Unlisted Brand • Cosmetic Skin Solutions C E Ferulic • Skincare - Face

rated 4.4(9 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 ellen1159 on 8/6/2014 6:44:00 PM more reviews by ellen1159

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

My skin looks great. The only problem I have with it is that it doesn't have a lot of "slip" and I feel like I have to use more than the suggested 5 or 6 drops to cover everything. I'm now using ASDM Vitamin C serum and that seems to go on a bit silkier.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 xcessa on 8/26/2013 8:47:00 PM more reviews by xcessa

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I'm reviewing this after using it two weeks. I apply it in the am after toner and then put my SPF overtop. I have very sensitive reactive rosacean skin and I'm shocked that this has not led to any irritation at all! My skin feels smooth and the dark spots left from previous breakouts are visibly lightening. I really like this product! The only down side is that it makes my face shiny - not oily or slick shiny, but a dry shiny. Also my product looks like pure water. The previous reviewer who said they got one that was orange - that means the product isn't fresh.

-edit- I stopped using this, as it started irritating my skin and causing whiteheads. Blah.
2nd edit- I started using this again and it was fine. But it turned orange before I finished half the bottle!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 classicgirl05 on 4/22/2013 9:38:00 AM more reviews by classicgirl05

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I originally purchased the sample set of the CSS line up and have since repurchased the CE Ferulic, the Resurfacing, and the Vitamin C 20% serums. I have been using CSS for a little over a month. I have never used the Skinceuticles brand, so I cannot speak to how or if they are similar.

My skin-combination with a tendency towards hormonal breakouts and some blocked pores on my cheeks and chin. Lazy at exfoliating itself and happier if I use chemical exfoliants vs. manual. I have some light hyperpigmentation around my nose and chin, and a few spots from old acne on my cheeks. In winter I have patchy dry spots and in summer I have a super oily T zone. No real fine lines to speak of, though my skin texture around my eyes and just below is odd. I have had problems in the past with products containing lactic, salicylic, and glycolic acid. They work great for a week or so and then my skin seems to get irritated. I've had better luck with treatments/masks containing those acids, but not with stuff that stays on my skin for a prolonged period of time.

The serum arrives in a dark amber bottle with a dropper style top. I ordered one oz. though I believe one can order larger sizes. It looks very mad scientist and it's kinda cool having them lined up in my medicine cabinet.

The consistency of the product is thin, watery, and it smells a bit strange. The scent disappears shortly after application. The product itself is clear. It takes me around 5 drops to cover my face, I dispense it onto my middle finger, spread it over the rest of my fingers and apply to my face and neck. I haven't noticed any stickyness, the product is absorbed by my skin very rapidly. I love that I can't feel it on my face.

I have not noticed any stinging on application, which is odd for me as my skin is typically sensitive. I have not had any reactions at all to any CSS products except for some very light purging (1 or 2 very teeny quickly resolved spots) the first week in.

The value for the money, I think, is quite good. It takes a tiny amount of product to cover my face and, at this rate, one bottle will last me months.

The results-

Wow. My skin has been extremely clear, my hyperpigmentation is resolving, overall tone is evening out, and my skin has started glowing. The texture around my eyes and cheeks has improved greatly, and I haven't had any irritation at all. I will continue to purchase this, I'm thrilled.

My regime (in case your skin is a lot like mine)-

A.M. rinse my face with water. Apply CSS Vit. C 20% and CSS Eye Firming Gel. Wait a few minutes and then apply Loreal Sublime Sun Spf 50. Apply makeup.

P.M. Wash face with whichever cleanser I have on hand. If I'm wearing a lot of makeup I will double cleanse, once with an oil based cleanser to dissolve the makeup and then with something else. Apply CSS Resurfacing, follow with CSS CE Ferulic, and then 'Better Complexions Millia Cream' under my eyes. I wait about 10 minutes and then (depending on the season) I apply Nivea Creme and, if my skin is very dry, follow with a light layer of raw Shea Butter to seal it in. In the summer months I switch from Nivea Creme to Aveda 'All Sensitive' as my skin is oilier in that season.

Weekly Treatments- 2X weekly I do a second cleanse with my Clarisonic Mia (sensitive brush head) and I also use Dermologica's Gentle Cream Exfoliant 2X weekly. If my skin is at all irritated after either of those treatments I follow with rosewater to bring down the irritation.

Having written it all down it seems like a lot of steps and products. However, my skin looks gorgeous and healthy, I don't really need to wear makeup now, so it's worth it to me to keep it up.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* alba75 on 9/21/2012 12:52:00 PM more reviews by alba75

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I decided to try CE Ferulic serum after an extensive research and reviews by various bloggers. CE Ferulic is said to protect from photo aging and possibly address age and brown spots, and hyperpigmentation. It is a light yellow watery serum that sinks into a face fast. It has not got any offensive lingering smells. It made my face slightly shiny and sticky. My face looked all right. I did not have any bumps or breakouts and did not notice any significant lightening. However, this product gave my skin an yellowish-orange tint. This is the reason I give a lower rating. I wonder whether or not anyone else has something similar.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Jamima on 8/1/2012 7:01:00 PM more reviews by Jamima

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I've used this product for a few years after discovering it on Amazon.com.It's one of those (rare) products that really make a difference to my skin. It's definitely clearer and brighter. I have a few products that I'm loyal to and this is one of them. I was originally introduced to Skinceuticals at a medical cosmetic salon however the price meant I couldn't continue using that brand even though I thought it very effective. Cosmetic skin solutions is, in my opinion, exactly the same. Even with shipping to Australia it's very good value ($40 approx inc shipping). My only complaint, and this applies to the skinceutical products as well, is that the dropper packaging is not the best way to keep the antioxidants fresh and effective. Ideally the packaging should be airtight.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 arte8mis on 4/18/2012 5:25:00 AM more reviews by arte8mis

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Loving this, I bought the sample pack which includes 5 or 6 vials of their products after initially wanting to buy skinceuticals and then reading reviews for this. Love it, fresher skin and smaller pores and I am noticing some changes to fine wrinkles.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cathekim on 11/10/2011 2:29:00 PM more reviews by cathekim

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This is simply an awesome product. I've used the Skinceuticals CE Ferulic many times, ordered from different sources... and it's always oxidized! Whether it's light yellow or deep yellow in color or whether it smells slightly of hotdogs or strongly, I have never found a fresh Skinceuticals CE Ferulic from any where... and that's after spending close to $140! I love the CSS version. First, it's the same exact formulation. Second, nothing I've received from them ever looked or smelled like it's oxidized. Third, the shipping is free, making it even more cost effective... and they ship super fast! Wonderful product. (As an aside, I've also used the CSS AOX 20, also seems to be an exact dupe of the Skinceuticals version).

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nabides on 6/13/2011 9:35:00 PM more reviews by nabides

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Because of the price of skinceuticals serums I was looking for an alternative. I buy this off of Amazon. I have tried their brands CE ferulic, AOX 20 antioxidant and their Phloretin. Their CE Ferulic is by far the best. the other two are fine, didn't make my skin worse, but for me I notice a big difference and "glow" with this product. Put it this way when I use this product people compliment my skin. I store it in the fridge to prevent oxidation (it comes clear-a sign of a fresh batch) although towards the end sometimes crystals appear so I just shake it up. Their costumer service is helpful too. I have ordered this about 3 times and a bottle seems to last me a couple of months. I also order phloretin powder to stick in it. I try other vitamin c serums and always come back to this.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jstar2009 on 5/22/2011 8:52:00 AM more reviews by Jstar2009

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I've used Skinceuticals C E Ferulic many, many times and they have ALL suffered some degree of oxidation (even after being assured by a Harrod's SA that the batch was fresh in). This serum should be as clear as water- any colour change is oxidation and dangerous to apply to the skin. So, after paying 124 for 30 ml I have always ended up throwing them out. Enter the CSS version. Not only is it so much cheaper (I paid around 45 pounds for 30 ml and delivery from America), but it was, as it should be, CLEAR AS WATER. This will be the only antioxidant serum I will use indefinitely. I use a sunscreen containing Mexoryl SX/XL everyday too. A rare HG for me.

Update: I just received my second bottle of this- clear as water again- yay! :)

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More Unlisted Brand products

More Skincare - Face products