Essie • Devil's Advocate • Polishes

rated 4.6(15 reviews)

Average Rating.4.6
Would buy this product again.100%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 misshamilton on 4/21/2014 3:42:00 AM more reviews by misshamilton

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I love this color. This is my go-to polish for when my nails are very short, and that is saying something very special because I find that not a whole lot of colors look great on my short little nails. The formula could dry a little faster and it could be a little less streaky but it's not too too bad and worth the money. In my opinion it is much nicer than a jet black and has different dimensions. In bright natural light its a very dark purple (almost like grape dimetapp medicine!) and inside its more black, but still not completely.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dootdootdoot on 1/21/2014 2:01:00 PM more reviews by dootdootdoot

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Black    

While I usually have my fingernails bare, I ALWAYS paint my toes. My color of choice is a vampy blackened plum, and Essie's Devil's Advocate is perfect! It lasts 2 weeks on me, until minor chips show up.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hellootomorrow on 11/7/2013 9:46:00 AM more reviews by hellootomorrow

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

My absolute go to dark plum polish! I love, love, love dark polish and gravitate towards them more often than any other shade year round. If you love dark shades that mimic black, i guarantee "Devil's Advocate" will become your favorite. It applies flawlessly! It has great shine even before applying a top coat. It dries very fast as most Essie polish's do. Just get it! You'll love it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* royas784 on 11/6/2013 12:03:00 AM more reviews by royas784

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Devil's Advocate is my favorite dark, vampy polish- a staple for fall/winter. I couldn't ever wear black polish, and Devil's Advocate is as dark as I'll go. With two coats, it's a deep, plum shade that is as close to black as a plum can be. Surprisingly, it is very wearable and looks nice with any outfit.

I also use a base coat and top coat, and get decent wear- several days without chipping. I usually wear nudes/pinks or even clear nail polish on my finger nails, but when I'm in the mood for dark polish, I usually reach for Devil's Advocate. Application is streak-free, although like all Essie Polishes, the brush could be a little wider for ease of application. The formula is great though- a true cream with a gel-like finish (even looks nice without a top coat), and flawless opacity. If you like having the occasional classic vampy nail look, but don't want to go completely black, you can't go wrong with Devil's Advocate.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 emromano on 3/7/2013 10:01:00 AM more reviews by emromano

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I love this color! almost black plum. Similar to OPI "eifell for this color"

doesnt chip easily

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 swatters on 3/6/2013 2:43:00 PM more reviews by swatters

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is an awesome polish. The only gripe I have (and with all Essie polishes, really) is that they need to update or do something new with their brush. Other companies are coming out with brushes that make their polishes so easy to apply... come on, Essie!

The color is a deep dark eggplant. Darker than LPAD, darker than Wicked, almost black. Very shiny even without a top coat and like all other Essies, I find this polish to last several days without chips. Takes a few coats to reach that perfect opacity but worth it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* viennah on 11/21/2012 6:02:00 PM more reviews by viennah

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy   Eyes: Hazel    

I don't normally splurge on nail polish, but I was so excited to see this shade on sale so I treated myself! I've been looking for a deep plum for years, but they were always too purple or shimmery. This is exactly what I was looking for, a deep plum that is almost black. Its so sophisticated :) It also seems to be chip-resistant and even passed the hair washing test. Glad I finally found it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Jwalash on 11/2/2012 4:36:00 AM more reviews by Jwalash

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I think I just found my replacement for OPI LPAD!!! LPAD I have been wearing for a few years now, and I thought it was my HG color until I found this Essie devils advocate. LPAD has a thicker consistency n can be troublesome to apply if not careful, but Essie goes on nicely n is just a tiny hair bit lighter so you can actually see the purple tint to it. Only con is that it is a 3 coater (thin) for full opaqueness. I love it!
EDIT: have been wearing this for 7 days with no top coat, there is only minimal tip wear. That is unheard of!!! OMG. This is the longest wearing nail polish I've ever applied!! This may be replacing my favorite OPI LPAD!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sterlingK on 10/25/2012 9:40:00 PM more reviews by sterlingK

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Other    

Gorgeous colour, looks black in most light but if you hold it near something black (or in sunlight) you can see there is a purple-ish tinge to it. I don't wear dark shades very often and never wear black polish but I like this a lot. Not as stark as black, dries very shiny and is opaque in 2 coats. I also love the way this looks with a glitter topcoat over it. I dislike that it seemed to take a while to dry compared to other Essies I own. Would repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 EvanRachel on 10/3/2012 5:45:00 PM more reviews by EvanRachel

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

This is a gorgeous,deep blackberry(black/violet) shade,and one of my absolute favorite Essie nail polish shades. It's very rich,and deep. A nice alternative to wearing black nail polish-this has the subtle nuance of dark violet mixed in there,and it gives it vamp appeal.
Love this!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Essie products

More Polishes products