Mario Badescu Herbal Hydrating Serum

4.1

50 reviews

72% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Deionized Water,Glycerin,Methylparaben,Triethanolamine,Propylene Glycol,Herbal Extracts: Ginseng Extract,Gingko Extract,and Ceramides


on 11/6/2014 5:53:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I bought this product to just add a little extra hydration on top of my moisturiser during the day. I wanted to love it, but it's just really nothing special. My skin just looks dull.



Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have oily, and acne prone skin.

I really enjoy this, I use it alone and it's really light on my skin, doesn't break me out or make me more oily. It does feel a bit tacky after application but that goes away after it sinks in, you can also use this to give another moisturizer a boost.

The price is steep for 1 oz. but you only need so little, and the ingredients are simple too. Dimethicone free, if you're like me and get clogged and oily with any silicones.

Highly recommend for oily skinned gals!


on 2/2/2013 10:41:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Silver, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Black

I have a love/hate relationship with MB products and, after going through 2 samples, I'm going to have to put this on the "hate" side of our relationship.

It's a lightweight serum, clear blue in color, and it feels nice going on. That being said, no matter how I adjust the amount I use, it never feels completely dry and stays somewhat tacky on my skin, no matter how long I wait for it to absorb. I have combination/sensitive skin and I thought this might be a good way to moisturize and protect without irritating my skin...but the best I can say about it and gave it 2 lippies is because at least it didn't break me out. But, then again, it didn't do much else, either. Back to Dior for serum needs.


on 10/14/2012 11:59:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Worthless product. Hydrates for about 2 mins then my skin is tight again. This was way too pricey. $30 for a blue gel in a tiny bottle that does nothing? No thanks. Returning this.


on 9/17/2012 3:02:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Fabulous, fabulous product! With my somewhat sensitive, dehydrated combination acne-prone skin (that's a mouthful), there aren't many moisturizers that I've found worked well without irritating me. I've been happy with La Roche Posay's Toleriane because it is definitely non-irritant, but sometimes it's just not moisturizing enough. This is where this gel comes into play. I layer this over my every day moisturizer and it really plumps up my skin! I also sometimes use it as night by itself -- though I admit I sometimes skimp on the night time moisturizing step, oops! You'd think layering so many products would cause problems, but so far I haven't had any issues with combining this serum with Toleriane! Both products have very few ingredients (also true for most other Mario Badescu products, which is why I love them so much), so less chances of bad reactions. The smell of this serum is very mild and pleasant, a little herbal. A little goes a long way -- I've had it for a month now, used it every day since I bought it and the bottle still looks full! Definite repurchase for me!

UPDATE 2013/06/23: I still like this product, but I have found Indeed Labs' Hydraluron to work much better as a moisture booster. For that, I'm taking off one lippie. I'll keep using this until I run out but I don't think I will keep repurchasing!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/9/2012 3:10:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brown, Kinky, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is a wonderful, wonderful product. I love it so much sometimes I don't use it because I don't want to run out! But then it is so affordable, I shouldn't worry. This is just a commendable product that does what it says it is going to do. Simple packaging, easy to take travelling. Good for every imaginable reason; it's a quiet achiever.
I use it as a moisturiser when I need something light. I also use it under another moisturiser when I need an extra boost. AND it is wonderful to dab on through air flights. It penetrates like no product Ive ever known. And you can reapply with no threat of build up or heaviness. It disappears under make up with no problem. It is the sort of product that makes me want to write love letters to its manufacturor.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Other, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought for about 30 dollars. It's a little pricey but I lasts a long time! I have very dry skin and also acne prone skin, it didn't break out my skin at all. All of my dry flaky skin has gone away! I put it on at night before I go to sleep and before I put my make up on in place of a moisterizer. I love it!


on 6/13/2012 8:19:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Olive, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Great product. Got a sample just in time for a long flight to the UK, and the havoc that changing climates from foggy SF to summer in London will take on your skin. It saved me!

No miracles, just plump, hydrated, non-oily skin that you can then have your way with. A little goes a long way, if you're concerned about the cost for the amt. of product you get.


on 12/7/2011 10:55:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I've only been using samples of this, but so far, I love it. I literally need a small dab for each area of my face, and then I'm hydrated for hours. It's non-oily, and so my face doesn't feel greasy in the least after I apply it. The sinks right into my skin and leaves my complexion feeling plump and moist, not tacky or sticky. I may even use this in the summer time at night as a lightweight hydrator. My skin gets a bit oiler in the summer months, and the MB seaweed night cream I'm using might be too rich. I plan to purchase a full size bottle soon. Additionally, I've never broken out from this gel serum. Although it's a bit pricey for the minimal ingredients and the small 1 oz bottle, it will last me forever and will serve its purpose.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Amazing serum -- super hydrating, yet very perfect for combination, oily, and acne-prone skintypes. I use this little gem when my regular water-based moisturizer doesn't seem to be cutting it or directly after doing a Lactic Acid peel and I want to keep the flakies away. Currently, I'm using Face Reality's Hydrating Emulsion as my day and night moisturizer, but I went through a whole bottle of this first. I do find the two interchangable (Though the Face Reality is $22 for 2oz while this is $30 for 1oz) but the MB HHS gives a little more moisture (My very oily skin does need this occasionally since I am a RAM user). Overall, one of MB's more expensive products, but definitely one of the best in the line. Highly recommend you pick up a sample. If you're in the states, head to Nordstrom to get a sample :]

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


Popular Face Skincare Products


Fix+
1287 Reviews
Turmeric Mask
181 Reviews
Rosehip Seed Oil
102 Reviews
Unblemish
38 Reviews
Rosehip Oil
280 Reviews
Back to Top