Real Techniques by Samantha Chapman • Core Collection • Makeup Brushes

rated 4.6(193 reviews)

Average Rating.4.6
Would buy this product again.89%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 danceintherain55 on 9/1/2014 11:41:00 PM more reviews by danceintherain55

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Buffer and contour brushes are wonderful, so I have no regrets with buying this collection to get those. The two smaller ones I could do without, but I have/will find used for since I now have them. My favorite uses for each brush so far have been liquid foundation with buffer, contour the hollow of my cheeks with contour, under eye concealer with the foundation or whatever one, and I haven't used the detail yet, but planning to use it as a lip brush. Would be nice for storage if the handles were smaller, but oh well. Nice brushes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Kaylawimbleton on 8/17/2014 5:03:00 AM more reviews by Kaylawimbleton

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

These brushes are amazing. Even though people think they're pricey.. Look at the quality of them and then the quality of Mac/Bobbi brown and compare the prices then. These brushes are so handy. The buffing brush is good for buffing in liquid foundation to get a nice natural finish. You can also use it for powder too. The contour brush is good for bronzing your cheekbones and even concealing your under eye as the brush fits perfectly under the eye and the other brushes are good for concealing too. Very handy collectio.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 wenqing on 8/16/2014 6:53:00 AM more reviews by wenqing

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I find all of her brushes to be average, with affordable price point. They're not the softest or the best to pick up product but they are quite practical, dries really fast after washes and I always prefer synthetic fiber brushes rather than natural hair, so I've purchased quite a few. This set is no different but I recently discovered that the small paddle brush called pointed foundation brush is the best tool for contouring the nose. With both powder or cream product. Just try it and you'll know what I mean.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 BeaverCleaverReturns on 8/14/2014 3:23:00 PM more reviews by BeaverCleaverReturns

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I am giving these a 4 because of the great price point. They are nice brushes and can get the job done. However, they are not as soft as I had expected. In fact, I find them a bit scratchy. They are definitely not as nice as the Sonia Kashuk black handled brushes. I would say they are comparable to the SK white handled brush line. The ELF Studio Line brushes are also comparable to Real Techniques brushes.

If you can afford a higher price point, I would recommend It Cosmetics brushes. They are also synthetic but are much softer and give a much better application and finish.

I have most of the RT brushes but I won't replace/repurchase them. I suspect they will fall by the wayside and become travel-only brushes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Forever25 on 8/6/2014 4:48:00 PM more reviews by Forever25

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I was so excited about buying this brush set for my mom as her BD gift. I ended up bought 2 sets online; one for myself. It kinda surprised me in a bad way. They are smaller than they seemed on Sam's youtube. Anyway, when I used the buffing brush with the liquid foundation, it scratched my face! I tried to think positive and used it with the powder, it still scratched my face. Besides, it didn't transfer the powder to the face smoothly. I do agree with the previous comment; it's a lie! It's not "super soft". I dare the company to QC check mine. Some of the the bristols fell off in 2nd use. For 22USD, NOT worth buying at all.

Update: I had a look at another set that I gave to my mom. OMG.. they are softer and look a lil bit different in handle color. The quality control of this brand is really bad. :(

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 grapes123xo on 7/30/2014 10:27:00 AM more reviews by grapes123xo

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

These brushes are really great... they make it easy to blend your foundation. They are an okay price.. I payed around 20 dollars Canadian. I like how the foundation brush is small and can fit in all the edges of your face. Still trying to figure out if I can use the buffing brush for blush, application or if it's just for blending. The detailer brush is a bit small but useful when you are concealing a pimple. The brushes are extremely soft. I removed one lippy because even after I rubbed the brush in shampoo there was still a bit of foundation left on the brush... so they don't clean as well as mac 187 which always comes out really white when i rub it in shampoo and then rub it under water.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 willh0pkins on 7/28/2014 8:04:00 PM more reviews by willh0pkins

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

These brushes really are amazing. When I first purchased them I used the pixel brush for concealer and the contour brush for powder, but I now find that the contour brush is perfect for blending cream foundations and the pixel is best for lips. However the small foundation brush is not good, after one use it becomes very bristly and hard.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MasksOffMasksOn on 7/28/2014 6:52:00 PM more reviews by MasksOffMasksOn

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love Real Techniques brushes, that is why I have all of them, but not all of the are perfect. In this set, I LOVED the contour brush- I honestly think it's the best contouring brush I have, the buffing brush is good too, but for blending cream blushes - I didn't really like it for applying foundation. the Small detailer brush is great for applying lipstick. The only brush I don't care for in this set is the pointed foundation brush - it's too small for applying foundation on the face, it may work for concealer, but it's defiantly not great.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ammuuu on 7/19/2014 3:26:00 PM more reviews by ammuuu

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I love these brushes, they are my holy grail brushes for sure. They blend everything perfectly and are so easy to clean. I wrote a blog post about the sets i purchased i'd love it if you checked it out! www.beautifybeautyy.blogspot.co.uk

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 twee420 on 7/18/2014 6:07:00 PM more reviews by twee420

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Other, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

1. The foundation brush is an absolutely joke. I tried to use it once or twice to no avail, it ended up in my 'beauty junkyard' drawer.
2. The detailer brush is so so. I use this for concealer and to be fair, the synthetic bristles work well with most cream products. The problem here is the size, as it's so small, it makes blending an utter chore.
3. I was rather excited for the bronzer brush and I find the brush shape isn't great for getting into the hollows of my cheeks. I have had moderate success with using this brush with a powder concealer.
4. The buffer brush is the redeemer here. This brush has become one of my favourites and staples. I use this with powder after applying my foundation with a beauty blender and it gives a flawless, airbrushed look. I can't recommend this one enough.

Overall, I think this set is really overhyped. The quality is okay for the price that you are paying but as I mentioned, these underperformed and left me slightly disappointed.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Real Techniques by Samantha Chapman products

More Makeup Brushes products