/2014 9:42:00 AM more reviews by katly3877

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

TERRIBLE!!! Extremely powerful smell. My hair is dark brown, but instead of "soft black" this stuff actually lightened it 2 or 3 levels. It was a strange red color with the 5 inches closest to my scalp a different color from the bottom half. My hair was lovely I just wanted to try the color out for fun. I've now had to color over it and I just frown when I walk by a mirror.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 JenSS2485 on 9/24/2014 8:40:00 PM more reviews by JenSS2485

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I read the comments on this hair color after already purchasing, so I got brave and decided to try it although most advised against it. One change in applying was that I put the color an inch from the roots down for the first 20 minutes, then applied to my roots for only the last 10 minutes. It came out great! I was nervous and checked the color every 3 minutes, but the 20 minutes on the ends and then the 10 minutes allover was perfect. Should I have to take matters into my own hands? No, the color should work just fine when applied as directed, but whatever. PROS: Great results when applied as I said above. Really soft hair after coloring. Minimal skin dying. CONS: Complicated application needed. Very heavy chemical smell, even worse than usual dyes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 StormyKnight on 8/26/2014 1:01:00 PM more reviews by StormyKnight

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I used this stuff and it only stayed in for about two weeks. Fades quickly. Would not use again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 miimosa on 8/20/2014 1:26:00 AM more reviews by miimosa

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Other, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have very thick, dark brown/almost black hair. With virgin hair all my life, I decided it was time to change it up. After wanting a color with a subtle undertone, i landed on this dye. I knew not to get my hopes up on box dyes, but i was pleasantly surprised with the outcome of this product. As many said, there's really no "violet" tone to it, it's more of a burgundy color. I'm completely fine with this, and I actually like the color moreso than what's on the box. The color is slightly more noticeable on my roots, but my hair is thinner there so I'm not surprised. When I'm in sunlight, it's all the same color. I was really afraid it'd dry out my hair, but this along with my normal hair routine kept it soft. will definitely dye my hair with this again

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 JenLeFriend on 5/21/2014 12:23:00 PM more reviews by JenLeFriend

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I have been using this dye for the last six months or more. I did not receive the exact color on the box, but I am pleased with, even expected, the result. All colors turn out a little differently on my hair, and I have never been sure why. But this resulted in a very dark burgundy that works very well with my skin tone. Never received this many compliments on my hair. Even when dyeing my roots, I have never experienced the lighter red shades that some users are saying. (I chalk that up to dyes acting so differently with my hair.) And I absolutely adore the conditioner these come with now, the Power Shimmer Conditioner. I wish I could buy it by the bottle, because it makes my hair softer than when I get my hair done professionally. I will continue to buy this until I change my mind about my hair color again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 KiaC on 2/18/2014 12:19:00 PM more reviews by KiaC

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Terrible!! I had pretty much virgin hair, that is a medium brown with red undertones, since I'd cut most of the hair off that had been colored. I wanted black hair with purple tone. I ended up with dull burgundy and not pretty at all. I was so disappointed. I know not all colors are going to end up exactly like the color on the model on the box but this wasn't even anywhere near what the model's hair is. I have no idea what color they used on her because I don't believe that it was this. I went back to the store and bought a blue black to cover it up because I didn't know what else to do and I really needed to get rid of the warm red. Save your money. You'd be better off dying your hair soft black and then using a demi permanent purple over it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 ambrose16 on 1/14/2014 9:48:00 PM more reviews by ambrose16

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have a medium to dark shade of brown hair and I have been wanting to add a purple tint to it. I went and bought this product today. While doing exactly how the instructions said, I noticed my roots were getting a lot lighter (more of a red tone) and it seemed the rest of my hair didn't budge in colour. When it was time to wash it out, and I blowed dried my hair, it in fact did ONLY dye my roots. The rest of my hair stayed the exact same colour it was prior to dyeing it. Not even to a colour it showed on the box. So disappointed.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 melissambehm on 10/25/2013 7:59:00 PM more reviews by melissambehm

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Well, let me start by saying thanks to everyone who reviewed this product. I never even thought to look at reviews for the specific color before trying one out. I bought this color as I wanted to try a softer version of black since I've never gone that dark. I've died my hair a couple different reds so luckily after I applied I noticed the color was looking super red. Even more so than dyes I've used to go red, so I knew something was up. I searched for black dye turning hair red and found these reviews. I was only halfway through the development time, and after reading the reviews saying hair turned magenta at the roots (exactly what was happening on my head) I decided to wash out right away. My roots are still light red and lighter than the rest of my hair, but I think the damage would have been much worse if I hadn't rinsed out early. So grateful I came across this. DO NOT TRY THIS PRODUCT! I'm heading back to the store to try something different, and I will definitely be reaching out for a refund.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* leoisillon on 10/20/2013 9:47:00 AM more reviews by leoisillon

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

I have very dark brown hair that looks like it's almost black. I normally don't buy black hair dyes as it can look too stark. I usually will buy dark brown. Like everyone else I was intrigued by the promise of having violet tones in my hair. I wasn't expecting to change hair colors as virtually nothing but bleach penetrates the darkness of my hair. This worked as I expected. The overall color of my hair didn't change, but you can see red tones in it. Almost like highlights. I'm pretty happy with it. I wish it was more of a burgundy color, though. This turned out candy apple red. Oh well. I liked the conditioner it came with and they included a set of gloves as well.

Edit: Okay so I was wrong. Instead of highlights after a couple of days I noticed the top of my head was had a noticeable red color. I think the color must have been most concentrated there and it penetrated through my dark brown hair. It's not a cute look. It's not horrible, but I went to the drugstore to buy a different dye to go over this. I'm disappointed because I do better with the Revlon brand, which is less expensive than L'Oreal and deliver much better results.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 linerfreakxx7 on 9/17/2013 6:41:00 PM more reviews by linerfreakxx7

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this last night because the color looked really pretty! Black hair dye fades out fast if you're hair is not that color naturally, so I wanted violet tones to prolong the black, however I read online before using it that hair looks nowhere near black when you use it. Some people said that their hair turned brown, cherry, chocolate cherry, or even bright purple. Oh God, I was pleading that I would not get purple! I can't face my parents like that and college starts next week!!
So I tried it out anyway this morning against my better judgement. As soon as I mixed the color, the color turned bright reddish pink. On my skin, it turned a vibrant purple and the dye on top of my scalp looked pink. Within twenty minutes, my hair started to turn red. OMG. At least it wasn't purple. L'Oreal, you are really lucky that before I bought this dye, I was deciding between red and black. I don't mind my hair being red because I liked being a red head (when I was 16!!!) but seriously, why is your black hair dye red?? My hair is so much lighter than before and now my hair is as red as it's ever been. It's more red than when I actually used red hair dye!
I guess I'm really fortunate that I can handle red hair...but c'mon....I really wanted black hair.

Moral of the story:
Listen to the reviews online. One girl tried it and her hair is completely cherry. Do not use unless you want your hair burgundy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More L'Oreal products

More Hair Color products