Mario Badescu • Herbal Hydrating Serum • Skincare - Face

rated 4.2(49 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.73%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 WormEatsBird on 7/4/2014 7:17:00 PM more reviews by WormEatsBird

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have oily, and acne prone skin.

I really enjoy this, I use it alone and it's really light on my skin, doesn't break me out or make me more oily. It does feel a bit tacky after application but that goes away after it sinks in, you can also use this to give another moisturizer a boost.

The price is steep for 1 oz. but you only need so little, and the ingredients are simple too. Dimethicone free, if you're like me and get clogged and oily with any silicones.

Highly recommend for oily skinned gals!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 BudgetDiva on 2/2/2013 10:41:00 PM more reviews by BudgetDiva

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Silver, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

I have a love/hate relationship with MB products and, after going through 2 samples, I'm going to have to put this on the "hate" side of our relationship.

It's a lightweight serum, clear blue in color, and it feels nice going on. That being said, no matter how I adjust the amount I use, it never feels completely dry and stays somewhat tacky on my skin, no matter how long I wait for it to absorb. I have combination/sensitive skin and I thought this might be a good way to moisturize and protect without irritating my skin...but the best I can say about it and gave it 2 lippies is because at least it didn't break me out. But, then again, it didn't do much else, either. Back to Dior for serum needs.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cgw1 on 10/14/2012 11:59:00 PM more reviews by cgw1

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Worthless product. Hydrates for about 2 mins then my skin is tight again. This was way too pricey. $30 for a blue gel in a tiny bottle that does nothing? No thanks. Returning this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 hanako283 on 9/17/2012 3:02:00 PM more reviews by hanako283

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Fabulous, fabulous product! With my somewhat sensitive, dehydrated combination acne-prone skin (that's a mouthful), there aren't many moisturizers that I've found worked well without irritating me. I've been happy with La Roche Posay's Toleriane because it is definitely non-irritant, but sometimes it's just not moisturizing enough. This is where this gel comes into play. I layer this over my every day moisturizer and it really plumps up my skin! I also sometimes use it as night by itself -- though I admit I sometimes skimp on the night time moisturizing step, oops! You'd think layering so many products would cause problems, but so far I haven't had any issues with combining this serum with Toleriane! Both products have very few ingredients (also true for most other Mario Badescu products, which is why I love them so much), so less chances of bad reactions. The smell of this serum is very mild and pleasant, a little herbal. A little goes a long way -- I've had it for a month now, used it every day since I bought it and the bottle still looks full! Definite repurchase for me!

UPDATE 2013/06/23: I still like this product, but I have found Indeed Labs' Hydraluron to work much better as a moisture booster. For that, I'm taking off one lippie. I'll keep using this until I run out but I don't think I will keep repurchasing!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 earthlili on 8/9/2012 3:10:00 AM more reviews by earthlili

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is a wonderful, wonderful product. I love it so much sometimes I don't use it because I don't want to run out! But then it is so affordable, I shouldn't worry. This is just a commendable product that does what it says it is going to do. Simple packaging, easy to take travelling. Good for every imaginable reason; it's a quiet achiever.
I use it as a moisturiser when I need something light. I also use it under another moisturiser when I need an extra boost. AND it is wonderful to dab on through air flights. It penetrates like no product Ive ever known. And you can reapply with no threat of build up or heaviness. It disappears under make up with no problem. It is the sort of product that makes me want to write love letters to its manufacturor.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Laurenam44766 on 6/28/2012 8:35:00 PM more reviews by Laurenam44766

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Other, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I bought for about 30 dollars. It's a little pricey but I lasts a long time! I have very dry skin and also acne prone skin, it didn't break out my skin at all. All of my dry flaky skin has gone away! I put it on at night before I go to sleep and before I put my make up on in place of a moisterizer. I love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 misstaggart on 6/13/2012 8:19:00 PM more reviews by misstaggart

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Great product. Got a sample just in time for a long flight to the UK, and the havoc that changing climates from foggy SF to summer in London will take on your skin. It saved me!

No miracles, just plump, hydrated, non-oily skin that you can then have your way with. A little goes a long way, if you're concerned about the cost for the amt. of product you get.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kohlieee on 12/7/2011 10:55:00 PM more reviews by kohlieee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I've only been using samples of this, but so far, I love it. I literally need a small dab for each area of my face, and then I'm hydrated for hours. It's non-oily, and so my face doesn't feel greasy in the least after I apply it. The sinks right into my skin and leaves my complexion feeling plump and moist, not tacky or sticky. I may even use this in the summer time at night as a lightweight hydrator. My skin gets a bit oiler in the summer months, and the MB seaweed night cream I'm using might be too rich. I plan to purchase a full size bottle soon. Additionally, I've never broken out from this gel serum. Although it's a bit pricey for the minimal ingredients and the small 1 oz bottle, it will last me forever and will serve its purpose.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Plagueofhamsters on 11/17/2011 10:55:00 PM more reviews by Plagueofhamsters

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Amazing serum -- super hydrating, yet very perfect for combination, oily, and acne-prone skintypes. I use this little gem when my regular water-based moisturizer doesn't seem to be cutting it or directly after doing a Lactic Acid peel and I want to keep the flakies away. Currently, I'm using Face Reality's Hydrating Emulsion as my day and night moisturizer, but I went through a whole bottle of this first. I do find the two interchangable (Though the Face Reality is $22 for 2oz while this is $30 for 1oz) but the MB HHS gives a little more moisture (My very oily skin does need this occasionally since I am a RAM user). Overall, one of MB's more expensive products, but definitely one of the best in the line. Highly recommend you pick up a sample. If you're in the states, head to Nordstrom to get a sample :]

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 wenopia on 7/15/2010 3:44:00 AM more reviews by wenopia

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I really love this product. I've only been using the sample but am considering ordering in my next mb purchase!

My skin is currently very dry due to weather and acne treatments. it's also a little flaky but if i apply this over my moisturiser, before makeup, it keeps my skin hydrated all day!

Also, it's the only hydrating serum that doesn't break me out at all.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Mario Badescu products

More Skincare - Face products