Obsessive Compulsive Cosmetics • Lip Tar - Strumpet • Lips

rated 3.7(12 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.50%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* alina08 on 9/28/2013 10:53:00 PM more reviews by alina08

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I got this in the Sephora lip sampler and man was this an awesome find! I did not know what to expect from a lip tar, as I thought it was a gloss, but I slathered it on only to find out it was not a gloss at all and that the pigment was intense (yikes!). After my initial shock, I had to give OCC cosmetics credit- the formula is long-wearing (super long-wearing actually), the color is outrageous but at the same time wearable, and the little brush it comes with is good for evening out the pigment. I fell in love almost instantly. If you are looking for a bold lip color to match your mood this is it. But beware- precision is necessary with the type of product or you will be staining your face for the rest of the day.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 doxiedarling on 7/21/2013 8:17:00 AM more reviews by doxiedarling

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This was my first lip tar and I instantly fell in love with the formula. I collect lip glosses, and while this isn't a gloss at all, I find it works so well with any number of clear or pink glosses to give it some shine. As others have noticed it does tend to fade from the middle first but being a lipgloss girl I'm quite ok with reapplying during the day :D it's definitely a formula where less is more though, just a tiny bead will fully cover your lips. I haven't found it a drying liquid lipstick, but there isn't any moisture added so a bit of gloss certainly helps.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 aelrah on 3/23/2013 7:05:00 PM more reviews by aelrah

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy   Eyes: Green    

I have two of the OCC Lip Tars, in Strumpet and NSFW. I love them both, but they have very different places in my makeup collection. Strumpet in my experience has been easier to apply precisely than NSFW is, and it's also a more daytime friendly color and intensity for my skin. When I say daytime friendly, that's daytime friendly for me, and I prefer a very obvious lip. This is not for everyone, and if you prefer just the hint or intimation of color, this lip tar may not be for you.
As long as it's allowed to dry properly, it should last quite a few hours without mishap. It does tend to wear from the center of my lips before wearing away on the outside, so what I've found is that Revlon's Balm Stain in Smitten is close enough to the color that it can be used to fill in the center if necessary midday. The finishes are different, but it actually blends out quite nicely for me.
Usually I will exfoliate my lips softly and apply an extremely moisturizing balm prior to doing the rest of my makeup (I usually use Burt's Bees Ultra Conditioning balm or just a vitamin E oil I keep on hand). After finishing the rest of my makeup, I wipe most of the balm off with tissue and line my lips with a clear liner. I put on Strumpet with a lip brush to my favored intensity, let it dry, and I'm usually very happy with the result!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Cayla29S on 2/7/2013 7:53:00 PM more reviews by Cayla29S

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I really like the shade of this lipstick. It's a nice berry red. I thought I would get into the hype so I decided to purchase one at my local sephora. First i hated most of the colors there and I didn't see any shades that I didn't have already.
This does not stay long on the lips at all. For me personally this is a lip tar that needs a lip liner. I found it to be drying on the lips. Be careful when you are applying this with dry lips as I noticed that it causes the color to bleed past the frame of your lips. It also not a lipstick that is easy to apply. I hate the lip brush that came with it as it was very difficult to outline the shape of your lips. This is not a lipstick that you apply when you are in a hurry. I treat this as any kind of dark shade that needs time and precise application.
So no I will not be buying this again, when its done.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 yuklin on 2/4/2013 10:02:00 AM more reviews by yuklin

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Let me first say I liked the color, it is truly very pretty and it really shows the true color. However, this does not stay on, and if you do put lip balm under it, it will come off with a wipe of tissue. Secondly, it made my lips dry, when it clearly says it will not. I personally will not buy again, I will return. Sorry guys. Just being honest.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 itsliv on 1/16/2013 3:34:00 PM more reviews by itsliv

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

Very happy with this purchase! I got so many compliments on it yesterday. I was unsure of tars as I didn't believe they'd be easy to apply, and might not have good staying power. I was proved wrong! With a lip liner in hand, it was very easy to apply. Holy wowzers, the colour is so pigmented! It's like a just-bit-into-a-berry stain. I applied it at 7am, and at 6pm it was still stuck in place. Didn't even have to touch it up after eating/drinking. Can't wait to try more colours!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Sophaholic on 10/26/2012 11:25:00 AM more reviews by Sophaholic

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I was so disappointed in these Lip Tars. It dried & cracked my lips, no matter what I layered under or over it & wore off within an hour.
The description of 'crushed red grape' was waaaay off for me (might just be my weird lipstick-altering powers...): Strumpet came out a hot raspberry pink! Not what I was after at all.
I would strongly recommend against buying a colour in Lip Tar you haven't tested personally, as hours of online research comparing loads of different pictures & reviews showed me that the colours look very different on different people. A bit obvious I know, but there seems to be a BIG changeability factor (what, that's a word...!).

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 teaelleyou on 10/16/2012 1:29:00 AM more reviews by teaelleyou

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Love this so much! This & NSFW are tied for my favorite lip product. It shows up as a deep slightly purple magenta on my lips, very pretty and goes well w/ my NW35 skin tone. You really have to use this correctly to get the full benefits of this product. You only need one small-medium sized drop of this product for all of your lips - work it in w/ a lip brush and you'll come away w/ a very pigmented matte lip that feels like you've got nothing on and lasts for hours. Make sure your lips are moisturized but don't have any oily residue on them and using a lip liner makes it last even longer.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* BEjunkie on 10/2/2012 1:10:00 AM more reviews by BEjunkie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

If you love MAC Rebel, you will love Strumpet, as it is quite similar but with a bit "more". It is the most perfect fall lip color. I love the satiny finish, I love how long lasting it is. It is by far my most favorite of the Lip Tars and possibly my favorite lip color in my collection.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* maliciousdelicious on 5/20/2012 12:15:00 PM more reviews by maliciousdelicious

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I had heard so much about lip tars and this was such a lovely magenta colour. For some reason, I thought it was going to be matte. Deep colours look much more chic in matte. It wasn't at all. The shine makes it look quite cheap on my lips and the moist part rubs off quite easily. I didn't think it had that much staying power which is supposed to be why this is called a "tar".

I like the cute tube but it's tough to apply. I thought it would be a bit more purple on my lips too. I may try just one more colour though.

Update: I now buff over it with MAC translucent powder and it becomes matte and quite pretty. But all in all, too much trouble!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Obsessive Compulsive Cosmetics products

More Lips products