Clarins • Gentle Foaming Cleanser with Cottonseed for Normal or Combination Skin • Cleansers

rated 4.1(92 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.71%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Krystalw21 on 8/30/2014 12:54:00 AM more reviews by Krystalw21

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

IT'S AMAZING!!!
Totally love love love this product. I suffered with acne for years and tried everything! My friend bought me this for a gift a few years ago. I haven't changed face wash since. I can't say enough good things about it. With in 1 week my skin completely cleared up, was so soft and smooth. It smells really nice too. I have very dry skin so use the Shea butter one. For me - it was a life saver. I would recommend it to anyone. Thumbs up!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 vagabond2 on 8/26/2014 6:57:00 AM more reviews by vagabond2

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I was searching for a gentle foaming cleanser but this one truly disappointed me. I have combination/sensitive skin and this one dried out my skin soooo much. I got both dry and acne skin! The worst make up remover for me. Everything depends on how your skin reacts. I could not believe that this product caused all this mess. I am thinking of giving this to a friend but i wouldn't like to happen this to her skin.
After this product i never used again foaming cleansers.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lauramvig on 7/23/2014 3:00:00 AM more reviews by lauramvig

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Unsure about this one. I usually don't use foaming cleansers often, but I received this as a sample with the Hydraquench mask.

I love Clarins, and this was a nice cleanser that did a great job of removing makeup and left a fresh (but not tight) feeling. However, I still prefer a cream cleanser.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Jayneadora on 6/18/2014 3:35:00 PM more reviews by Jayneadora

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I love this product. Yes it is pricey but because the ingredients are so concentrated, you only need to use a pea sized amount. I use it each morning in the shower to remove night cream residues and feel fresh.
The scent is fresh and the wash is a rich cream which lathers well. I always rinse off immediately as it leaves your skin "squeaky clean" which makes me think that it could be drying if left on too long.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Deserts on 4/20/2014 3:00:00 AM more reviews by Deserts

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination   Hair: Other, Straight   Eyes: Other    

Love the smell. Feels clean after washing my face. But I never know if it's working or not because I didn't use it persistently. Anyway, too expensive for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Moonjellie14 on 3/20/2014 7:15:00 AM more reviews by Moonjellie14

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This has gotta be the most moisturizing facial cleanser I've used. My skin feels clean yet soft & supple. Will continue using this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 valerieetc on 2/23/2014 4:44:00 AM more reviews by valerieetc

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

I was excited when I got this one because I loved the Clarins exfoliating cream and had decided to finally switch to higher-end cleansers and toners after using Lush products for over a year. In the very beginning I was impressed - even though my skin felt slightly too tight after using the cleanser, I noticed an instant improvement to my previously clogged pores and numerous tiny blackheads. Also, it added radiance to my skin.
The tightness and the weird squeaky-clean feeling wore off over the next two weeks.. but then today I woke up to realise that my skin was back to the dehydrated/oily state which it had not been in for over three years! Also it feels sensitive like hell, and I did get blotches of redness, which is weird for my skin since I've never had a breakout in the past few years.
There might be other products to blame - I suspect my Bioderma anti-redness cream (for mild rosacea) for acting weird, but I'm not so sure. Anyway, I went to the store today and got the Clarins Alpine Herb cleansing milk and their toner for dry and sensitive skin. So far they feel good :) I'm not giving up on Clarins yet, because I love their moisturizers, and - call me a freak - I love their products' smell :))

P.S.: I've never had oily skin, but there is a slight chance that this cleanser would work for oily skin. However, I'm pretty sure that a foaming cleanser is bound to dry out any kind of skin eventually.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 yellowease on 1/25/2014 3:22:00 PM more reviews by yellowease

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I was excited to try Clarins because I am currently going through an acne journey and be forewarned it might affected my overall rating. I tried this product nightly with my clarisonic mia for a month. It lathers well and it smells amazing. However, that's all it did for me. I can't boast about how it improved my overall skin because I am currently breaking out from unknown causes. I can also warn you if it gets anywhere near your eyes.. it will burn.. a lot. For this reason I returned it slightly disappointed. It is a promising product and it definitely will last you a long time.

Maybe when my skin decides to calm down I will re-purchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 katy42 on 12/21/2013 7:02:00 AM more reviews by katy42

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Dry, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This winter I decided to swap my trusty Clinique Rinse-Off Foaming Cleanser/Liquid Soap duo for Clarins cleansers. I read the reviews here and noted that several stated that this product was harsh. Won't be a problem for me, I thought; I've used dozens of Clarins products over the years and found them OK. I've also happily used numerous tubes of the original "All Skin Types" formula of this cleanser before it was discontinued, and found the new Shea Butter version too rich, so this should be absolutely fine.
Wrong!
I used this product after taking off my makeup with Clarins Cleansing Milk (normal/dry) and my skin felt tight and slightly sore. I thought I'd overcleansed so added plenty of oil (avocado) and moisturiser to compensate. Next morning I washed my face with a tiny amount of this very concentrated product and felt the same sore tightness. I had to add two layers of Bobbi Brown Intensive Hydrating Night Cream to make my face feel more comfortable, and found that my skin just soaked it up like a sponge.
I used this cleanser for a few more days, following advice from previous reviewers such as to use a tiny amount only and to rinse off quickly. I had a sample of Clarins Extra-Comfort Toning Lotion which really did help to soothe before moisturising. My skin started to feel better but there was still the same slightly sore tight feeling all day, which was over and above the mild tightness you might usually have after washing and before moisturising.I thought I'd just have to get used to it over time, but then caved in and got the Shea Butter version for which I will write a separate review.
I did some online research and found that this cleanser contains tamarind fruit acid, and I am wondering if this ingredient is the culprit. After washing my face my skin felt as if it had had all the moisture and oil sucked out of it. It's not often that paint stripper comes to mind when using a skincare product, but it did this time!
I will keep this product for the summer and then may use it once a day only. I'm disappointed because I've used Clarins normal/combo products before and really wasn't expecting this.
On the plus side, my skin did look a lot brighter after five days of using this cleanser, but that might just illustrate that there is a significant level of exfoliating fruit acid in the product. It's also so concentrated that a small pea-sized amount is all you need, so it will last a very long time.
Clarins SAs (particularly in Boots in the UK) are very helpful when it comes to providing free samples so if you are new to this product I would strongly recommend trying this out before purchasing particularly if you are more dry than oily.
Despite all this, I've given it three stars because it did cleanse well and while my skin felt tight there was no redness, dryness or any other visible signs of irritation, and there is a lot of product for the price.
**Update** after two weeks of using the Shea Butter Foaming Cleanser I decided to give this another try. I used it last night and this morning - no soreness, tightness at all, and my skin looked much brighter and clearer! Perhaps my skin just needed to get used to these Foaming Cleansers. From the ingredients listing it seems that all three contain tamarind, cottonseed and shea butter, but in different quantities depending on the skin type.
**Update 22/02/14** I've been using this regularly and having no problems, and my skin is looking good, so I've upped my rating to 5 stars.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 moments12 on 11/25/2013 1:09:00 PM more reviews by moments12

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using this cleanser for the last six years, or maybe even longer? What got me attracted to this product is their use of natural ingredients. I used to have teen acne problems, not an extreme case, but when you live in a tropical country, it gets really annoying, especially with combination skin. I was always trying to improve my three step cleaning system and have tried Clinique, Murad, Proactiv, Neutrogena etc. None of them was able to leave me satisfied.

So while researching online, some people said it takes awhile for the face to heal and you need to treat it from the underlying root of the problem. I went on to search for something that's calming for the face (maybe I am sensitive, hence the acne) and treats combination skin. Of course, I found Clarins and the rest is history.

The cottonseed cleanser is soothing to the face. I won't say it cleanses very well with the fingers but it can if you use it together with a Clarisonic or face towel. It leaves your face with a tinge of tightness, which I do love because it hints a clean and refreshed face. If you live in a cold country, I will recommend to put the toner and use a good moisturizer to balance the moisture. In a warm climate, I usually leave it without moisturizer after toning. The face will generally oil up only after three hours or so with some activity at home.

After so many years of usage, my face has gotten better. The skin is leaning slightly towards dry combination than oily combination. I get the occasional pimples only when I am very stressed during menstrual periods. Yay!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clarins products

More Cleansers products