Real Techniques by Samantha Chapman Brush Collection - Eyes Starter Set

4.4

115 reviews

85% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Synthetic Taklon


on 6/26/2015 8:23:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Extremely usable brushes,I just love these! Here is couple of brushes that can't be found anywhere else.These will propably always be in my beauty kit/routine.Do not shed a bit,very good quality.The domed shadow brush is amazing that comes with these.And also the base shadow brush.Would purchase again :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 6/21/2015 6:48:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Green

If you're a beginner you will probably have a hard time with this set. I needed some extra brushes for my eye makeup in my collection and Real Techniques never let me down. I own EVERY.SINGLE.BRUSH from their collection and they are cruelty free. This set, however, failed to impress me.

Base Shadow Brush: It's fair to say that I love this brush a little too much! I use it every single day. It applies matte shadows so well and dare I say it, the color payoff is better with this brush. If you have used matte eye shadows before you know that they are usually hard to blend. But this brush makes the blending process seamless. It's the perfect size, you apply the eye shadow and blend the crease at the same time. It actually makes the eye makeup look more professional and airbrushed. If they sold it separately I would definitely buy it.

Deluxe Crease Brush: A lot of people complain that this is not the correct size. But this is a multi-tasker. You can use it to blend your shadow, apply and blend concealer, contouring. Yes contouring, this brush is perfect to get into the hollows of your cheeks and chisel them although you will be needing another brush to blend the contour so it doesn't look harsh. But this really made my contouring easier. But I mainly use it to apply and blend my transition and crease color. I really like building up my product and then blending it with this brush. Again I would TOTALLY buy it if they sold it separately.

Accent Brush: Can be used as a lip brush, can be used for precise detailing, highlighting and smudging. This is a pretty good brush. I use it to apply highlight on my inner corners and to smudge my lower lash line.

Fine Liner Brush: I bought it separately years before I got this set. I do not like this brush. It's way too stiff and thick for a liner brush and it makes my wing look messy and weird. This is definitely not FINE. I don't even touch the one I got with the set.

Brow Brush: This brush was the only reason why I even considered getting this set and I think it's safe to say that this brush disappointed me the most. It's too soft and thick. You cannot fill in your eye brows properly with this brush. You cannot draw separate hair, you cannot fill in tiny gaps. Heck, you cannot use it as an eyeliner brush. Utterly disappointed with this brush.

This set cost me about $23.99. Other than the base shadow brush and the deluxe crease brush I really don't find this set useful.
If they sell base shadow brush and the deluxe brush separately I will buy it. But I will not repurchase again.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 5/21/2015 12:59:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Used these brushes for ages and love them very precise and easy too use, all very easy to clean and dry quickly. These brushes are also very soft therefore they don't irritate your eyes

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/13/2015 1:22:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Talk about undeserved hype. A set of 5 brushes, and only one of them is OK to apply eye make-up with.

The eyeliner brush is the worst eyeliner brush I have ever used. It's so bad I cannot even repurpose it for something else. Just looking at it aggravates me. There is absolutely zero possibility a person who works with make-up had any involvement with designing this.
The brow brush is way too fat and soft. You won't be able to draw individual brow hairs with this or use for eyeliner. If you want your brows to be a solid thick line, this might work.
The base shadow brush doesn't do a good job of applying base shadow.
The deluxe crease brush has a nice shape, but is way too big. It does a fine job of blending out color when used with a light hand, but it is twice the size it should be.
The detailer brush... I guess this works fine as a lip brush, and like the other brushes, it works for concealer. However, I didn't buy these brushes because I want concealer brushes. I bought them because I wanted a starter set of eye brushes, and for that purpose they do a really bad job.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 4/30/2015 8:14:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Grey

I use only 4 of the 5 out of this set but I really like them.
I bought 3 sets and an individual one all together and I am so happy with all of them.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/15/2015 6:27:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Love these brushes, but I wish I could buy them separately because I only use 2.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/26/2015 11:45:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

i want to go ahead and say that this is probably not good as a "starter set." these brushes are good to have in your collection but they aren't really enough if they're the only brushes you own. i bought these because i didn't really own any nice eye brushes and some of mine were starting to fall apart and needed replacing. these brushes are very nice quality and i haven't noticed any shedding. i'm going to go ahead and review each brush on its own.
base eyeshadow brush: this brush is fluffier than your typical flat base brush which gives a nice wash of color to the lid and i actually sometimes use this in my crease as well. it doesn't apply with harsh edges the way a flat brush does so you don't need to blend as much.
deluxe crease brush: this brush is huge so it's pretty much impossible to actually use it for your crease. it is denser than a blending brush, but i like using this to blend, especially when working with dark/heavily pigmented colors or a lot of layering. i think it would also be really good for blending out concealer.
accent brush: very dense little brush, great for a cut crease or for applying color on the lash line. i haven't tried using it to smudge but i feel like it would work well that way.
brow brush: this is much nicer than the brush i was using on my brows before; it applies much more smoothly and doesn't leave streaks or harsh lines in my brows. it is a little big, so if you have delicate or thin brows you may have trouble using this one.
eyeliner brush: i haven't tried this one yet as i am out of cream eyeliner but it is pretty similar to an eyeliner brush i have from bh cosmetics that has always worked really well, so hopefully this one is the same way.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 3/25/2015 6:47:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

No, I don't love this set like everybody else. If you're expanding your collection you will find some of this brushes usable but if you don't have any brushes I DO NOT RECOMMEND this set. I've had this set for 6 months and went on buying more brushes because this was not enough, not even as a beginner.
This was the first set of brushes that I bought and I realized after only a week that I could only do a very very basic makeup having only this set:
-I needed a more precise crease brush, the deluxe crease brush is huge only good for a wash of color.
-I needed a smaller brush for more precise work, (making the outerV for example) it doesn't come with the set.
-I needed a more thin angled brush, the one that is provided is too thick.
-The fine liner brush you can only use with gel eyeliner, I didn't have any gel eyeliner as a beginner.

The Ecotools eye enhancing duo set gives you more basic brushes and you can achieve more with those little 4 brushes than with the complete RT set, and it's only 10 canadian dollars. Check the reviews:
http://www.makeupalley.com/product/showreview.asp/ItemId=171701

The still spa essentials are available only at Wallmart for 3$ each, with the same quality as the RT. They have some brushes that are missing from the RT collection and they sell individually, the RT are not sold individually. for 12$ you can get 4 eye brushes that give you more options than the RT starter set. Check the reviews: http://www.makeupalley.com/product/showreview.asp/ItemId=113930

Like many people commented I would like the RT brushes to be available as singles. It makes me mad that I have to buy a whole new set, with brushes I don't ever use, just to get another base shadow brush or another buffing brush. I have written to RT about it and I'm not the only one complaining but they're not listening.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/7/2015 8:49:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Great brushes for the price and no shedding!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 12/29/2014 5:17:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

love these brushes. have been using them for about a month. they have not shed any hairs. at all. amazingly soft. i have a use for all of the brushes. for me they blend very well. if im being lazy i will just use the deluxe crease brush with product on the tip and place in the crease and the outer hairs blend as i move the brush. love them


Popular Makeup Brushes


Core Collection
226 Reviews
Buffing Brush
117 Reviews


Top Rated Real Techniques by Samantha Chapman Products

image

Setting Brush

97 reviews
image

Shading Brush

34 reviews
image

Buffing Brush

117 reviews
image

Core Collection

226 reviews
Back to Top