E.L.F. • Studio Cream Eyeshadow in Eggplant • Eye Shadow

rated 3.2(10 reviews)

Average Rating.3.2
Would buy this product again.50%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 prcsillusion on 3/14/2013 1:49:00 PM more reviews by prcsillusion

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

Love love love this. Pigmented, lasts long, DOESN"T CREASE WITHIN 4 8 hours. Cheap, no complaints.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Christinaann5 on 7/16/2012 10:43:00 PM more reviews by Christinaann5

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I am obsessed with the Elf Studio Cream shadows. They are very similiar to the new raved up Maybelline Color Tattoos- they are dupes but more like cousins. These cream shadows are amazing and i wish they would come out with more and more!
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ PRICE & AVAILABILITY ~~~~~~~~~~~~
The Elf Studio Cream Eyeshadows can be found online on the eyeslipsface website as well as various shades at varying Target & KMart stores. I have recently seen a few shades available at my local Dollar Tree stores so ladies, go check if you are interested in trying any. The price is great. At full price, these are $3 which isnt bad esp for the product & how much you get. Even better if you catch them on a good sale which always check retailmenot site for coupon codes!! would i pay full price? yes, i have & would again if i had to.
~~~~~~ SHADE & FORMULA & PERFORMANCE ~~~~~
The Elf Studio Cream shadows are a great cream shadow formula. These cream shadows are a nice thicker cream that spreads well. Def will need to use a primer first to help prevent any creasing or fading. Esp if you have oily lids. I have normal to dry skin & these stay put for hours!! A cream shadow can be used alone for a more natural & effortless look but if you top these a powder shadow, it will allow the powder shadows to stand out or be more pigmented, as well as keep the cream shadow from fading or creasing & can allow different undertones of shadows to be brought out. I am obsessed w/ cream shadows & these have quickly become my favorite! The formula is similar to a paintpot meaning, its not too waxy or wet. A perfect cream consistency that can be applied w/ fingers or a synthetic brush. These apply true to color in pot & blend easily w/out blending away. You also got a little bit of time to work with them to blend & smooth w/out worrying that they are gonna dry fast. Using a thin layers will also help against creasing as well as them looking too cakey. Eggplant is a great midtone color but least used esp in the summer/spring months but can be used year round. Eggplant in the jar is a deepened brownish purple maroon. It shows up a little less dark on the lids but its multi-faceted meaning, it shows up as a medium purple maroon with a bronze undertone. It shows lighter where the light naturally hits like the lids but darkens in the crease area so it can be worn alone for a look. Eggplant can be worn year round & works well underneath almost any color esp bronze, browns, purples & maroons.
~~~~~~~~~~~ PACKAGING ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
The Elf Studio Cream shadows come in a bulky hard plastic jar that the cream blushes & lip balms come in. This hard plastic container doesnt look cheap. Its just a bit big. I know they have since put some of the shades in the same but smaller packaging that the cream liners come in. So i have yet to find out if its the same amount of cream shadow or less for the same price. When i look, ill update here. The lid is a flat black color w/ white elf logo & product name. The bottom is see through allowing to see which color is inside. Nice if you have more of the elf studio products since they all have almost the same packaging. The lid is a tad inconvenient. You must make sure to twist the lid on correctly otherwise, the product will dry out. You will see that its not on right since the lid wont sit flat. So with the minor flaws, its not the best but its def not the worst either. They had a good idea but it just didnt come out too great. Other than that, I really do love the product inside & feel like i can look past it. I could always depot if it becomes too bothersome. I have all the available shades & they do take up some room in my collection but they look nice at least!
Overall, if you are looking for some good cream bases or cream shadows, these are wonderful! I think the formula is great & these are affordable & cruelty free! Eggplant is a great base to use alone or paired w/ lots of other shadows. Great for a nice warm smoky look or a nice warm maroon purple daytime look, very versatile & so pretty.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mirageangelhope on 7/15/2012 11:47:00 PM more reviews by mirageangelhope

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love these cream shadows just not this Color
For one thing this is the size of there cream liner and not the normal size of like 9 grams of there other colors.I agree with the one reviewer who said that the pigmentation isn't very good. It a pale purple which on the eye looks like a pale brown and doesn't have the lasting power of the other cream shadows from elf.The other color are just as good as the maybelline color eye tattoo both in color and lasting power.
Try the other colors bronzed, natural light,dawn they are amazing

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 seroled on 6/8/2012 8:47:00 AM more reviews by seroled

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Cool   Hair: Black, Curly   Eyes: Brown    

I really like the elf shadows. Looks great with UDPP and lasts all day. Only thing is this color is not eggplant. It's a pale purple, but I like it. Looks great as a smokey eye with Milani liquifye pencil.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* hobosmiles on 10/6/2011 8:04:00 PM more reviews by hobosmiles

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I am a huge lover of ELF's Studio Cream Shadows, and this one is just as fabulous as the rest of them. They're all very creamy and easy to blend (with a finger, NOT a brush!) and they don't crease. While all of the other colors are pretty much universal colors, this one is not and that's why the rating is so low. The purple has a red undertone which causes most wearers to appear sick, or dead. It's also very dark and easy to overdo. Wear this with caution!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kushiez on 9/15/2011 5:50:00 PM more reviews by kushiez

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Huge huge raves for this product! I bought it on a whim not really knowing what to expect and I was pleasantly suprised when I put this on. Its not a true eggplant color, it has a reddish brown tint to it, but its fantastic on my pale, cool skin. I applied it with the brush that came with the UD Naked Palette and it was so smooth. The formuma is very slippery so I can ser this getting messy if applied with fingers, but the UD brush is perfect for this and other cream shadows. I love this and look forward to trying other colors!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Cupcake210 on 8/30/2011 6:38:00 PM more reviews by Cupcake210

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

The consistency is similar to Benefit's creaseless cream shadows, however, does not have comparable pigmentation. It's not easy to work with because it does look messy around the eye. It looks terrible alone and doesn't really do much under eyeshadow. If you like Mac's paintpots, you will hate this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 haleyanna19 on 8/13/2011 11:44:00 AM more reviews by haleyanna19

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Wow, can't believe the positive reviews on this one. These usually work for me; however, eggplant was a HUUUUUGE no-no. I put it on up to and just a little bit past my crease on the left eye, and was pretty un-pigmented, so I dug a litle deeper into the pan for the right eye, and WOW what a "little bit deeper" made. It was so dark and ugly and I guess I didnt watch what I was doing when I applied (I like to watch TV and put on makeup at the same time so maybe I was too busy watching the TV instead of my fingers! :-P) and I got it ALLLL over the sides of my nose. AWFUL! so I wiped it off and tried again. Watched very carefully this time....barely got any out on my fingers...and it did the same thing! Eggplant crap EVERYWHERE! so weird! so I tried to just wipe what I could off and darken the other eye....well the crap just spread to the other eye. I was an eggplant MESS that day. I didnt have time to start over so I just kept on going. Needless to say, I looked awful. I tried again the next day and it was just a goopy, too-dark mess again. Third time's the charm, tried AGAIN, and same thing. I wound up giving this to my best friend who loves purple eyeshadows. I Never asked her how it worked for her. Anyway...long story short...these can be hit or miss...this one and Candlelight is a huge miss....:/

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* BarbItalia on 7/22/2011 6:43:00 PM more reviews by BarbItalia

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Sooooo pretty and pigmented but true, this is not an eggplant shade! It's a red-purple. I'm rather surprised that I can wear this shade; it looks really nice on my brown eyes. I don't apply this to my entire lid though; I use Smashbox's #30 shadow-liner brush and apply this as a smudgy liner applied thickly at my lashline and slightly beyond the lid to a bit of a tail, then lightly under my eye. Using my bronzer brush I sweep a bit of LG's Bronze-n-Brighten (my favorite!) from my crease to brow. I have alot of space there and the bronze shade warms up my eyes, visually lessens that space and helps the red-purple shade of Eggplant work for me. A little black liner to lift the outer corners of my eyes and mascara makes for a super-easy summer eye that lasts all day. I love ELF's Cream Eyeshadows, they're my greatest summer makeup find! I even like the clunky jar - it feels like I have so much product! If you have green eyes this is a no-brainer - ya gotta get this! *shade is deeper that the shade shown above, from ELF website*

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pjw1209 on 5/21/2011 10:59:00 PM more reviews by pjw1209

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Three stars because Eggplant is not Eggplant it's Purple, but not the right shade of Purple. It's hard to explain, but it has a reddish tint (at least it does on me), which looked horrible on my eyelids. If the color was darker, it would be easier to wear. Right now, it just looks like my eyes are bruised. I use a white base under all of my eye shadows and that didn't even help this one. Maybe, a Purple NYX Jumbo pencil underneath this color could help.


The consistency is nice and creamy, and after it's applied it's completely crease less. The size of the container is huge, so the cream eye shadows are an excellent value. I have Dawn, which is a gorgeous taupe and I have Bronzed. Not crazy about Bronzed, it's too dark for me. I am going to purchase Candlelight, but I will not buy Eggplant again...



1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More E.L.F. products

More Eye Shadow products