Rimmel • Glam Eyes Quad 002 Smokey Brun • Eye Shadow

rated 3.3(42 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.52%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* maekay on 11/5/2014 11:27:00 PM more reviews by maekay

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I might actually file this under "probably" if you asked me "Would you buy this again?" I definitely think the quality has improved since the last time I tried this quad. The previous incarnation was SUPER dry and chalky and had such minimal color payout. This version is a bit softer but not to a fault and I find it lasts almost all day with minimal creasing. I'm always on the lookout for a great everyday warm brown eyeshadow palette and I thought I'd give this a whirl because it looked like Rimmel had re-formulated. Another reason why the re-purchase is a "probably" is that I think Rimmel has done away with this version of its eyeshadow palettes altogether. On their site this palette and its ilk are nowhere to be found. The newest iteration of their eyeshadow palettes is hard to find though. Surprisingly, I've only seen it at Meijer, not even at Ulta! When I use this palette up I'll see about the newer version I want to try called "Brick Lane".

In general, I see a LOT of inconsistency in Rimmel's selection across various retailers. Has anyone else noticed this? Nobody seems to carry a complete version of the most current Rimmel products. I'll find some stores only carry the eye and lip products plus a small selection of powder and foundation, others will carry all that plus their nail polishes. It's just so weird. I don't see this with any other brand. Maybe it's because it's a brand that is based in England and not the U.S.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 pinkpeppered on 10/30/2014 11:19:00 PM more reviews by pinkpeppered

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

The old version of this quad was poor quality but workable with a good primer and a wet brush. The new, current version is worse. It swatches reasonably well but looks terrible on the eye. It's extremely sheer and not buildable at all - it actually seems to have 0 pigment no matter what I do. A waste of money, even at its low price. If you're looking for inexpensive options I would recommend Wet n Wild, make up academy, make up revolution, sleek or Inglot over this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 PrettyBrownEyes2 on 9/2/2014 1:25:00 AM more reviews by PrettyBrownEyes2

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I love this quad. I have had it awhile and noticed in the pictures the packaging has changed. I do not use all the colors together. I use 3 out of the 4 shades for various looks. I think the quality of this product is great as well as the price. No problem with it at all. Would definitely repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AutumnBliss on 7/31/2014 8:13:00 PM more reviews by AutumnBliss

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I like this quad and have purchased it twice. The shades of browns seem neutral enough so that they are very wearable for me. I don't need a lot of color pay off from eye shadows. The amount of color I get works for me. The shades in this quad makes my blue eye color stand out. To me they are easy to apply with a good brush. I use the darkest shade to fill in, and define my eyebrows. I found that it is the perfect shade I need to match my brows. This quad is easy to use, fool proof for me. I will keep buying it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AgentMakeup007 on 5/18/2014 8:52:00 PM more reviews by AgentMakeup007

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

Not that great of a formula... Chalky, faintly pigmented and both lightest colors have the same color payoff on the lids. But I did find this useful as a simple quad before getting rid of it. I used the brown color to fill in my brows, and used the light colors over a L'Oreal eye primer as all-over lid colors, and they did their job pretty well. Are there better drugstore eyeshadows out there? Definitely. But for a couple of dollars this isn't so bad.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LokaLopez13 on 11/27/2013 7:19:00 PM more reviews by LokaLopez13

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love these eyeshadows, the show up great, well pigmented and I love the shimmer in them! I will buy these eyeshadows again!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 asianpandaloves on 8/6/2013 4:59:00 PM more reviews by asianpandaloves

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this even though I have brown eyes because I needed a good neutral palette and a few Youtubers recommended this for school. Since school's right around the corner, of course I bought it. I have a love-hate relationship with this, though.
Pros:
Great for everyday or in a rush.
Two lightest colors are good for setting cream eyeshadows
Decent lasting power.
Cons:
Colors are VERY sheer and they all show up nearly the same (except the darkest shade).
The shadows break off when you just touch it with a brush or finger, which causes a lot of product wasted.
A LOT of fall out.
It's an alright product to me, but I won't be repurchasing it after I'm finished with it (which will be very soon because of it easily breaking :1).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 bellabaaby on 6/24/2013 7:24:00 PM more reviews by bellabaaby

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Considering this is a cheap drug store product I will try not to be too critical...
- Colour pigmentation is medium
- My shades do not look nearly as beautiful and shimmery as in the pictures above!
- Fairly "chalky" & DRY, hard to get enough on your brush for application (except #4 - darkest)
- It brings out my blue eyes decently I guess
- Product is messy, about a week after using this the colours were everywhere over the quad...
- Applicator brush it comes with SUCKS!
- Disappointed with the lightest champagne colour, very dry and little colour pay-off on lid
- Dissapointed with the gold colour, looks brown and dull on eyes

Overall I think that if you have some good brushes and decent makeup skills you can make this really work for you! I bought this mainly for the gold and champagne colours but both were a disappointment... but if you just need a cheap eyeshadow palette, this will do.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Menolikepolos on 6/13/2013 12:43:00 PM more reviews by Menolikepolos

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

About me: NW13 (neutral-cool toned, very fair), blue eyes, Color season is True Summer, Baumann Skin Type is OSPW.

Not a bad quad. I find I use this more than I expect. All 4 shades have shimmer, so if you are looking for an everyday matte or satin quad, this is not it (I suggest you check out the NYX Trio in The Brazilian). I like the lightest shade for a brow highlight (can't tell it has that much shimmer, looks more satin). I use the mink shade for a shimmery lid color, and the wheat brown shade as a satin crease color for a simple flattering look for blue eyes. I add the darker brown shade (has some gold shimmer) for a bit more drama or flair at night. I think the pigmentation is decent (it's not amazing, but c'mon it's $5). It's not terrible, or I'd tell you to skip.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 berlianips on 6/11/2013 6:41:00 AM more reviews by berlianips

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Lovely this eye shadow, Perfect for every day use with just some mascara. wanna buy again

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Rimmel products

More Eye Shadow products