The Body Shop • Vitamin C Facial Radiance Capsules • Skincare - Face

rated 3.3(12 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.58%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 MissOrthodox on 4/2/2014 12:37:00 AM more reviews by MissOrthodox

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Brown, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

The Body Shop were having a sale when I decided to give these a try. I knew vitamin C was supposed to be great for healing the skin and brightening, so I thought 'Why not?'.

NIGHT USE

I only use this at night time, before bed for maximum effect.

Upon squeezing the pale orange serum onto my fingers, I wasn't immediately convinced it would be enough product, but it really was! It has a very light silky texture that absorbs nicely into the skin leaving a slight sheen (not oily).

In the morning when I woke up to wash my face and looked in the mirror and noticed that my face wasn't as dry as normal. I continued use every night (sometimes I'd miss a night, but put it on in the day when I wasn't going out), and I noticed that my old dark acne marks were fading rapidly.

NOTE: My primary face at this time was the 'Biore Ice Fighting Cleanser' (Skin Clearing with Salicylic Acid)

Over the course of 1 month, I used these everyday for about 2 weeks until I was satisfied with the results. My skin had never been so clear, soft and radiant. Applying make-up was just for fun, rather than a crutch.

Fast forward two years and I don't know why I ever stopped using these. I've just purchased some more from eBay (much cheaper than the BS website itself).

I've never had a bad experience using these capsules, they just work for me!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* KBaylie on 11/17/2013 3:18:00 AM more reviews by KBaylie

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I only bought this because The Body Shop was having a sale. I usually never buy stuff from this store, but after speaking to a girl my age (I'm 30) who possessed the skin of a 20 year old, I learned that she used this product and I knew I had to try it. Honestly, my skin is very picky when it comes to products and I know that what works for some may not work for others so I wasn't expecting very much in terms of results. Let me just say, WOW. I used to exfoliate every other day to brighten my skin and keep it smooth and soft, but every since I started using this I don't need exfoliate at all because my skin is so soft, smooth and bright. Not only that, but somehow I managed to stop breaking out. That never happens. Even after all these results I was still skeptical, so I stopped using this for two days and I broke out again. I really hope they don't discontinue this.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 demiller on 11/3/2013 9:29:00 AM more reviews by demiller

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

Value for money. I like the scent. Use it at night, twice a week. After some time, my skin looks more radiant. Not oily after skin absorbs everything.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* BriddaBella on 8/13/2013 4:41:00 PM more reviews by BriddaBella

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

My skin was really bad last winter and I wanted to give it a little vitamin boost.
I looked at different reviews and everywhere I read about it I saw amazing reviews so I gave in and bought this product.

It comes in little orange capsules which you twist open and squeeze out the product.
I absolutely hate the smell but it blends easily and makes your skin feel really soft and smooth. Unfortunately it hasn't made any difference to my skin. It was still dry with red patches and I couldn't see or feel any improvement.

I don't recommend this product. It's over-hyped and over-priced.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 vuvie on 2/13/2013 10:26:00 PM more reviews by vuvie

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I don't like this at all. It has some granule that scratches my face. It applies thick and sort of sting my sensitive skin a little. So I gave it to my mum.

Now on her 50-ish skin it was phenomenal! Her skin brightened up, moistures, smoothed fine lines and even reduced the pigmentation she had on her cheeks due to sun exposure.
Which is why I am giving this 4 stars.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 asherzoby on 11/20/2012 12:28:00 AM more reviews by asherzoby

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I hate it when i am the only few people not impressed by a cult product. All my friends are big fans of this but not me. I found that the product left a oily residue on my skin which i hate. I don't see any obvious change to my skin after finishing up 2 boxes of this product. In fact, i cannot be certain if it was this product which caused my acne to be even worse after i broke out terribly from using Clarisonic Mia.

I am swearing off beauty products and just sticking with my dermatologist.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 smithar on 1/11/2012 9:43:00 PM more reviews by smithar

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Received this as a gift; I'm not really a fan of TBS's Vitamin C line (I don't like orange-smelling things) but I was willing to give the product a shot. The capsules contain a gel that basically evaporates the moment it hits my skin. I moisturize right after applying the capsule but I can't really tell if it's making any difference to my nighttime regiment. Don't really see the point of it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 vinihere on 12/17/2011 12:11:00 PM more reviews by vinihere

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I'm a fan of entire vitamin C range and this one tops the list. After a month of daily use- night time, my skin is smoothened and is more tight & radiant. It has also helped control excess sebum production since I have somewhat oily skin. It's recommended to be used before moisturizing, so those who have dry skin should definately moisturize after its application. great product and I keep buying it :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 empiricallyVain on 5/30/2011 2:52:00 PM more reviews by empiricallyVain

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I love this product!!! love it! I always come back to these capsules. I do find them expensive though, but there are usually great sales like buy 3 get 2 free and I take advantage here. These are fantastic under makeup, smell great, non greasy, leave my skin really smooth and soft, brighten it up and even out the tone and kick fine lines in the bum. I always use 2 to 3 a day though, and put them on immediately after the shower with a little face massage. Surprised to see so many bad reviews, but I love them!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 bbBearBear on 5/17/2011 11:27:00 PM more reviews by bbBearBear

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I think a lot of ppl are writing review for this but under the wrong product (time release capsule).

Rating really depends on user expectations. The bottle claims "smooth and revive skin's appearance with Community Trade brazil nut oil". Thankfully I never meant to expect such results when I got them. I simply wanted to brighten up my skin. My face has always been 2 to 3 shades darkher than my neck and it's always awkward to use a foundation shade closer to my neck (too light). Oppositely, if I use a foundation that matches my face.. I look even more orange (I've yellow undertone).

No visible results until mid to end of 3rd week of use. I just opened up my second bottle, and I'm proud to say my face is way closer to my neck now. At least 1 shade brighter (just permanently brighter, not bc after I've put it on at night due to the reflective particle). That's my expectation and it achieves that.

They are stored inside capsules. The gel is white w/ some little gold particles. Each capsule has more than enough for my face. When apply to skin, it goes on dry immediately w/out a trace of moisture on face or finger. Felt like as if I was putting on a very delicate powder. I put on moisturizer immediately to lock in the high concentration of pure vitamins.

28 capsules sucks, but I always forget a night or two. So 28 capsules actually lasted me 38 days... LOL.

I will repurchase only when it's on sale again.. like buy 3 for $30 (regular $28.50).

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More The Body Shop products

More Skincare - Face products