Unlisted Brand • Illuminum White Gardenia Petals • Fragrances

rated 2.6(10 reviews)

Average Rating.2.6
Would buy this product again.20%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 mereley on 6/18/2014 5:40:00 PM more reviews by mereley

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

It's all in the name. Does this fragrance smell like burrowing your nose in a gardenia flower? No, it doesn't. But it does have that faint, wispy, ephemeral white floral scent that comes from sniffing a few solitary gardenia petals, as the perfume's name suggests.

I honestly don't get the bad reviews. There is nothing not to like about the this scent; although that in of itself may the problem, I think, because it's not for gardenia lovers who are looking for a full, dewy, gorgeous rendition of the noble flower, but rather for people who like simple, subtle, skin scents. I don't get anything "screechy" or "plasticky" like others have noted. To me, it's pretty and feminine, although perhaps a bit musky in the freshest way possible. It holds close to the skin (minimal sillage) and has little to no projection--my nose has to be a scant couple of inches away from my arm to be able to catch whiff of it. Longevity is an issue, I would give it three to four hours at most, with it becoming more and more close wearing as time progresses. It's certainly not a complex scent, I get no top notes at all, but there are enough facets to keep it interesting enough not to be considered entirely linear. It does have a white floral sweetness to it, and is perhaps sweeter than I usually prefer, but it is so clean and delicate that I nonetheless find it immensely wearable.

I apologize ahead of time for the overdone reference to come, but let's face it: anyone who samples this is fully aware that this is the scent Kate Middleton wore not only to the royal wedding, but on her Australia tour as well. And honestly, that fact only makes me think better of her. Knowing how much she likes to champion British brands, she had a major challenge in front of her: to find a British-made fragrance that would check all the necessary requirements. I imagine she wanted something niche enough not to be common, pleasant enough not to be polarizing, and light enough not to send people scurrying away from her. Something that would suit the romance of a wedding, but yet would still smell pretty and above all, clean. And this fragrance ticks all those boxes. To be honest, I'm hard pressed to think of another that would (the British-made part poses the conundrum, even considering Floris and Penhaligon's (both brands nice, but too obvious), Miller Harris (her 'Le Jasmine' is the only one that might have worked, but that was just released in 2013), Clive Chrisitian (too pretentious), Czech & Speake (too masculine), Atkinsons and Grossmith (both remerged after the 2011 wedding), and Roja Dove (possibly too ritzy))--even Michael Boadi's own lovely Boadicea the Victorious line is, on the whole, too perfumey.

So in a nutshell, do I like it? Yes. Do I need to purchase it? No. Would I balk if something gave it to me as a gift? Absolutely not, I'd be thrilled. It's a nice scent. It won't steal hearts, but for a particular situation, or a particular sort of woman, it could very easily be that perfect scent.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* BigEars on 5/27/2014 5:32:00 PM more reviews by BigEars

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Where is the gardenia? I smell LOTV and sharp, soapiness but no gardenia. In theory a nice wedding day scent but I really think the Duchess should have stuck to her previous favourite, Dune. Smells like expensive air freshener. Maybe Kate wanted to cover up the smell of Camilla's fags.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 shaktigal on 10/6/2013 12:40:00 PM more reviews by shaktigal

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Smells like acetone during the opening. Like perfumed nail varnish remover, or window cleaner. Not good!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 siobhan5 on 5/25/2012 8:52:00 AM more reviews by siobhan5

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I'm afraid I have to join in the negative reviews here. I got a sample of this from luckyscent and of course I knew that this was the "wedding" scent of Kate Middelton. So I expected... well, at least something nice or royal.
But this is one of the most ghastly perfumes I've ever smelled. I has a very sharp edge in it when you open the bottle, and on the skin it turns out into something synthetic, plastic, hairspray/polish like - but certainly nothing like a flower.
After 1-2 hours the edge fades out but the plastic scent stays until the end. I don't have the faintest idea why the future queen of England would want to smell like that on her wedding day. Just gross.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 masha814 on 9/28/2011 6:54:00 PM more reviews by masha814

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Oh, this is so utterly horrible, I wouldn't want to smell this on sanitary products! I can't believe the plastic, synthetic ghastliness of this perfume....

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* keanash on 9/23/2011 11:10:00 AM more reviews by keanash

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

The manufacturer says: “top note of coconut ... heart notes of muguet, ylang ylang and jasmine.”

As others have noted, it's been reported that White Gardenia Petals was the perfume which Kate Middleton wore to the Royal Wedding. Because of this, I'll admit it, I wanted to try it. In my opinion the pricetag on this scent is a bit high, so I purchased a sample size from LuckyScent. I've gone with a middle of the road 3 on packing because of this -- I can't speak for the quality of the actual bottle.

This is a light, powdery floral. I actually don't get much gardenia in here? More vague, fresh floral. I can see the "white", though, as it's a very young fragrance. It reminds me of the BPAL blend, "The Unicorn", but it lacks the depth of that blend. It's got a soapy quality to it, and I can see why Ms. Middleton chose this scent for her wedding day. It's actually very bland, very... well, boring. I note, of course, that I'm a vintage perfume gal through and through -- almost nothing is as perfect to me as Dior's vintage Miss Dior or Guerlain's beautifully aching L'Heure Bleue. In comparison to my normal fair, this scent is utterly lacking and unlayered.

I'm happy I tried this, but it's so... bland. It's nothing like what I normally gravitate to and wear. I'm happy that I tried it, but I won't be buying a bottle of this perfume. I'll use my sample and call it good!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 CharlotteGrace on 9/17/2011 9:42:00 AM more reviews by CharlotteGrace

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

A friend of mine brought me White Gardenia Petals as a gift from her trip to London, knowing how much I like perfumes. I was eager to try it since this name hit the headlines since it was revealed that kate Middleton used it as her wedding scent.

Well , I really DID not like it. It's strong and sharp and ultra soapy, I can get the same smell with a cheap drugstore fragrance. I had high expectations on this one but it failed miserably.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 perfumegirl on 8/18/2011 6:25:00 PM more reviews by perfumegirl

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

White Gardenia Petals
Eau de Parfum
by Illuminum




The Scoop
As fragrant as a vase of white flowers, quivering in the breeze by an open window, this is a delicate and refined perfume.

The top note of Lilly evokes a tropical seaside location, whilst the heart notes of White Gardenia, Muguet and Jasmine bring a trio of white flowers into play. Amber Wood underscores this light and capricious bouquet.

It has been reported by numerous media outlets that White Gardenia Petals was the perfume which Kate Middleton wore to the Royal Wedding.
How could I resist when I read all the hype about Kate wearing this for her wedding, they are having a hard time keeping it in stock and customs seems to be holding it up, Love it, light, still prefer Isabey Gardenia and Gardenia Petals by Van Cleef and Arpels but this is intereting and dh likes it too, it is soft and light, interesting, not sure I would buy another one but will enjoy this one, ♥♥







    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 remeddee on 8/18/2011 4:38:00 AM more reviews by remeddee

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This perfume is even more beautiful than I ever imagined it would be. This scent oozes ultra femininity and class. Michael cleverly captures the delicacy and intimacy of the flower gardenia in such a unique way. Just the perfect hint of sweetness was added. Further, the silage is very impressive for such delicate notes. A simple masterpiece!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 troodos on 5/10/2011 2:56:00 PM more reviews by troodos

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This has certainly hit the headlines since being named as Kate Middleton's wedding day fragrance and I gather is selling out but I have to say I really don't think it would have got much attention at all without the royal aspect to the story. It's a pretty floral fragrance, with a rather sharp, slightly shrill start which on me settles to a flowery detergent washing powder freshness. I don't get any coconut as listed on the website at any point and the lily of the valley is not really there for me in the same way it shows it's beauty in Diorissimo (which I gather was Diana's wedding perfume). It's certainly pretty, and worth a smell to make your own decision, but i do think anyone buying this unsniffed beacuse of Ms Middleton may well be disappointed.Costs £70 for a small bottle which is also excessive, in my opinion.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More Unlisted Brand products

More Fragrances products