NARS Pro-Prime Multi-Protect Primer SPF 30 PA+++


29 reviews

62% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$


Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Oh my word... this stuff is dreadful! Nars is really a hit or miss brand for me and this primer goes further than miss. It turns me into an oil slick each time after just an hour and separates even the most resilient foundations like Double Wear. It also has fragrance, albeit not synthetic, but still irritating fragrance.

My aim with this primer was to have a 2 in one moisturizer and primer, but it just didn't work out at all. I'm happily back to using Clinique Even Better SPF45 sunblock followed by Estee Lauder Mattifying Primer. The latter also has a small amount of fragrance, but I haven't experiences any irritation whatsoever. I'm considering trying out the Smashbox Anti-Blemish primer, which is rated as best on Beautypedia.

Hope this helps! :o))

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

on 8/12/2015 11:46:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

This primer goes on smoothly, sets quickly, and does not pill when other products are applied over it. I liked the SPF rating and didn't find the slight scent a problem at all.
It didn't settle into lines, but it didn't help with pores, either.
The packaging is absolutely fine - there was no problem getting the right amound product out of the tube.
However, I can't say that this primer did much more than a moisturiser would do, and a too-rich moisturiser at that. My skin is oily, and after about 4 hours, my skin was shiny and my makeup was dissolving. The primer didn't seem to do much to keep my makeup going!
I won't repurchase - I'll go for something which helps with my pores a bit more, and keeps my skin more matte.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

on 7/3/2015 1:36:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

My oily skinned friend is in love with this product, but I hate it. It makes my dry skin even drier after use. I had to just swap with my friend, there was no working with this product.

on 7/3/2015 1:16:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I was given a few samples of this primer. It went on nicely at first but the smell was an overwhelmingly of rotten citrus. Then the nice texture turned sticky and stayed sticky until i removed it. It didn't do anything to make my fdtn or tm stay longer (bobbi brown skin 4.25/nars tm in alaska) and i had breakouts from it. Gave the samples away - hopefully they work on someone else. Wont be purchasing but am willing to try the other nars primers. For reference my skin is more on the combo side, sometims its oily/dehydrated depending on the weather.

on 7/10/2013 6:25:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Other, Fine

Eyes: Blue

So happy I found this in time for British 'summer'! It's so hard to find products here marketed as sunscreen which can also be worn under makeup & not cause a sticky, oily mess, since 9 months out of the year we just don't have the weather for it. However after getting sunburn on my very pale face several times after the last few years, I realised I had to hunt one down, however much it cost.

While visiting Space.NK with my mum (somewhere I never normally go for makeup as it's too expensive for me), I hunted down a couple of high SPF products with help from the sales assistant. First I tried a Laura Mercier one, though this turned out to be a bit too thick and sticky to use on my occasionally oily skin. The NARS product applied much lighter and dried completely smooth and non-sticky. It definitely doesn't give the flawless smooth finish of a specialist smoothing primer, but leaves a good base to apply foundation or BB cream on top. I've recently noticed it has a slight citrus-y smell which I didn't notice before, but thought it could be due to me leaving it in a warm room - this isn't a product which is super-scented at all. The packaging isn't rubberised like their compacts, just a small matte black squeezy tube which still looks high-end on the dressing table. Costing £25, I would have hesitated to spend that much on one & would normally save up for it, though as my mum was visiting she insisted on buying it for me - so sweet.

I've worn this primer for several weeks and I couldn't be happier with the results. It doubles as a primer as well as a sunscreen so I don't have to incorporate yet another product into my routine (got to love multi-use items) and I've been outside in the sun for hours most days without a trace of sunburn. Although many foundations & creams already contain SPF, it's really important to use a sunscreen product as well for safety, especially if you're pale like me - I've found that out the hard way more than enough. I'm so relieved to have found this before our current summer heatwave so my makeup still looks smooth & flawless in the summer heat whilst protecting my skin - I'll be sure to repurchase once it's used up!

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

on 2/26/2013 4:59:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Love the SPF and how it didn't pill while applying bb cream over it. Seriously, for a glorious day, I thought that fortune had finally smiled upon me. But I broke out as early as the next morning AND saw that it had exacerbated some of the drier areas of my face. This is going back. Proceed with caution, if you have combination/dry skin.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

on 1/18/2013 10:50:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm

Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I use this everyday whether or not I wear makeup

on 1/8/2013 4:27:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I honestly don't understand the hype surrounding this product. Don't get me wrong, I love NARS. I loved the light texture and citrusy scent of this primer, but it honestly did nothing. I've been using it for a week now and I've just given up. Definitely returning. I wanted a primer that would make my make up last all day. I applied this in the morning (8am) with no moisturiser underneath so as not to double-up, and when I looked at my face on my lunch break (1pm) my face was a complete grease ball and the foundation on my nose had all but disappeared. This cost me nearly $60 here in Australia, and it's only 30mL! I am so disappointed because as I said, I love NARS and swear by a lot of their products. I'm going to try the Hourglass Veil primer next, wish me luck... *SIGH*

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

on 12/29/2012 5:03:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Black

I love this primer. It's holy grail for my normal but sensitive skin. It has a light moisturizer consistency with the a citrus almost orange like fragrance. This primer keeps my makeup looking fresh all day. I can wear it under any foundation from liquid to Creme to powder without ever having to touch up. I use this everyday even when I'm not wearing makeup because of the SPF in it.

on 12/1/2012 12:44:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Other, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I bought this based on recommendations from Capitol Hill Style. I really wanted it to work, since I was trying to find a long wearing solution for a slightly more humid environment.

This primer *was* longer wearing than my usual Laura Mercier stuff. Unfortunately, it didn't react well with my skin at all. I started breaking out within 2-3 days. Because I simultaneously changed my foundation, it took a few weeks of experimentation to (sadly) clear up my skin and confirm this was the breakout culprit (I had similar issues w/ Smashbox, but their primer didn't actually work for me). Thankfully I bought at Sephora, and was able to return it.

I do think it works well. If you have sensitive or breakout-prone skin, I highly suggest buying somewhere with a flexible return policy, in case it causes irritation.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Back to Top