NARS • New Order Highlighting Blush • Highlighters

rated 3.3(14 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.57%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 breatheonbeat on 9/12/2014 4:42:00 AM more reviews by breatheonbeat

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

i purchased this for several reasons:
-i am EXTREMELY fair (~nc 5?), and most blushes (only use nars, so dolce vita, etc) make me look clowny if i am not careful. i read that this wasn't super pigmented, so i figured it was buildable.
-i wanted nars sex fantasy and hoped the color was similar.
-the name! love new order.

verdict? for me, this is a subtle pink. it has the golden sheen that many nars blushes have (know what i mean?) as well as a layer of silver glitter. fwiw, angelika also strikes me as 'glittery.' orgasm does not.

what i've found is that this is BEST applied with a fan brush. i experimented with a few brushes, and the fan seems to be the best. it picks up the most powder and distributes it along with color where i'd like it.
i also tried with:
x it cosmetics 'heavenly luxe double airbrush foundation brush' (it has 'dual-fiber brush hairs' and a flat top. google for a pic. i think it is similar to mac 187)- this picked up almost NO powder. tbh i don't know a ton about brushes, but was advised to use mac 187 with msfs, so i figured this would work in a similar way. nope.
~ japonesque leopard mini kabuki, which i use for a lot of blushes. results were okay. but didn't get as much control as with the fan brush, and i felt like it wasted a lot of product.

yes, there is glitter, but its not awful. i do like this, but i don't know how it would read on a darker skintone. again, i am very very fair- too fair for drugstores and too fair for mac. i do wish it was a bit more pigmented, but like i said, i have to be careful about something like that anyway. i know people also advised layering with a cream blush, so i might try that eventually as well! i would actually repurchase this if i ever run out.
here is me wearing it. it is not layered with another blush, but i am wearing the nars olympia contour shade as a contour. :)

0
Full Size Image

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 maye8384 on 4/7/2014 12:39:00 PM more reviews by maye8384

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This blush was such a dissappointment! I originally saw the swatches on Sephora's website and fell in love with the light pink/lavender color. I don't mind blushes with some shimmer, as long as there is color payoff. Unfortunately this blush didn't live up to my expectations. I understand that this is called a "Highlighting Blush" and wouldn't be totally opaque, but I did expect some of the purple color to show up. Absolutely no color showed up on my cheeks, only chunky glitter. I am NC15 in MAC or 1N1 in Estee Lauder, and there was zero color! I wouldn't even use this as a highlighter because of the chunky nature of the glitter, it reminded me of something I would have used from the dollar store when I was 11. I returned this blush, and I wouldn't reccomend it. I was so sad, because I was looking for a lavender toned blush and usually have nothing but love for NARS blushes!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* prncss on 11/11/2012 2:07:00 AM more reviews by prncss

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this because I like glitter and wanted to layer this on my cheekbones overtop blush for a glitter effect. When I swatched this with my finger on my wrist, there was a pretty layer of glitter along with a very light detection of highlighter. However, when I took this home and applied this with a highlighting blush, this did not show up at all on my NC 35 medium tanned skin. There was no color (despite the fact that it looks pale pink in the pan) and no glitter :( I thought that this would be like Super Orgasm in a highlighter version but I was very disappointed.

In order for the highlighter to show, I would have to pile a very heavy layer of this on, which at that point, would look cakey and powdery. Overall, this does not work for tanned skin tones but I imagine this would be very pretty on pale or lighter skin tones. Sadly I had to return this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* harmony888 on 10/13/2012 4:12:00 AM more reviews by harmony888

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

C'mon, if sweet ole' Taylor Swift can ROCK it- so can WE!!! This is fantastic! One swipe on the upper apples of cheeks is all you need- so much fun, so simple and I love this with a nude lip and natural shadow for day and smokey eye for eve. For Vegas or a dim lit dinner, I swipe on apples of shoulders and decollete..in summer with St Tropez tanner.. highlight a swipe straight down the middle of your thigh and straight behind your lower leg! LOVE this sooo much. Take a brush liner and line the inner of eyes or right above black eyeliner on lids. It's endless!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Sparkle0117 on 8/15/2012 2:35:00 AM more reviews by Sparkle0117

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This highlighting blush should be called, "The Pinky Lilac Sparkle Bomb." Holy smokes - the sparkle fallout is insane! The first time I wore this, my husband commented on how much he liked the way my "cleavage was sparkling!" I hadn't even noticed - I had been too busy doing damage control where I had actually applied the blush! Don't get me wrong, I *love* glitter, thus my SN, but this was just too over the top.

The powder itself is a GORGEOUS, almost milky, muted pink with lilac tones to it. It's great for my cool toned skin, but I have rosy undertones, and this powder is very sheer. I understand it's a highlighter, but I wish it were a full pigmented blush. I never, ever run across cool toned pinky lilac blushes like this that don't "warm up" or lose the lilac tones once applied. =( This powder still gives a lovely wash of "cooled brightness" to the face, which is something a rosy cheeked girl, like myself, can appreciate, but the glitter really takes away from the overall usability of this product.

This blush blends beautifully, and the texture isn't rough the way some glittery powders can be. It smells nice, too. If it weren't for the glitter, I would definitely repurchase, as this would be a HG product in my makeup stash.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* GlitzyGlam on 5/19/2012 7:38:00 AM more reviews by GlitzyGlam

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I had searched everywhere for an icy cool toned pink blush and I had just about given up. All of them were too dark or too warm/peach. I was thrilled when I spotted this, but the glitter made me nervous because I'm not usually trying to look like a stripper. When I tried it on I was shocked. The perfect icy pink sheen I'd envisioned! The glitter didn't look stupid or cheap at all, it was totally wearable, even for day! It really perfects my skin and sets my whole face aglow. I get more compliments on my skin when I wear this. Sometimes shimmer products can make your skin look bumpy or make your pores look huge (even when your skin is good). The trick is in the application, you don't want to apply it like regular blush (blending with a fluffy brush), you will probably look ridiculous with glitter all over your face. I use the very edge of my blush brush and kind of gently tap it on the top of the middle part of my cheekbone. Then the light bounces off and reminds me of the cheek sheen I've seen in some old Marilyn Monroe photos. Very striking and ethereal. The pink in this is sheer because needs to be as blending would send the glitter flying. The pink may not show on darker skin, but it's perfect on pale skin. The first picture in the MUA reviews is much more accurate than the 2nd, which looks much warmer than the blush is in real life.

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 KGJxx on 4/25/2012 9:07:00 PM more reviews by KGJxx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Yeah, this is a glitter bomb. For me, it has absolutely no pigmentation and deposits nothing but glitter on my face which very quickly ends up absolutely everywhere. Which prompts me to ask, why is this 21? It doesn't "highlight" at all, neither does it do what a blush should do either. A big big disappointment from NARS.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Morahmakeupblog on 4/10/2012 11:48:00 PM more reviews by Morahmakeupblog

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

New Order has tons of gold and silver glitter particles. The glitter isn't exactly fine either, the size borders on being kiddy glitter. Anyone within one-foot can see the individual glitter particles on my face. I would not recommend this to someone who just want a luminous glow on their face, the glitter particles are too big for that.

This is a great product, however, for clubbing or other nighttime social activities. On very fair skin, the pink color would show up as well, so it could work as a light blush.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lilinah on 3/6/2012 4:07:00 PM more reviews by lilinah

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

OK, it's true, New Order will most likely sprinkle your face with fairy dust... but it's such sweet fairy dust...
.
My skin is fair, neutral toned leaning to warm. I don't wear blush everyday, so i have a limited number of blushes in my makeup stash. Among them are some NARS blushes on the warm side -- Deep Throat (sorta like Orgasm without the glitter), Luster (pale apricot). But i wanted a cooler color in my arsenal. So i recently picked up both New Order and Gaiety (see review there).
.
The color in N.O. is quite sheer - but it is definitely pink - while it's pale, it does show up, at least on me. On me the shimmer seems to tend to gold in the almost lilac base. It is also full of fine sparkles - this isn't big glitter, but one can definitely see the shiny bits. I generally use a small fluffy angled eye shadow brush to apply my blush to my cheek bones. And doing so with N.O. i did not incur any fall out. If you use a bigger fluffier brush and cover more of your face, however, i would expect you'd see fall out in other places.
.
By evening, when i went to take off my make up, i could see very fine silvery sparkles in other places, which i didn't think was excessive. But if you hate glitter, New Order is definitely NOT a product for you. If you wear some glittery stuff but have some hesitations, then you probably would prefer to limit it to night time use. I'm content to wear this during the day. Applied with a light hand the shimmer is not disco-ball-ish, it's no stronger than many other highlighting blushes by other companies (like, oh, say MAC). As i said, the micro-sparkles do travel a bit, but it's like being sprinkled with fairy dust. I thought it was kinda pretty.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* doocaw on 11/17/2011 2:03:00 PM more reviews by doocaw

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I was prepared for the worst with this one! The color looks gorgeous in the pan, a light, cool, soft pink with small glitters; but I had read some unsatisfactory reviews and wasn't expecting this to work for me. But it does!! I'm NC20, and this gives the prettiest soft pink glow to my cheeks. It isn't the glitter bomb I was prepared for; in fact, the glitter is subtle (bigger than shimmer, but smaller than most glitters) and can be knocked off your brush before applying, if it's too over the top for you. This doesn't have great lasting power (the only reason I didn't give it a "5" rating), but it works well to layer over other shades to give them a little kick and sparkle.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NARS products

More Highlighters products