OPI • Turquoise Shatter • Polishes

rated 3.8(24 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.62%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SparkleBunny37 on 10/1/2012 5:27:00 PM more reviews by SparkleBunny37

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

OPI's Turquoise Shatter is a beautiful shimmery turquoise crackle with lots of dimension. I am so mesmerized by how pretty this color is. OPI offers seven permanent polishes in their Shatter collection. I don't have any regular OPI polishes, they seem to expensive to me. I got this polish for free when Priceline had a bargain bin full of OPI Shatters on a BOGO Deal. So I got two for $10AUD, which is a great deal anywhere, but just so you're aware of how bangin' that deal was, OPI lacquers for $28 in Australia. OPI's formula is formaldehyde, DBT, and toluene free. Each full size polish contains .5fl oz (15ml), which is the standard amount. This lacquer was made in the USA. Unfortunately, OPI does test on animals.
OPI packages their Shatter line pretty much the same as their regular polishes, except for one detail. The normally texturized, tall, black plastic cap has a crackle print sticker wrapped around it. The OPI logo is embossed on the top of the cap. The round glass bottle features the brand and product name on the front. OPI included a small tag that offered directions on how to use a crackle polish, in four languages. A full ingredient list and the shade name can be found on a peel off sticker on the bottom of the bottle. I'm not really a fan of OPI's brush. Its too stiff. Its long and flat with a rounded tip with no splayed bristles.
Turquoise Shatter's formula is a little on the thicker side. Application is a bit on the skippy side, but that can be expected from any crackle polish. How much this polish cracks depends on the polish it's applied over and how thickly you apply it. As an overall assessment, this polish cracks well. In my opinion, Turquoise Shatter looks best over orange, black, taupe, and blue polishes. Like all crackle polishes, this OPI Shatter lacquer dries super fast, less than 45 seconds per coat. I assume it's because there is less surface area to dry, and you tend to apply it in thinner coats. This polish doesn't affect the wear of any polish under it, nor does it chip or flake off. Good Stuff.
Turquoise Shatter is a really pretty color. Turquoise is definitely a good description of the color. Its bright and leans almost completely blue, only hints of green come through, they come through strongest when applied over black polishes. Turquoise Shatter has a really interesting finish, it looks shimmery in the bottle but on the nail it isn't. Its kinda rubbery in finish, but not in the matte way, it's a little pearlised. So hard to explain, but so pretty.
OPI Turquoise Shatter is nice. I'm not super into crackle polishes, but this one is good quality and a beautiful color. It may be the prettiest color ever actually. This lacquer cracks thoroughly and dries fast. Nice over all product. That being said, I wouldn't repurchase it because, let's be honest here, when am I going to go through an entire bottle of bright blue crackle polish. I don't recommend this polish either because crackle isn't really in anymore. Go ahead and get it if it tickles your fancy, but it's not a must have.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Anya1976 on 1/4/2012 12:08:00 PM more reviews by Anya1976

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I love this shatter. I have lots of shatters/crackles this is one besides the black that I have worn more than once.
I know shatter/crackle is pretty much over and I will probably not use it much til the shatter hangover is well gone but I wore it over China Glaze's Mistletoe Me! and it's just so pretty. I honestly haven't worn a shatter much this year. Once every brand started doing a shatter/crackle the fun kinda wore off. I still do love the shatter/crackle and will buy certain ones that come out but I won't be wearing them much.
This shatter color has a bit of a pearl to it which makes it less flat than most (well when worn with a shiny topcoat over it). I was complimented on my nails yesterday when I had stopped for coffee, so that made me happy.
I have to say though I wish the handles of the brushes did not have the cover on it cus they are just a pain. If the handles were actually different it would be better. I have to take off the little covering when I am doing my nails just cus those do not help when opening a stubborn cap.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 BonnieD on 10/30/2011 9:41:00 PM more reviews by BonnieD

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

My favorite shade of shatter. I have black, white, blue, pink, silver, gold and I love this one the best. I found this one shatters more than the rest of the shades, which I really like. Plus this makes nails stand out from a mile away! Totally cool! I definitely recommend this, however I would not repurchase since it is highly unlikely I'll finish the whole bottle up, and besides, the shatter trend is honestly done with.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* loriann52 on 10/22/2011 1:18:00 PM more reviews by loriann52

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I do like it, it's very different.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* RachaelSpiffy on 10/10/2011 12:01:00 AM more reviews by RachaelSpiffy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This is such a cool color for shatter. I like it best under black and it's great because a team I am a part of color is a teal turqioise color so I can wear this often!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kimvg87 on 9/27/2011 1:00:00 AM more reviews by kimvg87

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I love this Turquoise Shatter. I thought it was just a plain nail polish at first but the cashier at Sephora corrected me. I immediately went to get a black nail polish to be my base coat. I love how it looks! It would look amazing on top of silver and white as well! The shatter itself has bits of finely milled glitter so I prefer a nail polish that does NOT have glitter in it as the bottom color. I used Essie's Licorice for the base coat because there isn't any glitter. I absolutely LOVE this polish. I think it can also span the seasons depending on which base polish you use. LOVE LOVE LOVE!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jatkins on 9/10/2011 1:09:00 PM more reviews by jatkins

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I absolutely love this polish. The color is gorgeous. I recommend putting it on over white polish if you want the crackle affect to really stand out. Over white, the color is a bit brighter too. I just wish it were a bit easier to apply. The consistency is kind of clumpy at times. Make sure you shake it up well and apply quickly.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sweetness10 on 8/25/2011 3:43:00 AM more reviews by sweetness10

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

The color is absolutely AMAZING! It's a gorgeous shimmery dark turquoise shade that picks up light beautifully - I can't fault the color at all and that's why I've given it a rating of 4! I think that it looks a bit darker than the photos here (I'm guessing because of camera flashes?) I adore this over black nail polish because I think the black really adds drama to it. I almost rated this a 3 because I found the consistency to be quite thick and I had to make sure I loaded up the brush enough so I didn't run out of it mid-nail, but it shattered beautifully once I'd got used to applying a slightly thicker coat of it than I would with normal polishes (I usually use 3 thin coats of normal polish on my nails). The reason I wouldn't buy this again is because I think "shatter" polishes are a trend that will pass before I finish this bottle. My daughters (aged 2 and 9) LOVE this color too (my 9-year-old said it looks like she has cobwebs over her nails which is apparently a good thing) so I recommend it for childrens nails.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ebidebby on 8/20/2011 9:10:00 AM more reviews by ebidebby

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Right now, I'm wearing OPI Turquoise Shatter over China Glaze Sunset Sail. The OPI Shatter is a brilliant, shimmering teal that looks almost electric in artificial light and sunlight. I used a thick coat of shatter on each nail and all but one nail cracked in an attractive way. I like the variable nature of crackle polish because the non-uniformity makes the manicure interesting. The reason I would not purchase again is that crackle is trendy now, and by the time I use this polish up, I'll be over the trend (it already feels a little passe).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Angemb on 8/16/2011 10:26:00 PM more reviews by Angemb

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I don't understand why people are saying their's didn't shatter great, my shatter came out great! It is a very pretty color.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More OPI products

More Polishes products