Dior Diorskin Healthy Glow Summer Powder in Aurora

4.1

11 reviews

63% would repurchase

Package Quality: 5.0

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 5.0

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS



on 2/15/2014 10:47:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

Bought this in 001 Aurora as i wanted a subtle bronzer that wouldn't look unnatural during winter/early spring.The packaging is very sturdy to say the least and comes with a mirror in the lid and a small kabuki brush. The kabuki brush whilst being handy for on the go touch ups does shed hair and isn't the softest. If it were softer i think it would distribute the product more evenly than it does at the moment. The product itself is very nice and is a joy to apply(with a decent bronzing brush). It warms my fair skin up a treat an is easy to build up if you want more colour to your tan. The price at 38 in the UK seems a little expensive but i suppose the inclusion of the kabuki brush and the sturdiness of the packaging accounts for some of this. There is a little bit of shimmer but it is not too much in my opinion.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 12/13/2011 2:41:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Black, Curly, Other

Eyes: Black

Summer is long gone but this is only bronzer that works for me. I don`t tan or want to and all bronzers look too brown or muddy on me. This has peach in it and gives very subtle look. I can add more to use it as a blush too. Tbh, I have never been fan of bronzers anyway and don`t understand why you should look darker than you are. Even with this I can overapply and end up looking too "peachy". ID mind it is LE, because it will last till I drop dead:)


on 8/14/2011 10:08:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I purchase this product very late this summer. Actually I couldnt believe this product was still available. the product-package is very pretty. The compact is silver and hefty. Inside the woven patern with the shimmer, peach and bronze layers is really smooth and silky. The only thing i'm kind of too tan for aurora, i'm MAC NC25 (in winter i'm more NC20), right now the effect is really subtile, I use it more for like a contour powder.
So if you are darker skintone then MAC NC25 purchase the other bronzer (002)


on 8/7/2011 11:14:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I got the darker one for my skintone and the Aurora for my best friend (as they were limited editions) Fab bronzer for that light bronzed healthy look. Gives a nice shimmer as well. Hasnt broken my skin out so thats a plus. nice packaging and handy mini brush for when on the go.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/1/2011 9:32:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

For reference, I am NC20, BB Skin Warm Ivory, MUFE F&B #20, Chanel VA B010 Beige-Ocre Tendre or B10 Beige Tendre. I purchased this from The Bay as soon as it came out. I tested both of the summer powders and thought the darker one was a bit too orange on my more fair skin. The Aurora powder is so gorgeous. I love the pattern.

In the pan, it has weaves of soft peach and fair bronze shades. It appears to have quite a shimmery look in the pan, however once it is applied to my skin, i see absolutely zero shimmer (kind of like the way Nars Laguna applies on me as well)

I tend to use this as a blush tho, not as an all over bronzer. It gives such a natural gorgeous peachy bronze shade. I cant seem to over-apply this either, no matter if i use just a little or layer it for a more intense look - it blends so seamlessly. I also have tried layering another sheer blush on top and it still looks gorgeous (Examples - Joe Fresh Pale Peach, Nars Deep Throat)

The palette is sturdy and the product is so finely milled. I have used it every day since I have bought it (over a month ago) and it doesnt even look like its been used. This will last me a lifetime, so eventhough I selected Yes I would buy this product again, Im sure I wouldnt need. So I guess I can justify the hefty price tag with this since its (a) gorgeous and (b) will last a lifetime.


on 5/28/2011 3:04:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I have to admit to being scared of bronzers because I have very fair skin, but when I saw Aurora reviewed online I thought it sounded perfect for me. It is a lovely powder with peachy-pink tones and more glowy than glittery. I have to say found that the first few times I applied this I just wasn't getting the look I wanted, it was coming out too intense, but then I played around with a few brushes until I achieved the look I wanted. So now I use a big fluffy brush which gives a lovely subtle glow. I have given this 4 out of 5 because I am not yet totally in love but this is because I really am a bronzer virgin and not because of any fault with the powder! The compact also looks very glamourous!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/25/2011 9:20:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

The aurora was advised by the SA for my medium light skin. I was already sceptical about the pink tones in this powder, but she was very sure that this was the right colour for my skin-tone. Well, it's not !!
I have a slightly yellow undertone and this "pink" powder doesn't look good on me.
Besides, I will not call this a bronzer ! More a pinkish glow. As I live in Europe it is not possible to bring cosmetics back.
I ended up with buying the (darker) sunset too, and with light application it looks very nice.
So please, try this first in the store, and don't make the mistake that aurora (001) is only for light skin and sunset (002) for dark skin. Undertone in skin is also important, specially with pink/peachy colours

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 5/22/2011 8:59:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I usually avoid bronzers because they make my face look dirty, but after reading the positive reviews here, I decided to take a chance, and I'm glad I did. It gives my face a soft, natural-looking glow. I took the SA's advice about applying - using the wide brush that comes with the bronzer, apply a small amount in a downward motion, from the middle of the forehead down the bridge of the nose, onto the chin and on the cheekbones - so that you get color exactly where the sun would.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/18/2011 5:29:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Utter disappointment...I bought Aurora over the weekend and was so much looking forward to trying it. On my NC20-25 skin (Becca Nude, Bobbi Brown Sand/Warm Sand, Dior Nude 021) it showed up as a rather unnatural pinkish peachy shimmer that did not impart a healthy glow whatsoever. It did not improve skin tone or luminosity and failed to perform as a bronzer. In a frantic attempt to get it working I tried it over two different foundations with and without bronzer but to no avail. By the way, ethylexyl palmitate is high up on the list and within 3 days it clogged some pores on my cheeks. I love Dior powders in general but Aurora is overhyped for what it is. Thumbs down.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 5/15/2011 5:32:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Green

This bronzer has taken 1st place in my makeup routine. I do not even notice my other bronzers in my collection. I am so loving it. When I first saw it I thought there is no way it will look good on me. It looked like it would be orangey. But, it looks wonderful. It warms my face up and looks very natural. I use it in the 3 shading method. It is also not shimmery just has a nice glow.
I think anybody that is pale and has a hard time with bronzers looking dirty or fake should diff. try this. I might even buy a back-up. If I can find another one.




Back to Top