Jane • eye zing in PLUM PERFECT • Eye Shadow

rated 4.1(18 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.72%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 kolwink on 9/27/2012 7:33:00 PM more reviews by kolwink

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

EDIT: This review is actually for Jane's Eye Zing in "In A Jam" shade. Sorry for the mixup! However, since there are no existing reviews for In A Jam, and I can't even find a picture on Google Images, I'll just keep this review under the "Plum Perfect" section, because I think the colors are similar.


Haha. Ok, full disclosure. I'm trying to write 20 reviews, so I can review an as-yet-unreviewed product and soothe my pent-up soul. (That's why I've written 10 product reviews in one day- making up time for the 7 years I've been on this site with exactly zero contributions.) Now, casting around in my limited beauty box, I remembered this product.


Oh, Jane. For many years - from the age of, like, 13 to 28 - this little pot of eye shadow was the ONLY one I owned. Yes, seriously. I had the one eye shadow, in plum, which I probably bought because some magazine said that girls with brown skin should wear plum-family shades. However, I did not - until this year - have primer, so the color would never last. Or it would migrate to my eyebrow, and that would just look odd. So I rarely used it- once a year, I'd get ambitious, smear some Vaseline on my lids, and then try to pat on some Jane shadow with a Q-tip.


Can you say "total novice"? That period only lasted, like, 15 years.


Anyway, I now own primer, and a variety (3!) of brushes which supposedly are all eye shadow specific. Re-energized, I am now taking another whack at the Jane eye zing. It is such a pretty matte plum color ... it makes my eyes look smoky and mysterious and dramatic. Thanks to MAC primer, the eye shadow stays put. I'm so glad that I'm finally learning to use this product to the best of its potential. (Also, yes, I'm like 7 years late with this review ... most of you other folks wrote back in 2004-5!)


Wait, do they even make this any more?

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* GlamDiva on 4/11/2012 3:35:00 PM more reviews by GlamDiva

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Other, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Plum Perfect is a matte grey-violet, fine quality. Very pretty on me and fills a gap in my collection.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pammo on 10/14/2005 2:38:00 AM more reviews by pammo

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Finally got this in a swap - the store was always out of this shade! It's a dusky purple color that has very nice pigmentation - can be easily applied sheerly or layered on. Love it!

EDIT 10/31/06: My HG eyeshadow =)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mrskish1014 on 2/11/2005 7:09:00 PM more reviews by mrskish1014

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

This is one of my favorite colors from jane. The soft purple brings out the gold flecks in my brown eyes. So sexy! This color also seems quite soft and easy to blend, unlike a few other colors by jane. This is a perfect matte though not dull. I would definitely repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 devil_in_a_red_dress on 2/11/2005 12:32:00 PM more reviews by devil_in_a_red_dress

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This shade is a dusty, purply color. It doesn't apply evenly on my lids at all, so I use it as a liner now, which it works well as, either dry or wet.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 digit on 10/10/2004 4:23:00 PM more reviews by digit

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This was an eyeshadow given to me as an extra in a swap- it's a great color! Good for dark brown eyes and as a wash for daytime in the fall, when you want some oomph but not too much. The "sorta" smokey eye, you know? It's great on its own with a dark brown eyeliner.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* blondeambitioned on 5/11/2004 7:19:00 AM more reviews by blondeambitioned

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I think this shade is really beautiful. It gives you a nice smoky eye without making you look dead. The purple in it brightens up the eye area and flatters your skintone. I didn't find that this went on sheer on me, I thought the pigmentation in this was good. Another 5 stars for Jane eye zings!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 kjv003 on 3/18/2004 9:45:00 PM more reviews by kjv003

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Great color, but doesn't go on so great. There are better shadows out there for just a few bucks more.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* JGardella on 11/27/2003 1:14:00 PM more reviews by JGardella

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a matte plummy brown shade that works best for me when used wet as a liner. It goes on a bit sheerer than it looks in the pot but not sheer enough for me to use it as a wash without it seeming too dark and harsh against my light skin.


This is a pretty basic shade that wears nicely and doesn't fade away on my lids.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MacQueen on 10/6/2003 11:09:00 AM more reviews by MacQueen

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

A beautiful smokey plum color similar color to Mac dovefeather in pot but much darker applied to eye. I 've used this color to re-create a Stila strawberry daiquiri eye.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Jane products

More Eye Shadow products