Guerlain Rouge Automatique

4.4

44 reviews

86% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS



on 8/25/2015 6:19:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I'm a fan of lip gloss texture, lipsticks tend to be heavier on my lips, but this one has a great formula and even I can wear it every day without feeling like there's clay on my lips. It has this old-fashioned lipstick smell, but not too overpowering, and the packaging is great - pretty but also easy to use, you don't have to worry that the cap is going to crack or anything.
I have this in #145 Love Is All - a pinky coral that really livens up the complexion, looks great with/without tan, perfect neutral with a pop. I also love that it doesn't wrinkle up on your lips, looks pretty smooth. Overall, definitely would recommend.



on 7/23/2015 1:13:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Other, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I often wonder if the price people pay influences their opinion when it comes time to honestly review a product. I say this because I've noticed that many higher priced products, although (often) totally mediocre, receive an unusually high amount of glowing reviews when the actual performance of the product stinks as is the case with Guerlain's Rouge Automatique lipsticks. They're crap. I purchased this in shade 122 which is a cherry red shade and feel totally scammed. This product is incredibly drying and the quality is very poor. I have a few of the Wet N' Wild Mega Last lipsticks which I purchased for $2.00 versus the $30.00 + I spent on this sh*tty product, and they are nearly identical in terms of quality. Actually, the Wet N' Wild lipsticks perform better.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/12/2014 12:08:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

and presenting #162 miss "Bloom of Rose" who had been languishing in my lipstick drawer (for eons) but re-discovered just recently and I'm so glad she was as I had forgotten what an amazing colour she is, she has been an absolute hit and getting much love this week and will be especially popular now the weather is getting warmer here.

Bloom of Rose is a very pretty looking peach pink slightly watermelon shade in the tube but applies as a gorgeous peachy pink with shimmer. Looks great with a subtle or more glammed up smoky eye look and a very fresh colour for spring and summer.

The RA formula is very creamy, smooth, moisturising and comfortable on, it only needs to be applied once for instant colour. Wear time is about average for me of a few hours, but I love re-applying lipstick so that is not a downside. I find this formula wears a lot longer than the kiss kiss formula.

I love Guerlain packaging but this tube is not a favourite as I always feel if it is wound out too far it would just snap off. Swatch above for miss "Bloom of Rose" #162.


on 7/29/2014 8:05:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

Absolutly the best lipsticks I own. I have 3, my favorite being Shalimar, one of the few bright lipsticks I wear. The packaging is killer. It is gold, Guerlain logo, and kind of like a stilleto knife to get it to open. I like it that there is no actual top, they fall off and get lost anyways. Great for whipping out in public, its a conversation starter and gets looks.

About the formula: so soft, smooth, moisturizing, glides on effortlessly, buildable coverage(sheer to medium), lovely scent, stays on(but not super long wear), and gorgous colors and finishes.

Mood booster, confident booster, instant first class. Worth every penny.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I have 2 RAs and I LOVE them. They smell good, the packaging is nice, they are so easy to apply and feel very nice and comfortable on my lips. One of the best lipstick formulas I have ever tried. The only con is that they cost $40, and that is not in my budget right now for new colours.


on 2/20/2014 1:52:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I just got this in Jicky 104. I'm slowly entering the world of wearing brownish shades again. I have light olive skin with warm golden undertones. Brown is one of those colors that could either totally wash me out and look sad and bland -or- give me a pretty, elegant, sunkissed look. Luckily this shade did that for me! It's really a gorgeous color, sheer, sort of "raisin pink". It's brown in the tube but does not look brown on the lips. It's an incredibly subtle and elegant hue that I can't really describe. I decided to try it out (ordered online from Neiman Marcus) after realizing that all of the colors that I liked on Temptalia's Swatch Library were by Guerlain. Most of my other lipsticks are berry, fuschia, or pinkish red. I think this is probably the most elegant color I own, so I highly recommend it for olive skintones.

The only thing I really don't like about this lipstick is the ridiculous packaging. You slide the button on the case up, which flips open the top of the lipstick and raises the lippie up. It's sort of hard to explain. But, as one other reviewer noted, you have the raise the lipstick higher than ordinary just to be able to use it. It's just incredibly awkward packaging - something more traditional or user friendly would be quite appreciated. That said, I'm really curious about trying out some other Guerlain colors. I like this one a lot.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/28/2014 1:40:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I have this in shade 122, Liu. This is a bright pink-red and while I'm usually not fond of pink based reds especially cooler ones, I find this a really fun colour that works on my warmer complexion and pops without being too dramatic. I find that the colour is really opaque and just glides onto the lips with its luscious creamy gel? texture. It isn't creamy in that it slides everywhere, it really does stick and stay on your lips. It also has a lovely shine to it, not the greasy/shiny look. Compared to other lipsticks it also transfers to objects like cups very little and the lasting power is excellent and leaves a stain. It also does a great job at smoothing over lip lines and I find it does pretty well in hydrating, or at least not drying out my lips. I find it better in the hydration department than Dior Addict or Chanel Rouge Coco. I really love the packaging, it is different and very expensive looking. Also where I live at least, the Rouge Automatiques are cheaper than Chanel and Dior etc. lippies. It also has a lovely violet scent, others may dislike it but I adore violets! My only issue... is that apart from Liu there aren't really any other shades that grab my attention and those that do appear to be on the sheerer side :(. But I am quite picky! Overall I love this and hope they release more shades. I would love to try Rouge G but I wonder if it's worth the price jump...?

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/21/2014 10:16:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I got this as a present in 221 and I love it… I've tried MAC Cremesheen, Elizabeth Arden and even Rimmel but everything dries my lips out. This one is a clear winner for me because it smooths over the cracks of my lips and makes my lips look pretty smooth and hydrated. The color of the actual lipstick looks candy pink but on the lips its a pink-red (but more red) richness. Love, love, love this!


on 1/18/2014 2:13:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I rarely write reviews but I felt compelled to write one about this product as it is so not worth the money. I purchased the Shine Automatique in Mi Mai (202) and the product itself is ok-- it doesn't wear especially long and it's definitely inferior to Guerlain's Kiss Kiss Stick Gloss in just about every way. It's much "thinner" in terms of coverage on your lips, doesn't wear as well, and frankly looks and feels cheap. It also has a slight chemical smell, which is unpleasant. However, my biggest complaint is the packaging, which is poorly thought out and clunky. To "open" this lipstick, you push DOWN on the lever, which is counterintuitive, and frankly, stupid. Just about every other lipstick has you twist the tube in a clockwise motion or push UP on a button. Not Guerlain though, they are too clever for that, I guess. What's more, once you get down to the second half of the lipstick, it's difficult to apply as the packaging gets in the way. Finally, the product is encased in a square silver box which is just clunky enough to be awkward to hold in the hand. Thanks Guerlain. Nothing about this product justifies the price, which is about $35.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 11/13/2013 11:27:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I bought the shade ''rouge d'enfer''. This lipstick is soooo pigmented! It lasts forever. Perfect for going out, I especially like the bright red against an all black outfit. The packaging is luxurious and I have to admit I kinda like showing it off when reapplying lipstick ;)

It is on the pricy side but it's worth it! All the shades are classic, just gives you more opportunities to wear the product. I might buy the shade ''l'heure bleue'' for the holidays, just seems like the perfect deep red shade, so in this season :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Recommended for Medium Skin



Back to Top