Christian Dior • Dior Addict EDP • Fragrances

rated 3.9(557 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.69%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jrm1862 on 6/18/2014 3:31:00 AM more reviews by jrm1862

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

This is one of the worst perfumes I've ever smelled. I went to Sephora with my gift cards ready to get this but once I sprayed it I changed my mind completely. I read so many positive reviews on this that I thought i'd love it. I can't understand why so many people love this but that is their opinion and good for them. I waited for the drydown but that still was bad. Smells like sweaty men puffing cigars on a leather couch in a musty bar with some cheezy waitresses wearing cheap vanilla perfume. I tried my best to like it but I just cannot. I'm so glad I did not buy this blindly. You couldn't pay me to wear this. I know I'm being harsh but this is just yuck! The only positive is the neat blue bottle.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tinkerrbelle on 6/4/2014 8:51:00 AM more reviews by tinkerrbelle

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

A warm and sexy spicy oriental. This is almost exactly like Opium but softer and with a little extra citrus! I can smell coca cola, cinnamon, vanilla, sandalwood, amber, with a touch of oranges and cream. Its smoother and more creamy (more vanilla), brighter (the orange fruit), and less cloying than Opium. I found Opium was one loud boring amber headache, whereas Addict is more sophisticated.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 clarissa90 on 3/22/2014 9:09:00 PM more reviews by clarissa90

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I am in the minority here, but this fragrance was horrid on me. And I don't say that about alot of fragrances. Probably three ever, including this one. Not only did it smell bad, it gave me an immense headache which caused me to rush home to put myself out of misery. Sorry Mr. Dior, looks like I will not be purchasing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Krissy0913 on 2/3/2014 7:44:00 PM more reviews by Krissy0913

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I used to wear this when it first launched. Recently after not wearing it for years I sprayed myself while shopping and received a compliment right away!! I bought it and receive at least one compliment a day!!! It is a gorgeous scent!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jennamarie11 on 1/31/2014 4:47:00 PM more reviews by jennamarie11

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

One of my fave perfumes. Beautiful smell and so.classy. Lasts all.day.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Prncs06 on 12/28/2013 1:57:00 AM more reviews by Prncs06

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Warm sweetness of vanilla with an undeniable overlay of tangy spice. Love. Settles on me very quickly (unlike hypnotic poison, another fav, which settles/changes quite slowly), lasts, and remains enjoyable all day. For me the intensity of this scent is tasteful and not overwhelming, but because of the spicy tones, I typically reserve this scent for night or for my own sniffing enjoyment when lounging around the house on the weekends. Addict makes me feel sophisticated and sexy and I absolutely love wearing it. Only downside is hubby doesn't particularly care for it, which is unfortunate because I can inhale it all day long.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Pambryant on 11/19/2013 4:03:00 PM more reviews by Pambryant

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This smells like pepper to me. Like I opened a container of pepper and took a big whiff.

I don't like it. The pepper smell is overwhelming to me.

It contains Tonka bean, which is what I believe makes it smell like pepper. Or it might be the sandalwood.?

I don't like balsamic or aromatic perfumes.

from Fragrantica: The top notes are mandarin leaves and mulberry flowers; Night Queen Flower, Bulgarian rose and orange flower are in the heart; the base is created with Bourbon vanilla, sandal wood and Tonka bean.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* FlameDancer on 10/29/2013 4:41:00 PM more reviews by FlameDancer

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

The new reformulated (as of 2011) EDP version of Dior Addict is exactly what I used to wish Addict was since its original launch in 2002. This is the rich, bold vanilla fragrance for women who have no interest in smelling like cookies or any kind of dessert.


While the original fragrance had a thin and piercing, watery floral accord and left an annoyingly fruity sillage in its wake, it also had a rich, dry vanilla and slightly smokey woody base that I loved. The newer formulation highlights that base. It still has a floral aspect with a strange raw silk, basil, and powdery heliotrope, minus the bitter, lotus-like aquatic floral that used to give me a headache. In fact I think of Addict as a sort of modernistic and more casual answer to Shalimar and the traditional Guerlainade base.


Beautiful choice for cool weather. While Dior Addict is nowhere near as provocative as the advertizing would have you think, it's a rich and comforting fragrance and the least gourmand vanilla in mainstream fragrance. The newer bottles have a gold band at the top. While it's pricy, Sephora caries a tiny 0.67oz bottle for $45 that's likely to last years -- a couple of spritzes last for weeks on fabric, and a full day on skin.

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sillage on 10/14/2013 3:05:00 PM more reviews by sillage

Age: Unknown   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Dior Addict was one of my top faves when it first came out in 2002. It was everything I love in a perfume (ie, a complex sultry/sexy oriental, containing wood & vanilla) -- it was right up my alley -- and I rapidly went through 1/2 of my 3.4oz bottle. And then I stopped wearing it, moving on to other newer things.

Same thing happened with my Dior Hypnotic Poison & Gucci Rush & Givenchy Organza Indecence & Must de Cartier Classic & Burberry Classic & Chanel Allure EDP. I loved all 7 at the same time back then. They're all sort of the same type -- deep delicious orientals containing vanilla -- but I pretty much stopped wearing all 7, after draining half bottles of each in the mid-2000's. I still have them all and plan to pick up where I left off. They were all great then, and they're still great now -- in fact, a lot greater than most of the new "sweet/fruity/pink/fresh/celeb" stuff being launched, to my nose.

So now, I'm circling back to Addict (and those other great oriental/vanillas I mentioned too!). Still there in my closet, and still beautiful. Rich oriental, with a vanilla base -- that's my kind of perfume!

Here are the notes, per parfumo.net:

Top Notes: Blackberry, Mandarin leaf
Heart Notes: Jasmine, Queen of the night blossom, Orange blossom, Rose
Base Notes: Bourbon vanilla, Sandalwood, Tonka bean

After I had been wearing Addict for awhile (10 years ago), I brought my younger sister a bag of samples one day, and she was spraying a few of them -- and then she got to one that just wowed me -- and I said, "Ohhh, that one smells GREAT -- what is that??" (I was melting & swooning.) And she said "Dior Addict".

Well, I didn't recognize that sample spritz & didn't realize Addict smelled THAT good. My sister even offered to give me the sample back, so I could carry it in my purse, but I told her to go ahead and keep it. Sometimes, for me, it takes smelling a perfume on someone else -- or from a few feet away -- to really appreciate how good it is.

Now that it's Fall & the holidays are right around the corner, Addict is perfect. I'm going to pull out my half-used 3.4oz bottle and resume my love affair with Addict. Still gorgeous after all these years!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 TheLipstickSnob on 10/14/2013 1:10:00 PM more reviews by TheLipstickSnob

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I'm definitely an ADDICT!! This fragrance has become my HG for Fall/Winter. I don't just wear at night, either. I wear this in the daytime too, even at work. So often through the day I am approached by co-workers wanting to know what this mysterious scent was. I was browsing Sephora's fragrance section looking for an anniversary gift for hubster and I came across this ( well actually a very helpful SA, suggested this to me) I had been there searching for the perfect fall/winter scent for myself for at least an hour. I had smelled most of the fragrances they had in the woody, vanilla, musky, spicy variety. my nose was in agony and I was getting frustrated. Once I smelled Christian Dior's Addict....I was in heaven. The inital whiff painted this serene picture of a snow covered cabin in the mountains, sitting by the fire wrapped in scarves and blankets, sipping hot cocoa. This scent morphs several times throughout the day. by the end of the night, I'm left with a faint aroma of warm vanilla. (My hubster picked up my hints and bought this for me) He loves it as well, i catch him walking past me stopping briefly to inhale my hair, or neck...you get the point. lol This is definitely one of those that you either love or hate.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Christian Dior products

More Fragrances products