Chanel • Soleil Tan de Chanel - Bronzing Makeup Base • Bronzers

rated 4.5(94 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.81%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 beachblond on 8/16/2014 2:13:00 PM more reviews by beachblond

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

My skin broke out everywhere I put this. As soon as I stopped using it, my skin cleared up perfectly. Very disappointing since it does give a nice colour. I also didn't like that my skin felt "tacky" to the touch after I applied it, and it never really soaked in. Returned.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Meriange on 8/11/2014 12:52:00 PM more reviews by Meriange

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Love the bronzing effect that it gives. It is very subtle and the tone is okey for my skin. Probably i would change the packaging, i consider it too heavy and big.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* countrybearjamboree on 8/11/2014 10:26:00 AM more reviews by countrybearjamboree

Age: Unknown   Skin: Very Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This was a product that was on my shopping list as pending for so long. I was never on the fence so much with a product than I was with this bronzer. I finally bought it and I'm very happy with it. I am extremely picky when it comes with bronzer. So many qualites I look for in a bronzer: 1. Tone 2. Color Depth 3. Finish 4. Ingredients 5. Staying Power & 6. Formulation. I haven't truly found a bronzer that scored a perfect 10 in all six categories. I've tried ALL of the popular bronzers such as Too Faced Chocolate Soleil, NARS Laguna, Benefit Hoola, most of Physicans Formula, MUFE, MAC, Estee Lauder, Bobbi Brown and most drugstore bronzers. The two main reasons why I was so on the fence with this particular bronzer was 1. Cream based and 2. Palomino's review. I have very oily skin so I would be insane to buy a cream based bronzer. Also, nothing worse than an orange toned bronzer >_< THE WORST! After reading Palomino's review, I pretty much made up my mind. But, Palomino and I are completely different skin tones so I checked out You Tube reviews on this bronzer by people with darker skin tones and came across YAZMakeUpArtist. YAZ sold me on it! For people with deeper medium skin tones to dark skin, this bronzer is SUBTLE and you need to build it. But, it builds up very naturally and I didn't find it orange at all on my NC40 Olive skin. All pros with this bronzer and for being such an outstanding quality bronzer, it is worth the fifty bucks.
PACKAGING: 1oz Large flat round container that is clear and a black screw top cap with the gold Chanel logo on top.
PROS: 1. Even though this is a cream based bronzer, it did not fade, crease or melt off my very oily skin. It didn't appear greasy on the skin either. It just looked natural. 2. It will last for hours without fading away. I did set this with a setting powder though. 3. It has a matte finish! YES, truly matte no shimmers! 4. Natural tone for darker skin tones. Doesn't appear orange. 5. Doesn't clog pores or cause berakouts. 6. Builds up for desired pigmentation without looking cakey or obvious.
CONS: None
TIP: I use the ELF Small Stippling brush with this bronzer for contouring.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Esmerelda55 on 8/3/2014 2:44:00 AM more reviews by Esmerelda55

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I honestly love everything about this great product. I like the big flat container.. it's so easy to swirl my Sephora pro bronzer brush #45 in this cool jar. Because of the inner cap and tightly closing outer cap, I've had this for months and there isn't even a hint of it drying out.
Some days I just want a touch of it... what lovely subtle shading it does. Some days I want it everywhere! I can't emphasis enough how happy I am that it isn't full of sparkles! It's not orange! It blends perfectly with whatever foundation I'm using always looking very natural.
It blends into my hairline and I never get scary old lady mask lines from it. I swirl it onto my neck and the back of my hands when I have the time and the mood is right.
My skin doesn't feel it, I don't react negatively to it in any way. Although it is just as expensive as other Chanel products, it is really lasting a long time.
And did I mention there are no sparkles?!
It would take some doing to convince me to purchase any other bronzer.
This one gives me a happy face.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 choconoonna on 6/17/2014 2:16:00 AM more reviews by choconoonna

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is my second Bronzer after NARSissist, I don't know about the glow people were raving about it, but this Soleil Tan de Chanel gave me the right subtle dimension as bronzing make up base should be. I'm NW20, using N20 for Chanel's.

I'm not into bronzer before, since fair skin is adored here, but then I knew that I had a bit dead face until the bronzer touched my cheek. Even wwithout make up on, I swirl a bit this lovely bronzer to add dimension and slimmer cheek..

This bronzer is available only in one color, but I think suitable for most skin colors and type. The case is sturdy and lovely, rounded case like Poudre Universelle Libre, but shorter. I just wish Chanel provide us with the brush. I'm using this with Sigma Kabuki. The smell is just like Chanel's, and I didn't develop any allergic reaction on it, eventhough I have very sensitive acne prone with combination skin, tends to very oily at T-zone.

Luv, luv, and definitely will buy again, altough the Le Beiges Healthy Glow Multi-color seems tempting. For the price I bought at Soetta's Duty Free, it's definitely well-worth since it will take a year more to hit the pan.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bamaRN37 on 6/9/2014 8:11:00 PM more reviews by bamaRN37

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

HG bronzer for me! I have never liked bronzers because they always look orange and muddy on my NC15 skin. I've been eyeing this product for years, but recently splurged and I'm really glad I did. Yes it is expensive but look at how much product you're getting. It is a cream and you only need the smallest amount. I use a duo fiber brush to apply it with a light hand. There is NO orange in this. It just looks sunkissed in a natural way. I've seen tutorials where it is applied over liquid foundation, but I hate foundation. I wear concealer and MAC Mineralize Skin Finish Natural in Light. This bronzer, even though it is a cream, does not disturb my other makeup. I just apply it after my powder and blush so I can gauge how much color I need. I would definitely repurchase, but I doubt I'll need to anytime soon!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 palomino1701 on 6/6/2014 2:04:00 AM more reviews by palomino1701

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly   Eyes: Green    

Orange. Orange. Orange.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Indigomama on 6/4/2014 3:28:00 AM more reviews by Indigomama

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

Good god, this is a total winner. I thought the mattifying Terracotta bronzer from Guerlain in a tube was lovely until I tried Chanel. It beats Guerlain by far. Whereas Guerlain is silicon-ey and makes a (mattifying and smoothing) layer on the skin, Chanel goes on feather-like, you don't feel you have someting on, you don't look like you have bronzer on and you don't need to set it with anything on top so that it looks just like your sunkissed skin. As to the color, it will suit a lot of pale and fair skins I believe. I am like MAC NW18-18 and I feel totally fine about it. It looks quite golden (not yellow and not brick) in the pan but if compared to Guerlain's Terracotta in Blondes, it appears by far more calm coffee-tonned. For me, it makes a beautiful sunkissed (not bronzed) look. If I want a really bronzed look, I would opt for Terracotta in Brunettes. Application can be a bit tricky, you have to find your HG brush for it. I tried following Lisa Eldridge with a Chanel Touch Up Kabuki brush and didn't like it. Small broken bristles deposit themselves into the pan and it is gross. Besides, the brush is too big. I tried Dior's light coverage dense flat foundation brush and it didn't deliver. I used a generic synthetic roundish dense powder brush and bingo, that was it. I am totally sold. I marked Tan de Chanel as "will repurchase" but mind that you get 30 (thirty) grams, it is very unlikely that I will run out of it soon. If I however do, I will for sure repurchase.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Heyheytaytay on 5/9/2014 9:20:00 PM more reviews by Heyheytaytay

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is a god send- a good bronzer for fair- medium skin tones and I can tell u it does not show up orange in any way! Pros: you get a lot for the money (au $65?) 30grms will last you a long time The packaging is practical for the formula, fancy and sturdy I can't really go past it looks good on dressing table too :0). The colour is a beautiful rich bronze that looks natural The blendabilty of this is Shockley good! You don't have to spend too much time working it into skin. Lasts a long time on my very oily skin and it doesn't slide or melt (I thought it would being a cream base). It doesn't seep into large pores or wear funny NO CONS Not even the price because I think it's fair seeing so it's such a HG for me but if it where ever cheaper I wouldn't complain ;).

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 RM077 on 4/18/2014 6:43:00 AM more reviews by RM077

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

This is an amazing product!

First of all, the packaging is gorgeous and looks so pretty and classy sitting on my dressing table!

I use this bronzer almost every single day. I like to use fake tan but find it always fades too quickly on my face and I find piling on powder bronzer can look cakey and unnatural so this is the perfect solution!

I apply this with a MAC 187 brush, which blends it into the skin well and picks up just the right amount of product, before I apply my foundation. It gives my skin and instant glow and makes my skin look instantly healthier and more alive. I find my foundation always looks better with this underneath and I feel like I don't need as much foundation either. It's got a lovely smooth texture and is such a natural bronze which gives you a natural-looking glow.

I couldn't be without this now. I really can't recommend it enough!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Chanel products

More Bronzers products