Clarins • Gentle Foaming Cleanser with Cottonseed for Normal or Combination Skin • Cleansers

rated 4.1(88 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.72%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 Deserts on 4/20/2014 3:00:00 AM more reviews by Deserts

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Other    

Love the smell. Feels clean after washing my face. But I never know if it's working or not because I didn't use it persistently. Anyway, too expensive for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Moonjellie14 on 3/20/2014 7:15:00 AM more reviews by Moonjellie14

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This has gotta be the most moisturizing facial cleanser I've used. My skin feels clean yet soft & supple. Will continue using this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 valerieetc on 2/23/2014 4:44:00 AM more reviews by valerieetc

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

I was excited when I got this one because I loved the Clarins exfoliating cream and had decided to finally switch to higher-end cleansers and toners after using Lush products for over a year. In the very beginning I was impressed - even though my skin felt slightly too tight after using the cleanser, I noticed an instant improvement to my previously clogged pores and numerous tiny blackheads. Also, it added radiance to my skin.
The tightness and the weird squeaky-clean feeling wore off over the next two weeks.. but then today I woke up to realise that my skin was back to the dehydrated/oily state which it had not been in for over three years! Also it feels sensitive like hell, and I did get blotches of redness, which is weird for my skin since I've never had a breakout in the past few years.
There might be other products to blame - I suspect my Bioderma anti-redness cream (for mild rosacea) for acting weird, but I'm not so sure. Anyway, I went to the store today and got the Clarins Alpine Herb cleansing milk and their toner for dry and sensitive skin. So far they feel good :) I'm not giving up on Clarins yet, because I love their moisturizers, and - call me a freak - I love their products' smell :))

P.S.: I've never had oily skin, but there is a slight chance that this cleanser would work for oily skin. However, I'm pretty sure that a foaming cleanser is bound to dry out any kind of skin eventually.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 yellowease on 1/25/2014 3:22:00 PM more reviews by yellowease

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I was excited to try Clarins because I am currently going through an acne journey and be forewarned it might affected my overall rating. I tried this product nightly with my clarisonic mia for a month. It lathers well and it smells amazing. However, that's all it did for me. I can't boast about how it improved my overall skin because I am currently breaking out from unknown causes. I can also warn you if it gets anywhere near your eyes.. it will burn.. a lot. For this reason I returned it slightly disappointed. It is a promising product and it definitely will last you a long time.

Maybe when my skin decides to calm down I will re-purchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 katy42 on 12/21/2013 7:02:00 AM more reviews by katy42

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Dry, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This winter I decided to swap my trusty Clinique Rinse-Off Foaming Cleanser/Liquid Soap duo for Clarins cleansers. I read the reviews here and noted that several stated that this product was harsh. Won't be a problem for me, I thought; I've used dozens of Clarins products over the years and found them OK. I've also happily used numerous tubes of the original "All Skin Types" formula of this cleanser before it was discontinued, and found the new Shea Butter version too rich, so this should be absolutely fine.
Wrong!
I used this product after taking off my makeup with Clarins Cleansing Milk (normal/dry) and my skin felt tight and slightly sore. I thought I'd overcleansed so added plenty of oil (avocado) and moisturiser to compensate. Next morning I washed my face with a tiny amount of this very concentrated product and felt the same sore tightness. I had to add two layers of Bobbi Brown Intensive Hydrating Night Cream to make my face feel more comfortable, and found that my skin just soaked it up like a sponge.
I used this cleanser for a few more days, following advice from previous reviewers such as to use a tiny amount only and to rinse off quickly. I had a sample of Clarins Extra-Comfort Toning Lotion which really did help to soothe before moisturising. My skin started to feel better but there was still the same slightly sore tight feeling all day, which was over and above the mild tightness you might usually have after washing and before moisturising.I thought I'd just have to get used to it over time, but then caved in and got the Shea Butter version for which I will write a separate review.
I did some online research and found that this cleanser contains tamarind fruit acid, and I am wondering if this ingredient is the culprit. After washing my face my skin felt as if it had had all the moisture and oil sucked out of it. It's not often that paint stripper comes to mind when using a skincare product, but it did this time!
I will keep this product for the summer and then may use it once a day only. I'm disappointed because I've used Clarins normal/combo products before and really wasn't expecting this.
On the plus side, my skin did look a lot brighter after five days of using this cleanser, but that might just illustrate that there is a significant level of exfoliating fruit acid in the product. It's also so concentrated that a small pea-sized amount is all you need, so it will last a very long time.
Clarins SAs (particularly in Boots in the UK) are very helpful when it comes to providing free samples so if you are new to this product I would strongly recommend trying this out before purchasing particularly if you are more dry than oily.
Despite all this, I've given it three stars because it did cleanse well and while my skin felt tight there was no redness, dryness or any other visible signs of irritation, and there is a lot of product for the price.
**Update** after two weeks of using the Shea Butter Foaming Cleanser I decided to give this another try. I used it last night and this morning - no soreness, tightness at all, and my skin looked much brighter and clearer! Perhaps my skin just needed to get used to these Foaming Cleansers. From the ingredients listing it seems that all three contain tamarind, cottonseed and shea butter, but in different quantities depending on the skin type.
**Update 22/02/14** I've been using this regularly and having no problems, and my skin is looking good, so I've upped my rating to 5 stars.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 moments12 on 11/25/2013 1:09:00 PM more reviews by moments12

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using this cleanser for the last six years, or maybe even longer? What got me attracted to this product is their use of natural ingredients. I used to have teen acne problems, not an extreme case, but when you live in a tropical country, it gets really annoying, especially with combination skin. I was always trying to improve my three step cleaning system and have tried Clinique, Murad, Proactiv, Neutrogena etc. None of them was able to leave me satisfied.

So while researching online, some people said it takes awhile for the face to heal and you need to treat it from the underlying root of the problem. I went on to search for something that's calming for the face (maybe I am sensitive, hence the acne) and treats combination skin. Of course, I found Clarins and the rest is history.

The cottonseed cleanser is soothing to the face. I won't say it cleanses very well with the fingers but it can if you use it together with a Clarisonic or face towel. It leaves your face with a tinge of tightness, which I do love because it hints a clean and refreshed face. If you live in a cold country, I will recommend to put the toner and use a good moisturizer to balance the moisture. In a warm climate, I usually leave it without moisturizer after toning. The face will generally oil up only after three hours or so with some activity at home.

After so many years of usage, my face has gotten better. The skin is leaning slightly towards dry combination than oily combination. I get the occasional pimples only when I am very stressed during menstrual periods. Yay!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mushroomjr on 11/14/2013 2:35:00 AM more reviews by mushroomjr

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I recommended this one to my roommates, and they are now only using this cleanser. We all have combo. skins, and we live in hot places. It cleans well, but the most amazing part is the after cleaning effect. It helps strike the perfect balance of oil and water on my face. Highly recommended to oily/combo skins.
Sometimes when I have acne problem, I use avene gel cleanser (green bottle of gel) as it addresses acne problem. But when I don't have acne, this clarins cleanser definitely makes me feel most comfortable.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Jossychen on 11/11/2013 2:42:00 PM more reviews by Jossychen

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Been using this product with my clarisonic Mia 2 for about two weeks and it has been very good so far!! ^^ my skin feels refreshed and squeaky clean without the harshness felt! Best of all is its smell. Comforting in a way. Haha!

Will update on future usage. For now, it is doing a really good job and I'm falling in love with it :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 windmoonstar on 10/26/2013 11:19:00 PM more reviews by windmoonstar

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

When I first bought this cleanser I really liked it. It removes makeup and dirt extremely well and lathers into a nice foam. It smells nice and you only need to use a little bit each time.

However, after continued usage of this product my skin has become so dry that it's even painful sometimes. In particular, the skin around my lips has become very dry and my lips are painfully dry. I attribute it to the use of this cleanser because I have never had a problem with dry skin before.

There is nothing "gentle" about this cleanser despite the name. I am a big fan of Clarins makeup but this product has completely disappointed me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 panda6192 on 7/25/2013 4:24:00 AM more reviews by panda6192

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I've purchased and tried many Clarins products, but this product didn't live up to its usual standard for me. I have sensitised, oily skin and seborrheoic dermatitis but generally the products are well suited. Despite the pleasant scent and feel of this cleanser going on, it left me, my housemate and my sister (whom have different skin types to me) on separate occasions, dry, tight and uncomfortable to the point where my housemate developed a rash on her lower face. This cleanser went beyond the realm of 'squeaky clean' into a tightness that didn't subside for hours despite moisturising.
I have no qualm about using Clarins generally, but for a product that is marketed as being gentle, it was anything but.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clarins products

More Cleansers products