Living Proof • Straight Spray • Styling Products

rated 3.0(8 reviews)

Average Rating.3.0
Would buy this product again.37%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mtack on 5/27/2014 9:15:00 PM more reviews by mtack

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I just have one word to describe this product...HORRIBLE! Can't believe it was invented by MIT scientists. The entire line is HORRIBLE.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 allisonb93 on 10/10/2013 6:11:00 PM more reviews by allisonb93

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Blue    

I love this product. I spray it on damp hair before I blow dry hair with a paddle brush. I noticed a difference right away, it cuts down on blowdry time, it helps make hair stay straight in humidity, it's is a heat protectant, cuts down on frizz and most important is it helps hair get straight! I barely have to touch up with a straightener after blowdry ing my hair with a paddle brush when I use this. If I don't use this I spend at least 15 min touching up with a straightening iron, compared to just my bang area if I do use it. Must have. I going to repurchase it when I run out. Living proof products don't leave tons of build up on your hair, which is great if you are using a sulfate free shampoo.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 ninanina on 12/2/2011 10:39:00 PM more reviews by ninanina

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

What the blazes is this stuff supposed to be??? It does nothing for my hair, it's as if I sprayed water on it. And then to add insult to injury it dulled my new bleach job...it went back to Sephora. I still have no idea what this is, other than water in a grey spray bottle. Big no no Living Proof!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 boclit7 on 9/20/2011 4:23:00 PM more reviews by boclit7

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I have tried so many straightening lotions, sprays, etc. This one is amazing! I have never had such straight hair for so long. I'm going on my 4th day (using dry shampoo of course) and it's still straight! I'm amazed. I used just this before I dried my hair. Then I sprayed it over my whole head and then again on each section. I just chopped my long hair into a bob, but it still fights going straight. I always have that one section that refuses, well, until now! I used a bit of oil and hairspray to set my hair and I have no frizz and it's still straight. Amazing! It is expensive and not entirely "green" but for now, I'll continue to use it. Oh and I bought the mini can and it still feels practically full after 3 uses.

UPDATE** I don't use this anymore. It just stopped working well and I've switched to Alterna Caviar Perfect Flat Iron Spray and that stuff is awesome!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 bluemymind99 on 9/18/2011 4:29:00 PM more reviews by bluemymind99

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Sephora has been pimping this spray like crazy, maybe because the profit margin on a simple hair spray in prestige product clothing is big. I had no luck using this as an all-over straightening spray (spraying it into wet hair and blow-drying). It worked, but the results didn't last and my hair broke a lot during the process because this stuff made my hair sticky and hard to run a round brush through. It did work well as pre-flat iron treatment, though. After blow drying my hair straight using my beloved Barex hairgomine, my two cowlicks are still going strong. I sprayed them with a hit of Living Proof Straight Spray and flat ironed and they went straight and stayed that way for two days.

It's worth noting that this spray contains alcohol, the kind that's really, really bad for your hair.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 daisymrgrta on 9/10/2011 12:43:00 AM more reviews by daisymrgrta

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This is the second day I've used this product and it seems to make my hair frizzier rather than helping it. It took me longer than normal to do my hair. Typically, it takes me a whole 10 minutes to blow dry and run the flat iron through it. It took me much longer to try to get it straight and frizz free with my flat iron. I finally just gave up and went on my way to work.Maybe my hair is too thick for this product. I'm returning it this afternoon.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 MargaritaHoehn on 9/8/2011 6:06:00 PM more reviews by MargaritaHoehn

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This is the second day I've used this product and it seems to make my hair frizzier rather than helping it. It took me longer than normal to do my hair. Typically, it takes me a whole 10 minutes to blow dry and run the flat iron through it. It took me much longer to try to get it straight and frizz free with my flat iron. I finally just gave up and went on my way to work.Mybe my hair is too thick for this product. I'm returning it this afternoon

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ahhhttack on 6/13/2011 8:33:00 PM more reviews by ahhhttack

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Well, color me surprised, this product actually works relatively well for me. I got it on a whim because I had a Sephora credit I wanted to use. I've used lots of anti-frizz straightening products and this one is the best I've tried.

My hair: medium length & thickness, curly and frizzy
My "ideal" hair: beachy, piecey hair
Pros:
-really helps with frizz
-cuts down on blow dry time
-no greasy residue or build up
Cons:
-noxious like woah. I've taken to holding my breath, spraying it in one room, then jetting into another room to inhale.
-pricey. $29 for 5.5oz and you have to use a decent amount each time.

For this product, I find it's best to use it within 5 or so minutes after you get out of the shower. The longer you let your hair air dry, the less it will work. I usually get out, squeeze excess water from my hair, then put in Moroccan Oil if I'm using it that day. I let that sit for about 2 or 3 minutes and then use Straight spray. I spray a good amount all over my hair and brush through. Then blow dry in sections. Using this product gets my hair straighter faster than any other similar product. Again, I go for "mostly" straight, since I like a bit of wave left for a beachy look. If you want to get pin straight, follow with another dose of spray and use a flat iron. Straight spray keeps the frizz at bay for a longer time, and doesn't leave any greasy residue.

Again, this product isn't exactly a miracle in a can, but it works better than any other product I tried. Though it is pricey, at this point I will buy again.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More Living Proof products

More Styling Products products