Butter London • Victoriana • Polishes

rated 4.6(11 reviews)

Average Rating.4.6
Would buy this product again.90%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ekym on 8/24/2014 3:18:00 AM more reviews by ekym

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this on a whim when it was on sale. I would call this color a slightly muted/dusty turquoise with a hefty amount of silver shimmer. It actually reminds me of silver-flecked turquoise jewelry that I bought as a kid on vacation in Montana. Itís a very flattering color and two coats was enough for opaque, even coverage. Butter London has a great formula that isnít streaky and richly pigmented. The down side to this was that it starting chipping after two days (I know that shimmers chip faster than cream polishes, but two days is too soon). Still, I like this color I would buy this again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 WoodsCommaElle on 8/21/2014 10:06:00 AM more reviews by WoodsCommaElle

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Victoriana was the first Butter London polish I ever tried and it's my hands-down favorite. In fact, it's one of my favorite polishes out of all the ones I own. Now that summer is winding down I'm looking forward to breaking it out again, because this muted teal blue is perfect for those in-between fall days. The color itself was what drove me to purchase it in the first place--it's a breathtaking dusty blue-green (but mostly blue) shot through with silver, and it's perfect for when you want a little bit of shimmer but not a full-on glitter bomb. Don't get me wrong, I love my glitter, but hey, sometimes the situation calls for something a little more subdued. Even so, you can still sparkle a little, and Victoriana will show you how. This shade is so elegant and yet comforting for me--the kitchen in my grandmother's Victorian house was painted a similar blue. It calls to mind rich velvet drapes and brocade upholstery, but it isn't over the top. I love the formula here--it's very easy to apply and gives good coverage with one coat, although I always do two to get the full effect. Gloopy nail polishes are not my thing and this goes on like a dream (or, should I say, like "Butter," ha). The packaging is nice and clean with my only complaint being that the teeny brush handle can be a bit awkward before you get used to it. I'm not in the habit of spending $14 on a single bottle of nail polish--once the price gets into the double digits you can usually count me out--but in this case I will always make an exception.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 chiara11 on 3/9/2013 10:28:00 AM more reviews by chiara11

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Fancy colour, between dusty vintage blue and hints of emerald & turquoise, good opacity & smooth application. More for darker, tanned skin tones (e.g. Asian), did not match my European bright to medium skintone.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ammasprajna on 1/12/2013 7:58:00 PM more reviews by ammasprajna

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Wow. This is it. My HG nail polish. I never imagined I would love a polish SO much, but I can actually see myself coming back to this color again and again. It reminds me of faded velvet, Marie Antoinette, stately old libraries, handwritten postcards, baroque harpsichord music, afternoon tea, embroidery, and dewy spring walks in the garden. I'm in love.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 JanaFae on 7/8/2012 5:59:00 PM more reviews by JanaFae

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Oh man. This had been the color I was most driven to purchase when I discovered Butter London and I wasn't the slightest bit disappointed. One coat alone was opaque and lovely, but I added a second just out of habit. After the second had dried, I did notice that the color was a tad darker than I had anticipated it to be based on swatches, but still stunningly unique and lovely. The silver glitter shot through this vintage-y teal made the color really pop and shine, and my old-fashioned dad never said anything about me wearing "weird" nail polish like he has with some of my other turquoise or teal polishes in the past.

Two thumbs up, and I am DEFINITELY recommending this to my friends

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 clandis on 1/29/2012 1:12:00 PM more reviews by clandis

Age: 44-55   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Beautiful teal. I put it on, then noticed it matched my purse.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LolaRoxie on 12/28/2011 7:09:00 PM more reviews by LolaRoxie

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Silver, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Violet    

This is gorgeous! I totally recommend it, because what you see in the bottle is what you get! I recommend for fair to medium skin tones. It looks great on my fair-light skin.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* RachaelSpiffy on 11/1/2011 1:21:00 AM more reviews by RachaelSpiffy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This is a muted blue with a bunch of silver shimmer. This was almost opaque in 1 coat but needed 2. This is just a gorgeous blue in general.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 minyuette on 8/27/2011 4:08:00 AM more reviews by minyuette

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Deep teal with a dense silver micro glitter that went on perfectly in one coat for me. I thought "this is like frosting on a cupcake" when I first put it on. Gorgeous! It's a deep color and not overly in-your-face so it's wearable to work.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pinkfrost52 on 7/8/2011 4:35:00 AM more reviews by pinkfrost52

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I am in love with this colour. What you see in the bottle is what you get on your nails - a gorgeous teal with dense holographic silver shimmer. Like the other polish I have tried from Butter London, it is very opaque and coverage is fantastic. I used two coats, but you could pass with one. Quite expensive for a nail polish, but gorgeous against my medium skin-tone especially since I don't tend to wear many blue shades. Wears well too without top-coat.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Butter London products

More Polishes products