Dove • Damage Therapy Nourishing Oil Care Daily Treatment Conditioner • Hair Treatments

rated 3.5(27 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.51%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 Viridian on 12/18/2014 7:00:00 PM more reviews by Viridian

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Was hoping for good things from this, since they discontinued the previous, cheaper, oil care shampoo (which was AWESOME).
Really disappointed. It's by no means terrible, the smells not too offensive, but it leaves me with greasy-looking, fake shiny hair, and the worst case of frizz I've had in ages. By mid afternoon my hair looks parched as well. Sad times.
Will be looking out for bottles of the old stuff now so I can stock up.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 BADKITTY13 on 10/20/2014 1:25:00 AM more reviews by BADKITTY13

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Best conditioner ever! I think it is better than high end conditioners and I have tried tons! Makes my hair soft but not flat! Smooths my frizzy s but gives lots of body and it smells awesome!!! Why am I having trouble finding it in sores now? Hope they did not discontinue!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 jegeriufane on 4/12/2014 6:40:00 AM more reviews by jegeriufane

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I have tried this once and was expecting sleek, shiny and moisturised hair. Instead, I got puffy, dull hair and had to use extra products to get that puffiness out. Very disappointed. Was choosing from Pantene intensive conditioner and this one, thought I'd give Dove hair care a try, big mistake. I'll try the Pantene one next time since I absolutely loved their mask! Btw, my hair is long, thick and healthy, so getting dull and puffy hair was a surprise to me, it felt as if I put their shower cream on my hair instead of a conditioner, that didn't happen though:) I'll keep using it, perhaps with time I'd see some improvement, but for the time being I'm majorly disapointed, my regular conditioner does a much better job.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lsquires12 on 8/7/2012 1:09:00 PM more reviews by lsquires12

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a fabulous conditioner, especially for the price! I have thick, coarse, dry hair and I heat style, so I need a LOT of moisture. I've tried the most moisturizing product lines from Kerastase, Biolage, AG, and Redken, just to name a few, and I think this conditioner is the best. It leaves my hair feeling soft and hydrated without extra weight or build-up, and it smells divine. I'm not sure it's HG, but it's pretty close!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 makiyazh on 7/31/2012 6:00:00 PM more reviews by makiyazh

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

I really love the regular conditioner from this line and thought I would try this as well. It's not bad, but I noticed that my hair is heavier and has much less volume. I think I'll stick to the regular one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lchoe on 6/29/2012 4:33:00 PM more reviews by lchoe

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I use both the Dove Nourishing Oil Care Conditioner (the one w/ the higher rating, in a bottle similar to Dove Body Washes - I will call #1 for simplicity) and this Dove Treatment (in a Tube, I'll call it #2 for simplicity). I LOVE the Dove Nourishing Oil Care Cond. #1 as it leaves my hair perfect w/ all the good stuff we want for our hair (soft, shiny, clean w /no film, good movement, FULL) but I thought this treatment #2 is not getting the love/good ratings it deserves. When I have used this, my hair was definitely more conditioned than w/ #1 but not as full bodied (more flat), etc.


I recently came back from a Bumble & Bumble Event (@ their headquarters, House of Bumble) in NYC where we could get a color consultation & our hair styled so my stylist curled my hair (long, 3" past shoulders) & used B&B Surf Spray (has salt, good for oomph but not good at all for conditioning your hair). BTW - both the colorist (1 of the top colorists there) & stylist thought my hair was in great condition (thanks Dove Nourishing Oil Conditioners)! Next morning, I woke up just feeling what "slight" damage (dryer, more prone to tangling) I had done to my hair (in 1 evening!) and in the next hour I was going to a vigorous dance class where we end up dripping wet w/ sweat (more sweat/salt to the scalp, hair, OUCH - my poor hair). So before class I quickly washed my hair & used the Dove Treatment (#2). After class, I took my ponytail out and my hair was beautifully conditioned, soft, shiny/glossy, etc. I KNOW that Dove Nourishing Oil Cond. #1 would not have cured my damaged hair like #2 did. Yes, I reach for the #1 more often but when I need to really pamper my hair, I reach for #2. So I am happy to own both Dove Nourishing Oil Conditioners - just know when you to use them for your different needs.


This is the 1st time in 30 years I love a Drug Store Treatment/Mask! All this time I've been using Kerastase Masques, Bumble & Bumble Super Rich & various masks, Alterna, Living Proof, Joico, Biolage Ultra Hydrating Balm (Dove left my hair softer & fuller, not as limp as w/ Biolage), Redken All Soft (Dove left my hair softer, shinier, fuller w/o the film-y feeling as All Soft), etc. I can't believe a conditioner/treatment that costs $4.79 for 8 oz is outperforming $50+ masques & $30 conditioners! I've been trying the highly rated drug store favorites off & on for 30 years only to be disappointed (other Dove conditioners, Neutrogena Triple Moisture Masque DID NOTHING for my hair except to leave it limp/stringy w/ no moisture!, others like Pantene, L'oreal left a film).


I am 46, have fine, thin (but lots of it) long (5" past shoulders), black, stick straight, silky Korean hair. Slightly oily scalp with dry ends. I use: Kerastase Bain Miroir 1 & 2 Shampoos, Kerastase masques (MasquIntense, UV Defense), Bumble & Bumble (Super Rich), Joico (K-Pak deep conditioners), Redken (Extreme Conditioner).

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 KGirl24 on 5/28/2012 11:34:00 PM more reviews by KGirl24

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

My hair is thick, slightly wavy, can get frizzy, and at times very dry. Most conditioners do not do a decent job for me. I always have to wind up spraying a leave in conditioner as well. With Dove, I can feel it working on my hair as soon as I put it in. My hair feels so soft, moisturized, and not at all greasy. The price for this is very reasonable, about $6. I think that I may have found my HG conditioner.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 taralanette on 5/22/2012 12:28:00 PM more reviews by taralanette

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

LOOOOOOVVVEEE this! After stripping the color from my hair, and bleaching it about a year ago, I needed something to tame the frizz and nourish my hair. This was it. It was love at first use. As my hair is still in the process of healing, I notice that I use less and less of this each time. I've been using it it for about 3 months. I'm to the point now where I only use it mid length to the ends (mid-back length), as it seems to grease up my roots and weigh down my hair.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* NikitaRose on 5/12/2012 11:01:00 AM more reviews by NikitaRose

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Grey    

Didn't notice this product working any better than any regular drugstore conditioner. I do admit that I didn't find the oil care conditioner (that most people seem to love and has a really high rating) that good either so maybe it's just me. I have straight/slightly wavy long hair with some highlights and what I am looking in a conditioner/treatment is to make it shinier and easier to detangle. Well, this wasn't it.
Oh and I really hated the container, I grabbed the bottle with wet hands once and the label started peeling off where I touched it, I've never seen anything like it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 valeria_l on 5/8/2012 4:40:00 PM more reviews by valeria_l

Age: Unknown   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I love this product. It doesn't work miracles but I don't think anything will with my hair. I have thic,k coarse, curly hair. It does make my hair soft and moisturized. I use a wide-toothed comb in the shower to work it through, slap on a shower cap to get it out of the way and rinse off at the very end. I also use the matching shampoo which I also really like. I can't use the other conditioner in this line because it contains mineral oil that makes me break out. I haven't been able to find it at Target like I used to though. I found it for 50% off on Walgreen's website and bought as many as I could although they didn't have much in stock. Usually when it disappears from Target that means it's discontinued. I hope not because I like this a lot.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Dove products

More Hair Treatments products