Guerlain • Terracotta Healthy Glow Foundation - Second Skin Effect • Bronzers

rated 4.4(16 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Indigomama on 5/21/2014 3:19:00 AM more reviews by Indigomama

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I have it in all three shades: 00 Nude, 01 Blondes and 02 brunettes and they all come in handy. I am 42, brunette but with sort of pale skin, which is usually the lightest or the second lightest in every range + pink undertones. So, I tan easily enough into a greyish brown shaded tan but stay away from the sun as much as I can and always wear SPF50+++ UVA/UVB in summer. However, sunkissed hue make people younger, and this summer I totally go for it. Terracotta Healthy Glow Foundation is a slippery siliconey dense foam-like (if that makes sense) substance which glides easily on my Dior Bronze SPF50 stuff and sets like a mattifying powder. It dries perfectly, you may even omit setting powder/veil on top but of course you can use a bronzer straight away to increase the effect, you don't need to powder before and it won't go patchy. It is so blendable that pale people like me can use the whole line through without looking fake (no brick or yellow scare), just choose an amount of tan you like to display. 00 is good for a little more lively complexion in winter, 01 would suit me in Spring-Autumn whereas 02 is great for summer and for contouring (it makes a lovely creamy blush too). Don't believe people who say it delivers coverage: it doesn't, but it slips on so lovely nobody could tell it is there. Plus it perfectly blurs pores and fine lines. A total winner for those who value weightless and purely natural effect. Don't wear it without sunscreen, it has none to it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 CharlieThoughts on 1/31/2014 10:01:00 PM more reviews by CharlieThoughts

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

An impulse buy from Sephora.

Packaging: Matte smooth light reflecting squeeze tube. Standard screw top cap. Signature Guerlain vibe, Portable, mess free. Demure yet quality packaging. Substantially different than drugstore foundation packaging.

Scent: Standard cloying Guerlain foundation artificial fragrance. Floral/baby powder scent. Dissipates a few minutes after application.

Texture: Akin to Tarte BB tinted primer. Distinctly silicone-like. Appears to slightly warm when massaged into skin. Mousse like, frothy texture. Leaves no creamy residue on blending hand. Finely pigmented. Slippery sliding feeling upon application due o high concentrations of silicones.

Colour: Shade 01 blondes: Brown. Distinctly brown. Pink undertone.

Finish: Renders pores invisible. Effortlessly smoothes over skin. Occasionally highlights dry patches. Foundation tested over the period of one month in January in Southern Ontario weather. Feels velvety. Lightweight feeling on skin, with half a pea sized amount applied. Semi matte finish that is ever so slightly luminous. Does not "sculpt" facial contours the way a high coverage foundation would.

Notes: Texture will be loathed by those who dislike silicone feeling. Imagine rubbing hair serum between hands. This is why product feels like when massaged in face. Ridiculously expensive yet lasts a long time due to small amount needed. Offers a sheer veil of tanned colour, will darken skin tone by half a shade. No makeup makeup effect. Virtually undetectable when applied on freshly moisturized balanced skin. Blurs imperfections in photos like most primers do. May increase redness due to pink undertone. Should be marketed as a tinted silicone based primer.

Perfect for those seeking a slightly tanned effect with larger pores. Ideal for those who can tolerate distinct silicone feeling and pervasive scent.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TBonita on 7/23/2013 11:18:00 AM more reviews by TBonita

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Perfect summer daytime foundation! It almost has like a per-fekt texture but has coverage. Sheer, but coverage nonetheless. Enough for me as I just have some ruddy spots. I use meteorites primer, this, terracotta bronzer and a dot of blush and lookike a bronzed goddess. Oh and I use guerlain version of touché éclat for extra cover and highlight. I am rose clair 12 in their foundations, about a nw 20, and although I'm brunette im pale and got blondes. Lasted through sweat and rain!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 kcj1314 on 6/2/2012 12:42:00 AM more reviews by kcj1314

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This made me break out like mad crazy. It is one of those products that gave me skin issues for a week. it is full of silicone so I should have known better! My skin always freaks out with products full of cones.
Besides the horrible breakout, this is really just an expensive tm. Would not recommend this to anyone.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jstehr on 4/20/2012 12:37:00 PM more reviews by jstehr

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Grey    

I first received a sample of this from Sephora and loved it so much I had to buy it. I'm blonde, very fair, but I received the sample in 'brunettes' and I was quite happy with the results - but for the cost of buying it, I went with 'blondes'. I adore the texture of this product, it's like velvet. You don't need much of it either, especially if you are very fair (you don't want to look orange and fake). I just love the look of tanned, glowing skin. I love this product, the only thing I'm not a huge fan of is the big price tag but I would still buy it again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Karin1539 on 11/16/2011 12:33:00 PM more reviews by Karin1539

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I do like this product a lot but I find it a little too bronzy/rosy for my liking. I think I like my bronze more brown than terracotta. But great product that wears great.

april 2012~ this product has grown on me so much that I have repurchased I guess I had to get used to it but it is now a go-to. I've received many compliments when wearing it and definitely miss it on days I don't wear it..I catch glimpses of myself in the mirror and realize how blah I look without it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LollipopLovingXO on 11/7/2011 11:18:00 PM more reviews by LollipopLovingXO

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Tan, Warm   Hair: Blond, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I loved this until I realized I could get the same effect with a rich tan colored tinted moisturizer. Also I could find something with better ingredients that way. This is over priced honestly and I was so drawn to the old palm tree labeled bottle it had. I just love the look of tanned skin when it comes to makeup but hate powder bronzer. I would say sample this first and if you have sensitive skin be weary of its ingredients.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lazeny on 10/24/2011 7:51:00 AM more reviews by lazeny

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Black    

For reference I'm NC 30 w/ strong yellow-olive undertones.

I have this in both 01 Blondes and 02 Brunettes.

I love the consistency of the foundation, when I squeeze the product out it has some separate oil in it, then I simply mix the oil and cream and it becomes this beautiful heavenly creamy product that applies like a dream. Incredibly smooth.

I find that this gives me a beautiful tanned look, but this needs to be applied on ears as well as neck as to not have that weird tanned look w/ white parts peeking through.

This indeed give a beautiful glow without looking oily, it's sort of matte, but not really, just imparts a glow from within look. It also has some moisturizing properties so it's a plus, but for women w/ oily skin you need to be careful when considering this product.

As for the price. It is expensive, more expensive than some Chanel foundations but I got this both with 30% off in one of our local Guerlain sales, since I bought this after the summer season so they slashed the prices. So price is justified when I bought the 2 shades.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rickisyed on 10/23/2011 4:14:00 PM more reviews by rickisyed

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Oh man I tried a large sample of 02 brunettes sample and I am absolutely in love with this product. I have nc40 skintone and I finally found an allover bronzer/foundation that makes my skin divinely beautiful. My husband told me "hey supermodel" when we went out for dinner last night. This makeup looks highly natural, just like second skin. But what im worried about is I have oily acneic skin and I fear that it will break me out, its way too waxy.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 juliemitc on 8/12/2011 6:45:00 PM more reviews by juliemitc

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I had a tested of this product from Sephora, and then I purchased a full sized one. In the summer my problem is that while I use fake tan all over my body, my face never stays tan. Plus even with a self-tanner, my pigmented cheeks still show through the self-tan. This product really helps to even the pigmentation in my face. I am blonde, but my sample was in the 02 brunette, but when I applied it with a light hand or mixed with my foundation, it matches my (fake) tanned skinned nicely. I buff it into my skin with either a kabuki or stippling brush, all over my face and my neck so it all matches. I also use it alone for contouring.

I have worn it work (8 hours) and even with some minor sweating, it still stays put. I use tissue sheets to blot my face throughout the day and a little bit comes off, but not too much. You could probably set it with powder, but I don't because I like the finish. If you rub your face hard, then the product will come off. So I would not wear this with a white top or to a friend's who has a white couch, which is why I took off a star.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Guerlain products

More Bronzers products