Naruko • Narcissus Total Defense Makeup Removing Mousse • Cleansers

rated 2.7(9 reviews)

Average Rating.2.7
Would buy this product again.44%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 earthlyvixen024 on 5/21/2014 2:54:00 AM more reviews by earthlyvixen024

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I was not happy at all with this and I'm a big fan of Naruko. It didn't get the job done and made my face feel gross after.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 jltful89 on 11/29/2012 10:22:00 AM more reviews by jltful89

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I am so unhappy with this product :(

It is not effective at all. The instructions on the bottle says to use 3 pumps for the entire face. I got a fairly thick mousse and massaged for 30 seconds or so. Looked clean, felt too clean, eek, hate the tight uncomfortable feel. One lippie (lippy?) gone.
I then applied my toner with a cotton pad and discovered that my foundation was more afraid of the toner than the remover. Yuck. Makeup removing session again. Ratings go down again.
I experienced stinging around the nose and cheek area. I think the essential oils in it don't agree with my skin.

A weird thing is there's both instructions on how to use it for removing eye makeup, as well as, a note of caution to avoid using the product on the eye area. Confused? So am I. Personally, I would say not to use it on the eye.Some of the stuff got into my eye when I was rinsing it off. Ouch!! Relaxing, stress relieving product it is not.

Anything good to say? Well, if it had worked, it would have been pretty affordable. Drugstore price, a lot of product...hmm but it didn't.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 raustyrain on 2/10/2012 9:57:00 AM more reviews by raustyrain

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this product. I;m cautious when it comes to using makeup removers that are oil-based as I had experienced breakouts from products used in the past. This product did not break me out. The mousse turned out to be really convenient. I use it to clean off my face makeup and sunblock and then double cleanse my face with a normal facial wash so I can't really say much about the cleaning power of this. It seems to do a good job of cleaning my foundation off etc. I even tried it on my eyes but the results were not good. I still use it to clean off my mascara and eyeliner when I'm too lazy to use a separate remover. It doesn't clean that well. Overall, I like it and am likely to repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Princess1125 on 12/12/2011 10:53:00 PM more reviews by Princess1125

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

One of the best make up remover that I've used. It removes make up without leaving your skin feeling dry. I am prone to breakouts but using this does not irritate my skin at all because it's very mild yet does a thorough cleaning.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 whoahmaria on 11/15/2011 7:41:00 AM more reviews by whoahmaria

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

As a huge fan of oil cleansers, I was drawn to the idea of an oil based mousse to remove makeup. While the concept is great, the product failed to remove makeup and irritated my eyes. I've been trying to use it for about a month but will be throwing out the rest of the bottle because of the irritation and the poor quality.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Poohbieloo on 10/3/2011 11:38:00 PM more reviews by Poohbieloo

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I really wanted to love this product. When you put it on your face, the next day you could feel your skin is hydrated and soft. But all that doesn't matter because, my skin broke out!! Despite all the rave, I don't think that this product is for me which is really sad. I was super excited to finally get a hand on it and this product let me down.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Jochua83 on 8/19/2011 12:15:00 PM more reviews by Jochua83

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I wanted to try this makeup remover after reading about it and watching numerous youtube video raves on it, including those from fuzkittie. Unfortunately I had an allergic reaction to this product and my face and neck broke out in angry, large, red, itchy, burning patches. It feels like I rubbed my face vigorously with sandpaper!

I have pretty sensitive and intolerant skin that gets red easily. This was the only new product I introduced into my routine, I actually used it on two separate days just to confirm that it was the culprit, partly because I really really wanted to love it!

I'm wondering if it's a defective bottle I received? The other products from the Narcissus line that I tried worked fine on me.

Price and packaging were great, but I will not be touching this again with a 10 foot pole.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hazefree2002 on 6/9/2011 9:23:00 AM more reviews by hazefree2002

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This is seriously very good. I have tried a lot of makeup removers, mostly Japanese cleansing oil and this is not oily at all. It comes out a fine and dense foam and smells oddly refreshing. It sells in Singapore for sgd$17.90 through their online shop. I will definitely repurchase. Better than lots of the high end brands out there.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* modernabsurdity on 5/19/2011 9:57:00 PM more reviews by modernabsurdity

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This line is some good stuff. Ever since I started using the Diorsnow sunscreen and bb creams I knew I had to use some type of oil cleanser to properly remove everything. My first attempt was the infamous oil cleansing method, which was a total fail. Needless to say I was thrilled when this stuff arrived.


The product comes in a nice purple bottle with a pump dispenser. One of the things I love about Naruko products is that the boxes can be cut up & folded into neato little containers. Less waste and you get a pencil case! Naruko is also cruelty-free and all in all pretty natural stuff. The foam is light and fluffy with a fresh herbal/floral scent. It absolutely takes off all my skin care and makeup. I don't get a weird squeaky feeling and my skin doesn't dry out. It even removes eye makeup pretty well.


As far as cost goes, it varies a bit because it's a Taiwanese import. You'll end up paying anywhere between $8-20. Even at $20 I consider this a total deal. If you hated the OCM like I did, this baby is worth its weight in gold. I seriously have about 4 backups under my sink. I think it would work for all skin types and I can't recommend it enough!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More Naruko products

More Cleansers products