Essie Fair Game

4.7

14 reviews

92% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.7

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.7

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 12/17/2013 4:34:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Such a beautiful unique colour. It's metallic gunmetal with blue undertones. It becomes opaque after about 2 coats and retains it's luster. Only downside is that it starts to chip after about 2 days.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Just got this in a box set, along with the "First Base Coat", and the almost matching blue glitter "Stroke of Brilliance" from the luxeffects topcoat line.

I would describe this as a stone blue, medium in value and very neutral, with a warm pearly shimmer that is almost a metallic. On top of the great First Base Coat, I only had to use two thin coats, and had no trouble with the application or getting the right coverage.

I topped it off with two coats of Stroke of Brilliance and two coats of my normal topcoat and it looks amazing. It is not a perfect match to the glitter; it is slightly less bright, which gives some great dimension and keeps the combo from looking "too blue". I haven't worn it out on it's own yet. I have very strict nail guidelines at my work and this color would be a no-go, so I make my off-day nail colors really get fancy, and I love the glittery look so much that I wouldn't be able to resist topping this off with it again.
Very happy with the coverage for a color this dark and would recommend!


on 9/15/2012 1:47:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

Awesome Color! I am not one to be considered 'Girly', but the one thing I love is painting my nails. This color fits me perfectly! Its not 'girly' at all, and it comes out a mid-dark grey silver color. It also lasts forever!


on 7/30/2012 5:40:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Kinky, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I adore this colour, honestly, it is one of my favourite nail polish colours. However, I find the formula really hard to work with.

This bums me, especially when I adore the colour so much, so I am on the lookout for a dupe - please let me know if there is one!

The main problem (and I had the same problem with the other resort minis I have), is that the formular is kind of thick. The brush is pretty small, so it is hard to get enough on there to cover the nail when you brush one side of it against the bottle, but if you have to go back for more for the other half of the nail, you get crazy bad brushstrokes and it looks crappy. However if I soak the brush full of polish to try and do a full nail in one hit, it went on too thick and it make a bit of a mess and I got heaps of bubbling. Gah!

I will persevere, as I adore the colour so much and hopefully I can get the hang of it. I would only buy it again if I can't find a close dupe and I can make it work better on my nails.

Not sure if this is because it is a mini bottle, or just the formular in general.

PS I did add an extra coat of top coat the next day, and it seemed to help a bit, and smoothed out the imperfections and brush-strokeyness a bit.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/28/2012 10:16:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This polish is a gorgeous smoky blue grey with a shimmery pearl finish, I can't stop looking at my nails when I wear this colour. The application of this polish is by far the best I've ever experienced for an Essie polish, two coats for smooth perfection, in fact, the whole resort 2011 collection has perfect formulations. I will definitely buy this polish again.


on 11/19/2011 11:15:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I ordered Fair Game from the the resort collection 2011, because I thought it would be a more summery version of Chanel Black Pearl which I wore in the spring, but found too dark for summer. When it arrived, though, I saw that it wouldn't go with my slightly yellow summer tan and put it in the back row in my nail polish cabin. Being very fair skinned, I always have a bit of a nail color nightmare in winter. My hands look far the best with dark colors, which is not easy to coordinate with a job that often requires very discreet looking nails. Well, this morning I found Fair Game in the back row and decided to give it a try, and I am so positively surprised by it. The color is a slightly blueish grey - almost the color of pale horn (hence the name) - not silvery or metallic, but with a very elegant pearly surface. I have never owned or seen a color quite like it. It's so beautiful. It's dark enough to give contrast to my skin, but not nearly dark enough to come across as "sexy" or "vampy" - or even to be immediately noticeable. It was slightly thicker than many other polishes from Essie, but application was still very easy. I am going to buy a few more bottles, so I'm sure never to run out of it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Gorgeous shimmery blue, part of Essie's Resort 2011 collection.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/5/2011 8:45:00 AM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This one is all about your skin tone. I have very warm NC35 skin and it looks like cheap frosty dead fingers on me.... which is a shame because the color is truly gorgeous and the formula is creamy and rich. As others have said, it's probably more for the fair & cool toned.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/3/2011 1:03:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I absolutely love this color. I'm wearing it right now. I wasn't a huge fan of Essie, but I purchased Borrowed and Blue and I fell in love. Its a gorgeous metallic grey/blue color. When I saw a swatch of it, I just fell in love. I think the picture above doesn't really give the color justice. It looks amazing on my fair skin tone and its great for a night out, but its also work appropriate. Buy this one... You won't regret it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/18/2011 1:24:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This color is gorgeous! Like other reviewers have said it's a medium blue grey metallic shade. No glitter or shimmer. It takes about three coats for it to become opaque. It's a fun, sophisticated color that works easily from day to night. Chip resistant. I usually stick with OPI but this color is too pretty to pass.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.




Top Rated Essie Products

image

A-List

29 reviews
image

Watermelon

49 reviews
image

Lady Like

65 reviews
image

Chinchilly

134 reviews
Back to Top