Desert Essence • Coconut Conditioner • Conditioner

rated 4.2(37 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* paneradfisk on 9/8/2014 5:14:00 PM more reviews by paneradfisk

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

My new favourite conditioner, hands down. I have been using Jessicurl's conditioner Too Shea for a long time, but I have now started using this. All other conditioners left my hair either dry, tangled or greasy - who would have thought a conditioner this cheap would perform so well? Both Too Shea and this have shea butter in them, an ingredient that my hair really likes. They both have similar scents as well, Too Shea being more like a tropical orange-coconut scent and this pure coconut. I like that this comes in a tube instead of a bottle, it means I can get the last bit out easier.

This makes my hair really soft, untangles and makes my hair smell wonderful, for 6 dollars instead of 22 dollars! Highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 KyrstyLynn on 7/31/2014 11:11:00 AM more reviews by KyrstyLynn

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I want to start off by saying I have very dry frizzy wavy thick hair. Its not damaged because I havent used heat or color in a really long time ita just naturally dry. I always used higher end shampoos and conditioner and leave ins serums etc. because well they made my hair feel and look like a million bucks. But after time I think my hair got sick of all the proteins and silicones And the harsh sulfates it started breaking and it was just horrid. I was watching youtube veidoes like always and decided Id give this the coconut duo a try because it got a lot of good reviews. (and I def wanted to go more natural with my haircare)The smell is FANTASTIC. IM addicted to coconut,vanilla ,pina coolada, tropical type scents so Im in love. The conditioner is pretty thick out the tube..thicker than I anticipated for being silicone free but it spreads evenly and detangles like a champ and when I rinse it out after about 10 minutes my hair feels like pure SILK!!!! its already kinda soaked into my hair and I can tell an automatic difference in the texture of my hair. From dry knots to silky smooth locks. I bought mine from my local vitamin shoppe for 8.43 including tax. I think its a great price for such an amazing product thats safer and healthier to your hair without all the added bad crap. Love the shampoo as well but wouldnt recomend using that all the time if you have oily hair as it will build up quick and make ya look greaseball status! Would deff recomend to everyone with dry hair! Its not amazing or the best but for being natural and not relying on silicones and heavy emollients or silkening proteins its damn good!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 blairxbianca on 5/19/2014 2:25:00 PM more reviews by blairxbianca

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This stuff smells wonderful! no silicones and is moisturizing! I only use a pea size amount on my ends and the softness is unreal!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rallu on 4/29/2014 4:50:00 PM more reviews by rallu

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I just finished the tube and don't think I'll repurchase it. I bought it based on reviews because I wanted something natural, silicon free and moisturizing but this one didn't really work for me. It makes my hair a little hard to comb thru and detangle and didn't feel moisturized and soft like I was expecting. I don't really like the fragrance either, it smells a little chemically to me not like real coconut, it reminds me of suave coconut conditioner.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 rustybag on 4/22/2014 11:25:00 AM more reviews by rustybag

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This was an excellent conditioner a couple of years ago before it was reformulated. It used to be spreadable, and penetrated the hair nicely, and rinsed clean. It left hair moisturized and very shiny. I decided to buy it again despite the reformulation, wanting something protein and silicone free, and hoping it would have a similar effect on my fine, drier at ends hair.

This new formula is thick and waxy, and just sits on the hair, rather than penetrating like the previous formula. It's hard to rinse out, leaving a bit of a coating on the hair. My hair is not as shiny or moisturized. Might be best for those who have thick / frizzy hair and prefer a thicker/ waxier conditioner that weighs the hair down a little bit. No longer suitable for my fine/ dry hair. The Piņa colada scent is still nice. I'm so disappointed, though, I used to love this conditioner :(

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Ferrishyn on 3/12/2014 4:46:00 PM more reviews by Ferrishyn

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This is better than the shampoo in this line, but again it's nothing special for me. It doesn't condition miraculously or make my hair as smooth as other conditioners. I am seriously baffled because both have coconut oil and other natural ingredients.

This does do well on my son and husband's hair which is fine and normal. Mine is very thick, wavy, and coarse. With mine it's just an average conditioner. The smell is great and I love the chemical free company, but this isn't something I can use.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Shadow_Witch on 1/2/2014 10:31:00 PM more reviews by Shadow_Witch

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I had been using LUSH Coolaulin since 1998. I needed a change. I can't believe it took me so long to try this conditioner. I have abundant, fine, slightly wavy, chemically treated dry/damaged medium length hair. This conditioner made it look and feel healthy, soft, smooth and shiny right after I finished coloring it again for the third time in 6 weeks with a semi-permanent hair color. All this without 'cones!!! I love the way my hair soaks it up and the delicious coconut fragrance that lingers in my hair full of body and volume. I plan to try it out to co-wash. Finally, I've found my new HG conditioner.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 amandadee97 on 12/22/2013 7:51:00 PM more reviews by amandadee97

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Really like this conditioner, in conjunction with the shampoo. That being said, there are perhaps better things I've not discovered but I'm tired of testing products.
This conditioner has a nice scent, it lingers fairly well but isn't overwhelming. Has decent slip for when I comb my hair in the shower(bad, I know! It's the only way that works for me though), though my hair tends to tangle after that. I usually mix some with water and spray it in my hair, braid or twist it, sleep on it, and wake up with incredibly soft, shiny hair.
I like that it comes in a tube, and I don't have the same not coming out problem as I do with the shampoo. I wish I could buy a larger size though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Freedom3033 on 9/26/2013 4:03:00 AM more reviews by Freedom3033

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I use this with Giovanni 50/50, live in a humid tropical country (Singapore), and it's amazing. I used to have very dry and damaged hair, deep conditioned weekly and religiously apply hair oil to my hair. So I switched to this conditioner, and out goes the deep conditioner and hair oil. Just using this with the shampoo give me glossy, healthy hair that's not weighed down (voluminous hair is impt to me). Even my mum noticed the change and asked me what I'm using. Trying to decide with DE shampoo to use this with.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* snowwgirl on 8/11/2013 9:29:00 AM more reviews by snowwgirl

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Other   Eyes: Green    

When my hairdresser said "Oh, all highghted blondes get some breakage, I knew this was not good news" What to do? After watching Pinksofoxy recommend this on Youtube,I decided to buy some.Her hair is like mine, highlighted, coarse, wavy when dry. Plus she is in Hawaii a super dry, hot climate.This is the BEST conditioner I have ever used. . As another reviewer said, its like using coconut oil but with the added power of of olive, shea, almond and jojoba for your hair. I also got the shampoo and heat protector and as a system ,they gave me the best hair I have had all summer.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Desert Essence products

More Conditioner products