Alterna • Alterna Bamboo Smooth - Kendi Oil • Styling Products

rated 4.2(37 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lotusfairy on 4/18/2014 8:13:00 PM more reviews by lotusfairy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love that this comes with a dropper. It makes it easier to get the amount I need without being wasteful. It has a nice fresh scent that lingers decently and it feels very light on my hair. It gives my hair a smoother appearance with a healthy shine. I apply it to damp hair and either use it as a leave in or as a style prep as mentioned on the bottle. This is pretty pricey at $25 but so far I am loving the results I am getting from it. I will definitely try adding this to my conditioner as one reviewer suggested and see what happens. I like the softness it imparts without making my hair greasy. Highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MsPsylocke on 1/20/2014 11:54:00 AM more reviews by MsPsylocke

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This is my 2nd deluxe size sample and I must say I will be going full size before I run out of this. Reason being this is one of the best oils I have ever used on my hair. It makes my hair so soft,manageable, and shiny. A little goes a very long way if I'm going natural my hair is super wavy this makes my waves look smooth and polished. It gives me a good hair day every time I use it. When I straighten my hair I use this before I straighten and then after for some shine and extra softness. What I love about this is it's super light so it's hard for your hair to get greasy when used properly.

It has a light fresh scent and it truly works on my very unruly hair! A couple spritzes to my problem area's and my hair looks and feels amazing. I especially love how soft and shiny my hair looks when I use this. I cannot recommend this enough for ladies with thick,moisture starved hair. It has done wonders for mine and I couldn't be happier with a styling product. I really love this oil and in conjunction with the Amika Oil Treatment. I am very happy with this product it works great for my waist long, thick, blonde hair. I couldn't be more happy with a hair product. I also love how you can use it on wet or dry hair. Either way it works excellent for my hair so I'm loving this.:) Most Definitely Recommended!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 freya323 on 12/28/2013 12:18:00 AM more reviews by freya323

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This stuff has changed my hair. It's like a miracle oil. I have lots of long, fine, wavy hair. I use it on damp hair before blowdrying, then again before curling or straightening, and again after styling to smooth and add shine. My hair never, ever feels weighed down, and the difference it makes in smoothness and shininess is immediately apparent. It has a nice, light scent. The dropper applicator is great because you can get down to the very last drop in the bottle. My last bottle, which I used all the time, lasted me about three months, so it is worth the money. I just bought my second bottle and decided to get the Bamboo Anti-Frizz shampoo and conditioner as well because I'm so impressed with this product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* flairgirl8 on 11/14/2013 2:38:00 PM more reviews by flairgirl8

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I have fine, dry hair. As long as I don't use too much, it softens and adds shine to my hair with a light scent. I apply only one or two drops to my chin length damp hair and my hair is frizz free for the whole day. The 1.7 oz bottle will last quite a while as you only need a tiny bit. Update: Have discovered Ojon rare oil blend and for some reason, it works so much better for me than this one.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* izzybella on 8/6/2013 10:22:00 AM more reviews by izzybella

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This smells amazing! This is recommended for medium to thick hair, so I have to be careful not to use too much on my fine hair. However, that just means that my sample will last that much longer. I applied a small amount to my ends before straight ironing and my hair felt amazingly smooth and thick. My ends were a little dry prior to application, and this oil definitely remedied that. I'm going to try this as a treatment oil next, but so far I'm a fan!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mariella99 on 7/10/2013 5:10:00 PM more reviews by mariella99

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I got a large foil packet of this hair oil as a sample from Sephora (the cashier just tossed it in with my purchases). I'm a fan of hair oils generally, I really like this one. I use it after shampooing, on damp hair and I use considerably more than the instructions suggest but I have thick, coarse hair that can handle a fair bit of oil and not look anything but smooth and silky. But used sparingly, I think this oil would be excellent for those with thinner or finer hair. It's lighter than my current favourite hair treatment oil from Ojon (that has become my "HG" hair oil) but Kendi Oil is a really nice product as well and it has a very pleasant scent that lingers just a bit (but enough to capture my attention on my freshly washed hair). I would certainly purchase a full size of this when I get close to running out of the various oils I already have (several bottles of Moroccan Oil, a bottle of Macadamia Oil, an almost full bottle of Mythic Oil, Ojon Restorative Serum....like I said, I'm a real fan of hair oils/serums)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ketidule on 6/15/2013 7:27:00 PM more reviews by ketidule

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I received a sample of this and loved it. That´s why I bought the whole bottle. But after a while it started losing it´s effect. My hair is dry and somewhat damaged and I look for moisture and nourishment from leave-in treatments. Immediately when I apply it it still makes my hair a little softer, but this is nowhere visible after a few hours. Will not repurchase. Kerastase wins over Alterna any day.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 AgeJ on 5/24/2013 9:33:00 PM more reviews by AgeJ

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

My sister is a hairdresser, so for every birthday or Christmas she always gifts me new products to try out.
Last birthday she gave me the 1.7 oz bottle of this oil, and I've had a few months to try this out.

Compared to other oil treatments, like Moroccan oil and other argan oils, this is quite light-feeling in the hair.
I have been using it as a leave in treatment on my damp hair after washing it, and while I think that's not necessarily the way you're meant to use it, it seems to work for me.

Because this is nice and light, it is perfect at smoothing and moisturizing.

I initially thought the dropper dispenser was going to be really annoying, but it actually allows complete control over how much you dispense, I never ever waste product.

Two reasons why this isn't a five-lippies product is;
1. The price. Although I got this as a gift, the 1.7 oz bottle costs upwards of $24 is quite a lot. So far this product has gone a long way, but still.

2. I don't find this to be as moisturizing as my beloved Macadamia Oil Healing Oil Treatment. I think this is meant to be the same as those types of treatments, but I still wish this product could do a bit more.

Overall, this is amazing, and if you have thinner hair this is definitely for you!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mimieux7 on 5/24/2013 8:50:00 PM more reviews by mimieux7

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Amazing!! My hair is very dry and thin due to hypothyroidism. I am forever looking for a product to put in after shampooing and conditioning that won't leave my hair looking limp, greasy and shineless. This is the solution.. Finally I've found a wonderful leave in and my hair looks and feels amazing after using for one week. Definitely repurchasing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Abbieness on 3/27/2013 11:06:00 AM more reviews by Abbieness

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I tried samples of this 3 times before purchase. Have used about 1/3 of the bottle at this point. At this point I would rather spend a little more for the Kerastase oleo that I like better because it was a little bit lighter weight. I will keep using it though because I do need something for my flyaways and it is a decent product. I like the scent, it is pretty neutral, no one ever notices it. I spray a couple times once on each side and then brush. It does make my hair shiny and soft. It is certainly way better than drugstore products I've tried. I would repurchase if it wasn't that I have found something better before w Kerastase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Alterna products

More Styling Products products