Maybelline • master drama eyeliner • Eyeliner

rated 3.5(209 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.61%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* valmont32677 on 7/26/2014 7:02:00 PM more reviews by valmont32677

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

I wish I could give this eyeliner a higher rating, lately Maybelline has been disappointing me w other products too, but anyways. I got this in black (Midnight Master), it held the promise of everything I wanted (waterproof, good price, good availability, twist up, black, opthamologist tested/sensitive eyes, etc), & it was a major let down! It smudges a ton on my oily lids & transfers all over the place. You cannot get a nice precise line, it's impossible to retract once you advance the lead, it's hard to even advance the lead anyways, & the quality is awful, I would rather use a WnW 99 cent Color Icon pencil w a sharpener & a cigarette lighter than this, it would have better staying power & I could buy 8 WnW pencils for this overpriced horrible liner!! I hate to give negative reviews, I really do, but I must be truthful. This is very similar to the Define-A-Line, or CG Perfect Point, those 2 are actually better than this I must amend. I am soooo disappointed! I have no use for something that makes me look like a panda after about 15 mins. I have tried to make this work!! I will def not be repurchasing this, nor could I recommend this to anybody unless you like the raccoon eyes effect. Sorry ladies!! ;/ Maybelline used to be a DS brand I could trust but lately like I mentioned a few other products have been major let downs too.. [i hate paying $20 for an eyeliner]....Maybelline has poorly executed their eyeliner pencils & they had such an opportunity to do better. Lotsa room for improvements here.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 AnnaVirk on 6/21/2014 10:00:00 PM more reviews by AnnaVirk

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I am absolutely obsessed with this eyeliner and its honestly so perfect for me! It's super creamy and easy to apply and its very true to its color. When applying this to my waterline, it barely smudges or runs throughout the day. The color does not fade at all during the day. The only thing I would say is that when applying to the top lid, you need to be super careful because since its very creamy, its easily smudged on your actual eyelid. But besides that I love the price, packaging, color and just the overall product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 drawingasquare on 5/26/2014 4:21:00 PM more reviews by drawingasquare

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I was on a quick drugstore run to pick up a few products before traveling, and I picked this eyeliner, knowing nothing about it. Looks like I should have checked out some reviews first!

To be fair, Master Drama isn't all bad. I picked it up in black, and I will say that the pigmentation is very good. It's very, very black. I'm also surprised by how creamy the liner is. I've noticed a couple of people had difficulty with this product skipping when applying, but I didn't encounter that. For me, it applied pretty smoothly.

Having said that, the biggest problem that I encountered was that it smudged and transferred noticeably. I would apply this liner and a few minutes later I could tell that it had rubbed off in the crease. It would also smudge around the corners of my eyes throughout the day, even over primer and even when I set it with a black eyeshadow. I was very surprised to see in some of the reviews that it stays on the waterline well for some people. It definitely didn't for me.

Lastly, the packaging is just as much of a pain as everyone here has said it is! It takes a LOT of twisting for the liner to appear, and it is not retractable. I thought mine was broken initially and was set on returning it. Hopefully I held onto the receipt, because I'll be doing that anyway.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Nancyplayfoot on 4/29/2014 12:08:00 AM more reviews by Nancyplayfoot

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This eyeliner sucks. I used it a total of 5 times and now it won't twist up. I won't buy it again. I only owned it for a week. I'm going to find the receipt and try and return it

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 JustCakey on 4/28/2014 10:47:00 PM more reviews by JustCakey

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I have bought this a few times, this stuff is pretty darn good. As a girl with a lot of eye lid I like a nice thick eyeliner and that is this. I also like that it's very black and creamy, it's easy to apply. This isn't the kind of eyeliner to wear if you like rubbing your eyes or have oily skin, I can see it easily smudging. I even get smudges sometimes in the inner corners and I'm very careful not to rub my eyes. If you don't rub the line though it stays put all day long. Just maybe a touch up mid day for the inner corners.
I did an entire eye lined look with a few times, it was very easy to achieve that goth/emo look if that's what you're into. Totally can be dramatic just like the label claims. I never tug my eyes with this stuff which makes me happy.
Overall I really like it and will keep on repurchasing, I always get midnight master.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 littlejbird on 4/13/2014 7:16:00 PM more reviews by littlejbird

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I'm going to be honest, I switch eyeliners ALOT, I try different kinds and decide which is my favorite, use that one then switch when its gone. I'm currently using this, and I really really like it. My eyes are a dark green around the edges and lighter green on the inside around the pupils. This shade is perfect for me, because its a dark purple with light shimmer, but not chunky glitter. The consistency is good too, I'm not a big fan of thick eyeliner, especially when drawn with pencils, so this is a really good consistency for a thin line on the outer 3/4 on the eye lid. One time I applied too thick of a line and tried to smudge it out because it was uneven, this think was not about to budge, so if you're into smudging out your eyeliner, this is not a good option for you! One thing I also noticed is that once in a blue moon will I wear eyeliner on my waterline, and this is definitely not the eyeliner to wear there haha. It loses pigment and fades off in a matter of minutes. But all in all this is a good product if you wear light eyeliner

*EDIT* I wanted to add, I have hooded eyes, and a lot of eyeliners transfer to my eyelids, this has yet to happen with this,

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jab2eb on 4/4/2014 3:49:00 PM more reviews by jab2eb

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is my absolute favorite eyeliner of all time! After a TERRIBLE experience with Maybelline's Define-a-Line eyeliner (which took me on a trip to smudge central), I was skeptical to try their other eyeliners. I'm so glad that I took a chance on this because it offered me all of the smoothness of the application of the Define-a-Line while lasting longer and not giving me the raccoon effect! The only thing I hate is that the Black color of this seems to be the first to go in the stores. It took me a month to find in Walmart because they were always out of stock! I guess I'm not the only one who loves this product! Definitely worth the try. Sells for a little of $6 in Walmart.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Loxxy on 3/24/2014 11:42:00 PM more reviews by Loxxy

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I read the other people's reviews, and I do have to say that the packaging of this is bad. It does swivel up however, just takes a while and a whole lot of twists. The actual product is amazing for me. I have it in Bold Brown, Purple Punch, and Stormy Navy. It glides right on and stays exactly where it is, with just a teeny bit of color fading after eight hours of me napping and rubbing my eyes. The shimmer in this is also appealing. This formula might not be for everyone, but it definitely works on my oily lids with no primer or anything else.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 brelig on 3/7/2014 10:33:00 AM more reviews by brelig

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This product was incredibly difficult to work with, and smudged constantly. It's so creamy that it is impossible to get a good line. It irritated my eyes and caused them to water up for hours after. By the end of a few hours, I looked like I'd been crying at a funeral. What a mess! I bought this because Emily Noel had been raving about it for years, but this formula just isn't right for me. I prefer a dryer liner that I can control better, and I don't need it to set if it went on properly to begin with. Oddly enough, it takes a massive amount of effort to actually remove the product thoroughly. So it is both impossible to get this stuff to stay where you put it, but refuses to go away when you're done with it. Great.

If you like very creamy liners, then maybe this would work for you. But really, I'd call this a pass.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Catlove on 3/3/2014 3:31:00 AM more reviews by Catlove

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I had to review this eyeliner for the simple fact that the review below mine. I thought it was that I received a defective liner but went and bought another and YET it still won't swivel up. SO UPSET, what a waste. I have it in bold brown and midnight master swivels right up. The actual product works well, nothing spectacular but okay. Makes me angry that maybelline is getting away with selling products that are obviously defective.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Eyeliner products