Obsessive Compulsive Cosmetics • Lip Tar • Lipstick

rated 3.4(53 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.52%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MissLerina on 5/5/2014 9:35:00 PM more reviews by MissLerina

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

SELECTED SHADES: annika (pastel peach), digitalis (lavender), divine (flamingo pink), femme (bright pastel pink), grandma (coral), hush (nude pink), kimber (neon orange), mannequin (neon barbie pink), memento (soft neutral pink), narcissus (barbie pink), nylon (neon fuchsia pink), ophelia (medium pink), queen (hot pink), trollop (bright coral pink)

PROS

- pigmented
- long wearing
- shade selection
- scent
- little goes a long way

CONS

- product will separate
- drying

COMMENTS: I absolutely adore these. They're insanely pigmented and wear well. Some shades will even leave a stain on the lips and a little goes a very, very long way. The downside is that they're drying and can be tricky to apply (at first). The product will also separate at some point, but that's an easy fix (leave the tube sitting in opposite direction it was previously in and the oil will mix right back up). The best way method of application I have found is to use any lip gloss as your base first. This will keep your lips emollient, since these can really suck the moisture out of your lips. Then use your lip gloss applicator to apply the lip tar (squeeze a tiny amount onto the applicator) and apply. It's so much easier this way, especially for touch-ups. Sometimes I'll even use my fingers as it really melts the product into the lips better, but I don't like using a lip brush at all.

Will repurchase.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 vicketysplit on 4/27/2014 8:52:00 PM more reviews by vicketysplit

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Hazel    

uuuuugh. So I tried out a blue lip tar in sephora yesterday and I was in love. So in love that I immediately bought one. Unfortunately when I returned to my house i discovered that it had stained my teeth and tongue. I assumed i had just used too much. So when I tried it again I used significantly less. IT STILL STAINED MY TEETH BLUE. Also! It ended up all over my face. Fortunately I was watching a movie in the dark and I happened to run to the bathroom without anyone seeing my face, when I discovered the extent of the damage. Probably never going to wear it in public again. And I will never be buying another product from them.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 themindispoison on 4/16/2014 2:40:00 PM more reviews by themindispoison

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

My expectations were sky high when I first bought them, which as you can imagined, lead to them being slightly disappointing. I got the Pro's Pick V.1, with Ophelia, Grandma, Melange, Psycho and Vintage, + a clear lip tar.

My first shock was with the tone of Psycho, that ended up being waaaay pinker than it looked on all photos I had seen online, where it was an almost orangy red. That aside... a little goes a long way, but at least with me, it didnt provide that great of a coverage. The color sheers out, specially if you're wearing a darker shade, so a little retouching might be in order.

It does last well, but at least on me it wasn't such a stunner on that front. It wears out to form a halo on your lips as you eat, even if the food isn't so greasy. Pressing the lips together won't do much good, since the color gets pretty dry and won't budge easily, so retouches might be needed. But, it never bled on me!

But the major factor with those for me is the FUN. There is something so very amazing about pushing those itsy bits of paint, mixing them together and brushing it onto your lips. I truly love it, how inventive it is, how fun it is to apply and create your own shade. Even if it didnt deliver so brightly on the lasting power, I don't really mind. I'm certainly looking forward to acquiring new colors, and its definitely something worth checking out!


edit: Okay, it's been a while since I've been using them. They tend to separate in the tube, fairly easily. Its pretty annoying to keep rolling it between your hands, but oh well... And they do dry up my lips quite a bit - it becomes airly noticebable after some 2 or 3 hours. :/

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 LyrA236 on 4/15/2014 1:26:00 PM more reviews by LyrA236

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Dense, sticky, smeary, mint flavored, highly pigmented lip gloss in a squeeze tube. Comes with a little lip brush. Lasts about a minute. Gets all over everything.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 staceygrigas on 3/29/2014 11:15:00 PM more reviews by staceygrigas

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Can someone explain these to me? I'm being serious. The color selection and payoff, of course, is amazing. But for $18 these things bleed something awful and make me look like a clown. Why would I spend that much money on one lip product if I am going to need to touch up every 20 minutes unless I want to look like I was being inappropriate with Ronald McDonald???

I'm more than happy to shell out for products that do great things. OCC Lip Tars are not that for me, unfortunately.

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mustangfanatic on 3/29/2014 9:26:00 AM more reviews by mustangfanatic

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I got the color Hush. Super pigmented. A little goes a long way. I think i paid $18 for one. A little on the pricey side but i don't think its too bad.

I do however feel like the shade was lighter than what it looks like in the packaging.
It has an oily like smell.

These need to be stored in a cool room. I accidentally left mine in my computer room, and it gets fairly warm in there. I tried to use the lip tar and it came out like a tinted lip gloss and the oil smell was worse. So definitely do not let these lip tars get warm.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 mishophelia on 3/20/2014 1:51:00 PM more reviews by mishophelia

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Bought the OCC Lip Tars Pro Pick V1 from Sephora for $49

Overall, not worth it. My NYX luscious lip gloss palette gives me the same color and is easier to apply.

I exfoliated my lips before putting on the lip tar in Ophelia, and the lip tar immediately dried out my lips. It was like every flake on my lips became visible, even flakes that weren't there before. I REALLY REALLY wanted to like these lip tars, as I've spent a long time wanting to buy them, but this is just a regrettable purchase /: .

I am a fair skinned Asian and Ophelia looks pretty awful on my lips, which is a shame cause I was most excited for this shade =/. Ophelia is the most drying out of all the tars, so now I understand why most people don't like this shade.

Grandma is the color I like best. It is a cute color.

Vintage is a burgundy red. A little drying and very hard to get off. I washed off my lipstick and even four hours later it looked like I was still wearing lipstick.

Stalker I haven't tried yet, but I'm excited. It looks like a gorgeous, rich red.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 myherbalmart on 3/7/2014 8:28:00 AM more reviews by myherbalmart

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

only you can make it perfact by using this because it will heppen due to your heart if it suites you, then it the perfact thing that you have.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 arieljocelyn on 3/7/2014 8:14:00 AM more reviews by arieljocelyn

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I am in the market for a nude lip color, and when I found Lip Tar's Annika, I thought it was the perfect color. Additionally, it was highly pigmented, and the staining properties made it seem like it would stay all day and just give a natural flush to my lips. However, about half an hour into wearing it, the product had burrowed itself into all of the little cracks and creases in my chapped lips (which are terrible in winter), and further dried my lips so they looked like raisins. I know it's typical for highly pigmented products to somewhat highlight dryness, but this was ridiculous. More than that, this product was difficult to apply because it's runny, and saying a little goes a long way is an understatement. Overall, I was very disappointed in this product due to its extreme drying effects and difficulty of application.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Radmosaic on 1/18/2014 11:23:00 PM more reviews by Radmosaic

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

High ratings because:
Great colors
Vegan
cruelty free
Can mix colors like an artist mixing paint. Very personal and unique
Concentrated! Will last forever!
Fun to use!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Obsessive Compulsive Cosmetics products

More Lipstick products