Obsessive Compulsive Cosmetics Lip Tar - Strumpet

3.6

14 reviews

50% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 1/28/2015 10:50:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I received this from a friend who didn't like this, and I share the same opinion. While the color and color payoff are extraordinary, I found it to be drying, and it didn't last well: I tried wearing a bit to school one day and it bled horribly. The packaging can be a bit messy as well. I guess I'm really in the minority here but I'm glad that it seems to work for most others, but for me, it seems way too hyped up.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 1/21/2015 5:07:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

First of all, let me state that I LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE the color of Strumpet - it's the deep yet bright intense raspberry that I've been seeking most of my pitiful life.

And it's made by a cruelty-free company, which is important to me.

The only drawbacks - it must be applied with a brush, and that can be rather tricky and time-consuming. The tiny brush that comes with the Lip Tars is too narrow for my full lips, so I use a Sedona Lace 954 concealer brush to apply Strumpet, and it works nicely.

Wear could be better - as others have noted, Strumpet has a tendency to wear off in the center of the mouth, where the lips touch, and if you give in to the temptation to add a drop of gloss for moisture and shine, you forfeit any long-wearing tendencies Strumpet might have had. I solve this problem by wearing a similarly-colored stain (like Silk Naturals stain in Vamp) underneath, and either skipping gloss entirely, or going very, very easy on it. This way, the color holds up for two to three hours if I don't eat or drink.

Strumpet is not really a low-maintenance product, but, for me, the color makes a little extra effort totally worth it. A full-size Lip Tar is $18, but pigmentation is so concentrated that one tube will last for a very long time.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 9/28/2013 10:53:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I got this in the Sephora lip sampler and man was this an awesome find! I did not know what to expect from a lip tar, as I thought it was a gloss, but I slathered it on only to find out it was not a gloss at all and that the pigment was intense (yikes!). After my initial shock, I had to give OCC cosmetics credit- the formula is long-wearing (super long-wearing actually), the color is outrageous but at the same time wearable, and the little brush it comes with is good for evening out the pigment. I fell in love almost instantly. If you are looking for a bold lip color to match your mood this is it. But beware- precision is necessary with the type of product or you will be staining your face for the rest of the day.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/21/2013 8:17:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This was my first lip tar and I instantly fell in love with the formula. I collect lip glosses, and while this isn't a gloss at all, I find it works so well with any number of clear or pink glosses to give it some shine. As others have noticed it does tend to fade from the middle first but being a lipgloss girl I'm quite ok with reapplying during the day :D it's definitely a formula where less is more though, just a tiny bead will fully cover your lips. I haven't found it a drying liquid lipstick, but there isn't any moisture added so a bit of gloss certainly helps.


on 3/23/2013 7:05:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Green

I have two of the OCC Lip Tars, in Strumpet and NSFW. I love them both, but they have very different places in my makeup collection. Strumpet in my experience has been easier to apply precisely than NSFW is, and it's also a more daytime friendly color and intensity for my skin. When I say daytime friendly, that's daytime friendly for me, and I prefer a very obvious lip. This is not for everyone, and if you prefer just the hint or intimation of color, this lip tar may not be for you.
As long as it's allowed to dry properly, it should last quite a few hours without mishap. It does tend to wear from the center of my lips before wearing away on the outside, so what I've found is that Revlon's Balm Stain in Smitten is close enough to the color that it can be used to fill in the center if necessary midday. The finishes are different, but it actually blends out quite nicely for me.
Usually I will exfoliate my lips softly and apply an extremely moisturizing balm prior to doing the rest of my makeup (I usually use Burt's Bees Ultra Conditioning balm or just a vitamin E oil I keep on hand). After finishing the rest of my makeup, I wipe most of the balm off with tissue and line my lips with a clear liner. I put on Strumpet with a lip brush to my favored intensity, let it dry, and I'm usually very happy with the result!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 2/7/2013 7:53:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I really like the shade of this lipstick. It's a nice berry red. I thought I would get into the hype so I decided to purchase one at my local sephora. First i hated most of the colors there and I didn't see any shades that I didn't have already.
This does not stay long on the lips at all. For me personally this is a lip tar that needs a lip liner. I found it to be drying on the lips. Be careful when you are applying this with dry lips as I noticed that it causes the color to bleed past the frame of your lips. It also not a lipstick that is easy to apply. I hate the lip brush that came with it as it was very difficult to outline the shape of your lips. This is not a lipstick that you apply when you are in a hurry. I treat this as any kind of dark shade that needs time and precise application.
So no I will not be buying this again, when its done.


on 2/4/2013 10:02:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Let me first say I liked the color, it is truly very pretty and it really shows the true color. However, this does not stay on, and if you do put lip balm under it, it will come off with a wipe of tissue. Secondly, it made my lips dry, when it clearly says it will not. I personally will not buy again, I will return. Sorry guys. Just being honest.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/16/2013 3:34:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Very happy with this purchase! I got so many compliments on it yesterday. I was unsure of tars as I didn't believe they'd be easy to apply, and might not have good staying power. I was proved wrong! With a lip liner in hand, it was very easy to apply. Holy wowzers, the colour is so pigmented! It's like a just-bit-into-a-berry stain. I applied it at 7am, and at 6pm it was still stuck in place. Didn't even have to touch it up after eating/drinking. Can't wait to try more colours!


on 10/26/2012 11:25:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Green

I was so disappointed in these Lip Tars. It dried & cracked my lips, no matter what I layered under or over it & wore off within an hour.
The description of 'crushed red grape' was waaaay off for me (might just be my weird lipstick-altering powers...): Strumpet came out a hot raspberry pink! Not what I was after at all.
I would strongly recommend against buying a colour in Lip Tar you haven't tested personally, as hours of online research comparing loads of different pictures & reviews showed me that the colours look very different on different people. A bit obvious I know, but there seems to be a BIG changeability factor (what, that's a word...!).

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 10/16/2012 1:29:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Tan, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Love this so much! This & NSFW are tied for my favorite lip product. It shows up as a deep slightly purple magenta on my lips, very pretty and goes well w/ my NW35 skin tone. You really have to use this correctly to get the full benefits of this product. You only need one small-medium sized drop of this product for all of your lips - work it in w/ a lip brush and you'll come away w/ a very pigmented matte lip that feels like you've got nothing on and lasts for hours. Make sure your lips are moisturized but don't have any oily residue on them and using a lip liner makes it last even longer.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top