Butter London Victoriana

4.6

11 reviews

90% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 8/24/2014 3:18:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I bought this on a whim when it was on sale. I would call this color a slightly muted/dusty turquoise with a hefty amount of silver shimmer. It actually reminds me of silver-flecked turquoise jewelry that I bought as a kid on vacation in Montana. Itís a very flattering color and two coats was enough for opaque, even coverage. Butter London has a great formula that isnít streaky and richly pigmented. The down side to this was that it starting chipping after two days (I know that shimmers chip faster than cream polishes, but two days is too soon). Still, I like this color I would buy this again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Victoriana was the first Butter London polish I ever tried and it's my hands-down favorite. In fact, it's one of my favorite polishes out of all the ones I own. Now that summer is winding down I'm looking forward to breaking it out again, because this muted teal blue is perfect for those in-between fall days. The color itself was what drove me to purchase it in the first place--it's a breathtaking dusty blue-green (but mostly blue) shot through with silver, and it's perfect for when you want a little bit of shimmer but not a full-on glitter bomb. Don't get me wrong, I love my glitter, but hey, sometimes the situation calls for something a little more subdued. Even so, you can still sparkle a little, and Victoriana will show you how. This shade is so elegant and yet comforting for me--the kitchen in my grandmother's Victorian house was painted a similar blue. It calls to mind rich velvet drapes and brocade upholstery, but it isn't over the top. I love the formula here--it's very easy to apply and gives good coverage with one coat, although I always do two to get the full effect. Gloopy nail polishes are not my thing and this goes on like a dream (or, should I say, like "Butter," ha). The packaging is nice and clean with my only complaint being that the teeny brush handle can be a bit awkward before you get used to it. I'm not in the habit of spending $14 on a single bottle of nail polish--once the price gets into the double digits you can usually count me out--but in this case I will always make an exception.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 3/9/2013 10:28:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Fancy colour, between dusty vintage blue and hints of emerald & turquoise, good opacity & smooth application. More for darker, tanned skin tones (e.g. Asian), did not match my European bright to medium skintone.


on 1/12/2013 7:58:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Wow. This is it. My HG nail polish. I never imagined I would love a polish SO much, but I can actually see myself coming back to this color again and again. It reminds me of faded velvet, Marie Antoinette, stately old libraries, handwritten postcards, baroque harpsichord music, afternoon tea, embroidery, and dewy spring walks in the garden. I'm in love.

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.


on 7/8/2012 5:59:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Oh man. This had been the color I was most driven to purchase when I discovered Butter London and I wasn't the slightest bit disappointed. One coat alone was opaque and lovely, but I added a second just out of habit. After the second had dried, I did notice that the color was a tad darker than I had anticipated it to be based on swatches, but still stunningly unique and lovely. The silver glitter shot through this vintage-y teal made the color really pop and shine, and my old-fashioned dad never said anything about me wearing "weird" nail polish like he has with some of my other turquoise or teal polishes in the past.

Two thumbs up, and I am DEFINITELY recommending this to my friends

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 1/29/2012 1:12:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Beautiful teal. I put it on, then noticed it matched my purse.


on 12/28/2011 7:09:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Silver, Kinky, Coarse

Eyes: Violet

This is gorgeous! I totally recommend it, because what you see in the bottle is what you get! I recommend for fair to medium skin tones. It looks great on my fair-light skin.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This is a muted blue with a bunch of silver shimmer. This was almost opaque in 1 coat but needed 2. This is just a gorgeous blue in general.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 8/27/2011 4:08:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Deep teal with a dense silver micro glitter that went on perfectly in one coat for me. I thought "this is like frosting on a cupcake" when I first put it on. Gorgeous! It's a deep color and not overly in-your-face so it's wearable to work.


on 7/8/2011 4:35:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I am in love with this colour. What you see in the bottle is what you get on your nails - a gorgeous teal with dense holographic silver shimmer. Like the other polish I have tried from Butter London, it is very opaque and coverage is fantastic. I used two coats, but you could pass with one. Quite expensive for a nail polish, but gorgeous against my medium skin-tone especially since I don't tend to wear many blue shades. Wears well too without top-coat.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Popular Polishes


Miracle Gel
Miracle Gel
150 Reviews
Ballet Slippers
Ballet Slippers
347 Reviews
Bubble Bath
Bubble Bath
360 Reviews


Top Rated Butter London Products

image

Yummy Mummy

58 reviews
Back to Top