Real Techniques by Samantha Chapman • Brush Collection - Eyes Starter Set • Makeup Brushes

rated 4.4(102 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.87%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 daisyismydog on 11/27/2014 6:29:00 PM more reviews by daisyismydog

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I think this is an excellent beginning point for eye makeup as it comes with a liner brush, detail brush, crease brush, base shadow brush and a brow brush. For ~$15 and your first kit, you really can't beat it but after nearly 2 years of using it I've come to realize that for the most part I've really out grown this kit and it no longer meets my needs for eye makeup.

Ones I'm not crazy about:

1. Liner brush - Too large, repurposed as a lip brush (note - I think the newer editions include a finer liner brush)
2. Brow brush - Too soft
3. Detail brush - Decent enough, but I prefer the RT domed shading brush to this as it's larger although this is nice for an inner corner highlight
4. Crease brush - I use the one labeled as a crease brush as a base shadow brush (how Samantha fits this in her crease is beyond me, it's mammoth), repurposed for buffing in concealer mainly

The one I do like:

5. Base shadow brush - I actually use the one labeled as a base shadow brush as a crease/blending brush and it's my favorite, it's worth it for the $15 (on Amazon) alone in my opinion

Overall, I'm really glad I started with the RT set as it served me well, I can repurpose some of them, and it gave me a sense of what I want out of my future brushes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* verte on 11/14/2014 5:27:00 PM more reviews by verte

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

In this handy and great value kit, there are three brushes that I use religiously and two that I don't use at all, or rarely. I use the brow brush, base shadow brush and crease brush, and of the two little ones (fine liner brush and accent brush), I have occasionally used the accent brush for precise applications of concealer.
Brow brush - great for brow products, a little too thick/imprecise for applying eyeliner for me (my eyes are small and I prefer subtle/thin eyeliner on the odd occasion I use it).
Base shadow brush - again, great for base/lighter eyeshadows, I think it's a little too big/soft and therefore imprecise for me personally in blending darker shadows.
Crease brush - I use for darker shadows and blending into the crease and socket. I also use this brush to apply concealer under my eyes as it's the perfect shape. I also use it to apply different concealer on imperfections and then for blending same in.
I have two sets of these brushes. I threw away the stands as I thought they were kind of useless and I don't have space for them (my brushes are kept in ordinary water glasses). They wash easily and hold their shape. Love them and have repurchased and would again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Randomination22 on 10/14/2014 5:53:00 PM more reviews by Randomination22

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This brush set contains all the essentials you need to create beautiful eye makeup and I use them frequently when doing eye looks.

The brush quality is good indeed, picking up a good amount of colour and applying it very well. I particularly like using the Deluxe Crease Brush (and also the Base Shadow Brush sometimes) for concealer as they work well for it. That's the thing, these brushes are multi-purpose.

I don't use every single brush but I've used them all at least once and you can't really complain for the price.
The only thing, however, I do complain about is the stand - it's a good idea, but it's a bit cheap and doesn't really work properly (one of the brushes won't fit in again, annoyingly). Oh well, still a worthy buy!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Nancygia on 10/2/2014 7:39:00 PM more reviews by Nancygia

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I bought this kit for travel, and I am really not happy with it. The only brush I can actually use is the accent brush. The base shadow brush and crease brush are both too big, the eyeliner brush is too floppy and the brow brush isn't very useful without a spoolie on the opposite end.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 AHeartsMakeUp on 9/2/2014 12:21:00 PM more reviews by AHeartsMakeUp

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

I love ALL of the Real Techniques brushes for a few reasons:

-Affordable
-Good Quality/No Shedding
-Nice Selection

You really can't go wrong with these. I wish I had discovered them sooner. My approach to brushes is to use them as whatever they work for me as, and not necessarily what they're labeled as.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Sugarnspice28 on 8/20/2014 6:03:00 AM more reviews by Sugarnspice28

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Medium Brown, Cool   Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

These are hands down the BEST brushes on a budget! Super soft, a brush for all application needs, very well priced, easy to clean and very sturdy! I have bought 3 of these sets and love them all. I do not use the carry case they came with and have simply put them in my brush holder.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 paine724 on 8/9/2014 11:30:00 PM more reviews by paine724

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Three out of five of these brushes are excellent and the other two are just okay.

1) The base shadow brush is an excellent brush for applying shadows and I wish it were sold separately. It applies the shadows while simultaneously blending them and I find that I prefer it to using shader brushes which can leave inconsistent results.

2) The deluxe crease brush is great but I find that I like it better for blending out concealers and liquid/cream contours than I do to actually use in the crease. I find it's a little to big and imprecise to use there and I prefer to use my sigma brushes to blend out the crease. However, it buffs out underye concealer and cream contours very well. This really should have been included in the face brush set.

3) The accent brush is great for small precision work such as work on the outer or inner corner of the eyes and highlighting.

4) I have naturally thick brows so I don't use the brow brush for it's intended purpose but I like using this brush as an angled liner type brush to apply eyeshadows for cut creases and to apply shadows on the lower lash line. This brush is thick and the bristles are a bit separated so this brush is just "okay"

5) The pixel point eyeliner brush is the brush I reach the least for. I tried using this for eyeliner and the brush is too flexible and imprecise. I tried using this for tightlining and it's slightly better for that but nothing to go crazy about. This one is also just "okay"

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 grapes123xo on 8/4/2014 11:51:00 AM more reviews by grapes123xo

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

These brushes are so good! Pros: they are extremely soft and gentle on the eye ( crease and base shadow brush), accent brush: so small and perfect for adding the detail you want, eyeliner brush: also small and soft, very versatile so you can make a thick or thin line). The eyebrow brush is much tougher but also allows you to build color gradually, like all the other brushes. These are my favorite brushes. Another pro is the cute pink handles. The only con I have us that I wish the brushes are longer.., they remind me too much of travel brushes (which they are because they come with a case, which also comes in handy).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kenandbarbie on 7/30/2014 2:07:00 PM more reviews by kenandbarbie

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I love theses brushes to death!!! I will not buy another brand now its so perfect I'm glad my best friend who's a makeup artist introduced me to these.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Sizzle0431 on 7/24/2014 12:30:00 AM more reviews by Sizzle0431

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Other    

I would actually give this 4.5 stars. Love the brushes. Super soft. Haven't had any bristles fall out. Only brush I don't really like is the blending brush. I was hoping it would be my favorite. It didn't blend out my shadow it more or less picked it up and kept it. Lol my ELF 1 dollar brush does a better job. Not that I can't find another use for it like for my under eyes for blending out concealer. I was just hoping it would work better. I actually like the shadow brush better for blending the shadow. All the other brushes are wonderful.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Real Techniques by Samantha Chapman products

More Makeup Brushes products