Suntegrity All Natural Moisturizing Face Protection SPF30

3.4

9 reviews

33% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

ACTIVE INGREDIENT: Zinc oxide 20% INGREDIENTS: Water (Purified), Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Capric Caprylic Triglycerides, Sorbitan Stearate, Glyceryl Stearate, Polyglyceryl-4 Isostearate, Hexyl Laurate, Jojoba Oil, Cetyl Dimethicone, Dimethicone, Magnesium Sulfate (Epsom Salt), Sunflower Oil, Cucumber Extract, Hyaluronic Acid, Tea-Oil Camellia, Pomegranate Oil, Red Algae Extract, Astaxanthin, Citrus Sinensis (Sweet Orange) Essential Oil, Citrus Reticulata Blanco (Tangerine) Essential Oil, Citrus Paradisi (Grapefruit) Essential Oil, Polyaminopropyl Biguanide*, Ethylhexylglycerin* *Paraben-free anti-microbial agent.


on 4/4/2015 1:39:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

As my skin has changed & become drier, I have begun the search for a more emollient physical only SS. This one should tick all of the boxes - high ZO % (20%), moisturizing, chock full of great ingredients (well, great for my skin...).

However, I cannot love it much to my dismay - its VERY whitening. And I'm about an N20-23, so not a PPP, but on the fairer side of the spectrum. I should have known given the high ZO content. I even tried it out on the back of my hand in a shop where it seemed brightening, not geisha like. So I brought it. And its now been relegated to weekend only usage when I am not really going out, or I have more time to apply a corrective foundation over it. Maybe I don't blend it in enough, but I've been told that over blending causes the ZO to break down & lessens its efficacy, which defeats the purpose of using an SS.

My skin really likes this SS, I haven't experienced any of the side effects that others have, in fact it feels like its better for having used this. And it works well as a primer, meaning makeup applied beautifully over it. Its just that I have to apply that much more make up over it to hide its whitening properties. Perhaps in the dead of winter it will be okay when I'm at my palest, but for now that spring is arriving and the sun is (finally) shining, its not floating my boat.

(I'm giving it a 3 star rating because I do think its a great product, its just not for my skin tone).


Ingredients from the Suntegrity website:
Active Ingredient: Zinc-Oxide 20%

Inactive Ingredients: Aloe Barbadensis (Organic Aloe Vera) Leaf Juice, Capric Caprylic Triglycerides (Coconut Oil Extract), Water (Aqua), Sorbitan Stearate (Plant Derived), Glyceryl Stearate (Plant Derived), Polyglyceryl-4 Isostearate (Plant Derived), Hexyl Laurate (Plant Derived), Simmondsia Chinensis (Organic Jojoba) Seed Oil, Cetyl Dimethicone (Mineral Derived), Magnesium Sulfate (Epsom Salt), Helianthus Annuus (Organic Sunflower) Seed Oil, Cucumis Sativus (Organic Cucumber) Fruit Extract, Astaxanthin (Algae Source), Hyaluronic Acid (Plant Derived), Chlorella Emersonii (Red Algae) Extract, Camellia Sinensis (Organic Green Tea) Extract, Punica Granatum (Organic Pomegranate) Seed Oil, Citrus Grandis (Grapefruit) Essential Oil, Citrus Sinensis (Sweet Orange) Essential Oil, Citrus Reticulata Blanco (Tangerine) Essential Oil, Polyaminopropyl Biguanide*, Ethylhexylglycerin*

*paraben-free anti-microbial agent.



on 6/4/2014 5:08:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This review is for the body version of the sunscreen, which I got because it's cheaper per oz and I read that others have used it on the face with no problems.

Immediately upon applying I notice the white cast on my skin (around NC 25). Luckily it disappears after blending. The texture is like typical sunscreen, aka greasy, even though it claims not to be. I could bear a bit of white cast and greasiness for good sun protection, but the deal breaker for me is the smell. It has this sickeningly sweet citrus scent, and I couldn't stand smelling it all day long. Unfortunately I won't be able to use this on my face anymore, so it'll just be used for my arms and legs.

There is an unscented/baby version for the same price, but given that I don't love the texture anyway, I won't be trying that, and for sure won't be repurchasing this.


on 5/25/2014 11:31:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Unfortunately, I let a facialist talk me into this without getting a sample first. She used it on me during our facial and it was OK, then I woke the next morning and put it on. My skin felt itchy/irritated the whole day, but she had just done a peel, so I wondered if my skin was just being sensitive. Then I reapplied the sunscreen before taking the kids to the park and it was awful -- particularly around my eyes. Itchy, red, felt like my eyes were stinging. And the smell is SO strong. I may have just had an allergic reaction to this, so take my review as one person's experience, but do try a sample first. On Paula's list, she mentions that the citrus oils in it can be irritating.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/9/2013 2:22:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Ok, so I have been researching for a good sunscreen for a while and wanted to get something which was free of many of the "nasties" that seem to appear in other suncreams.

I found Suntegrity as you do by trawling through many sites and then just stumbling upon it. It seemed to have everything I was looking for:
- it's a moisturiser, primer and sunscreen in one
- it's a high SPF 30
- broad spectrum
- non-greasy
- free of parabens, sulfates and other "nasties"

So, I dived in and got some and... I love it! :-)

Here's why (on top of all the above):
- It smells gorgeous - of orangey citrus (it does have orange oil in it)
- a little goes a long way
- it makes my skin feel lovely and it's not greasy
- it is very white (it's a physical sunscreen) and when I put it on it lightens my skin a little which I like. It's not like a big white cast or anything but it's subtle and it brightens my skin. It may look a little funny on darker skins though I guess. I am fair skinned.
- my make up goes on top well.

Really, it's everything I hoped it would be. When I found it recommended somewhere (can't remember where) they said to buy the body cream as it's cheaper and contains the same ingredients as the more expensive face cream, so that's what I did.

So, if you're looking for a sunscreen with all the above properties than definitely give it a go. You can get it in trial size first if you prefer.

Good luck and here's to our skin health :-).

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 8/8/2012 12:41:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I received some samples from them by simply emailing Tricia via : contact us on their website. Requested for the bb sun lotions in both tints, Light and Medium and they also threw in a packet of the original for the face.

I really liked that she shipped them out to me quite fast and the samples came in mini jars.

Let me say my first time in using this. I may have over applied it was TOO THICK and it did cover my skin of imperfection nicely. Note i had to rub this in quite a bit and it did leave me quite greasy as i applied a bit too much.

My second time the next day i touch a bit into my skin and only use about a nickel size. Covered my face completely and again had to rub in this product is very thick and i can see how it can clog pores and lead to breakouts. Again even with little usage it left my greasy oil looking. I use the light as its perfect for my skin tone. The medium is tadly darker. After the day i noticed some breakouts creeping from my skin and know that this is the culprit. Although the ingredients of this product looks fantastic and im sure theres many thats beneficial i have to stop using any product that makes my skin breakout. Im trying to cover my existing already bad skin not cover bad skin to get further worst skin to cover that. Also the price for it is quite high $46 is expensive plus shipping. I wouldnt buy this but was happy to get samples to try first. I would say anyone in the market thats looking to use BB CREAM types the right area is to get them from the ASIAN market as they work more effectively its just the color shades is the issue!


on 4/28/2012 6:23:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I have a real problem with chemical suncreens and so on search I found this. I love it and have repurchased about six times. It does protect against sun damage. My hyperpigmentation diminshes while using this. I think it wears amazing and it makes my skin feel good. My HG suncreen

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 3/16/2012 8:15:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I'm sure that this is a great product for most people, but it made me break out. I have REALLY sensitive skin, so most people won't have this issue, but it has something that disagrees with my rosacea. The packaging is GREAT. It has a pump that allows precise dispensing of the sunscreen so that there is no waste. The product looks great and feels great on my face. It has no "unwanted" ingredients and meets my requirements for safe ingredients. I wanted it to work. I tried it several different days, but each time I had little white bumps on my face by the end of the day. If you don't have super-sensitive skin, you can likely use this product. Unfortunately, I can't.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 8/10/2011 9:33:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I really like the principles surrounding this line and the fact that it was rated really well by EWG, both for protection and for lack of toxicity. However, this will not be my go-to sunscreen for everyday use. It has a bit of a tacky feel to it and it actually did leave a bit of a white cast and shine to my skin. It actually made my skin look really dull, almost sickly, and my makeup just slid right off. It does protect very well, but I just can't use it as my everyday sunscreen because of the reasons I just mentioned. I prefer Devita, which protects really well, blends with my makeup and sinks into my skin. I would use the Suntegrity if I'm going sans makeup or just going for a workout/hike though.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 6/14/2011 2:48:00 AM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I wish I didn't like this so much since it's more than I'd like to spend for a sunscreen. Atleast it's for the face, so the bottle will last quite a while. It's in an air pump opaque container which should keep it stable even longer. I've been searching for a good sunscreen that doesn't leave a white cast or give me that glistening look. My skin tone is medium, so when upon first application, I thought this might give me a white cast since it's a bit thick, but it absorbs well and blends beautifully. It kind of brightens and evens out my skin a bit and doesnt look greasy at all. I wouldn't wear it alone (mainly because I always wear moisturizer), but it should be fine even though it doesnt feel like a moisturizer. It wears well under makeup and wore it the entire day without a breakout. There are some plant oils, so that may not work for some, but my skin loves them over chemical fillers, so that wasn't an issue with me at all. As a matter of fact, it seemed to have helped with surface zits. I wore it in LA and Miami when the sun was out, and although I didn't spend a lot of time in direct sunlight, it gave me great protection. I still love Devita, but for outside activities I'd prefer suntegrity over Devita. For daily wear when I'm in and out, I'll probably do the Devita or Green Beaver since they're both sufficient and cheaper for daily wear. I do believe the protection is a bit stronger with the Suntegrity because it's thicker so I'll reserve using that when I need it. If it were competitive in price, I would be comfortable using it exclusively. It's retail is 45.00 but on http://www.kissandmakeupny.com/ theres free shipping to the US and Canada (no tax except in ny state). I got mine from the detox market when I was in LA, but they also ship free and usually has great discount codes (like 15-20%!) through odacite.com (owner of the detox market).

**7/21/2011. I just upped the rating to 5 stars. We went hiking and rock climbing up north and spent hours in the sun, broken clouds, etc. I did apply every hour to 1.5 hours or so, just to make sure, and the protection was excellent. When I washed it off, my skin was supple so it seemed to help in minimizing the effects of outdoor exposure in general as well, and this was very important to me since Im very active in outdoor sports.. This is no longer overpriced. I still use my Devita as a daily moisturizer with sufficient protection for minimal days of sun. I'm looking forward to trying this during ski season. If it's too drying, I'll stick to Green Beaver for the winter months.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.




Back to Top