Essie • No Chips Ahead • Top/Base Coats

rated 2.7(69 reviews)

Average Rating.2.7
Would buy this product again.40%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 eee555 on 4/6/2014 6:09:00 PM more reviews by eee555

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Like some other reviewers, I found that this just didn't dry. I used it on top of Essie nailpolish one afternoon. A whole day later, it would still dent/move around if something was pushed into it (and obviously my nails were ruined at this point). Pretty useless. I really like other Essie products, but not this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 coris7 on 2/23/2014 2:07:00 PM more reviews by coris7

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is by far one of the worst tops coats I have ever used. It would ALWAYS bubbles. However, I will say I learned the way to get the best results from this top coat - i figured I paid $9 for it - I am going to find a way to use it.. is to literally wait until the following day to apply this top coat or i guess until your nail color has dried all the way. I have used other top coat brands and i never had to wait until the nail color dried all the way, usually i could wait a few min and once they semi-dried i could apply the top coat and if the top coat is instant drying it would seal the color and look amazing... sadly this essie top coat you need all the patience in the world before applying otherwise it ruins your manicure... and lets be honest who wants to wait hours before applying a top coat.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Laurie2989 on 2/16/2014 11:40:00 PM more reviews by Laurie2989

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This was a gift and it works very well! If I had read the reviews I wouldnt have purchased it myself. Why dont peopke like this? I am glad I received it though. I've had my polish on for 5 days now and its still not chipped! I usually do my nails every 2-3 days.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Gerdule on 2/7/2014 11:23:00 AM more reviews by Gerdule

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

Not sure why this product has such bad reviews. I was very happy with it. Definitely prolongs the life of your manicure and also gives some shine (but not too much though) so perfect for daily use. and it dries quickly! Didn't take more than 10 mins for coat to dry. Overall I was happy with this this product and used up the whole bottle. Though it is quite expensive considering the size of the bottle. Also the brush can't really reach the very bottom of the bottle which means that eventually you gonna throw some of the product away simply because you can't get it out.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 diamandis on 1/28/2014 10:17:00 AM more reviews by diamandis

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is the WORST. It never dries EVER. I painted my nails and put the top coat on around 7 pm. All day I was just on the computer and my nails did not smudge or get ruined. Around 12 am I went to bed and when I woke up my nails were ruined! Anyways,I left them like that the entire day because I was really busy and didn't have time to even remove the polish. Around 12 pm I put gloves on and when I took them off my nails got even more ruined because they weren't even dry! Over 12 hours and it didn't even dry! I'm usually a fan of Essie, but this is just horrible!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hellerenee on 1/7/2014 3:47:00 PM more reviews by hellerenee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I don't understand why this product has bad reviews. I didn't even know some people thought it was bad until I decided to go on MUA and check :P Well, to me it is amazing. It leaves a nice glossy finish to your nails and in my case, it does make my nail polish last longer! Yay! I would definitely buy it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 lucyja on 9/23/2013 12:42:00 PM more reviews by lucyja

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

This stuff is terrible! Seriously don't waste your money! It takes FOREVER to dry and gets SO goopy. My nails chip with it on just like they would normally. If you're looking for a good top coat try Sally Hansen.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Tigitodwitz on 9/23/2013 1:52:00 AM more reviews by Tigitodwitz

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

This product is just not right for me at all. I've been painting my nails a lot pretty much or a year now, so I'm pretty much a newbie. I like making cool designs and etc. I was really interested in seche vite because it looks so nice on other peoples nails and dries really fast supposedly. But the store I went to didnt have it so I bought this thinking it would be pretty good. First of all it takes FOREVER to dry. FOREVER, literally HOURS. You probably need to wait about 6 maybe more hours until you can really start using your hands. Second it's pretty thin and not glossy like I was hoping it'd be. Third its Not good to finalize your nail designs. like right now i did a silver base with chunky blue glitter that i did lines with. turned out great but it doesnt even look like i have a top coat on and doesnt even out the raise between the two colors ( not even that big of a raise). I've been using this top coat for a few months now just dealing with it ( it was expensive!) The bottle is about 1/2 gone and is starting to thicken but does still apply good. It's just not a good top coat and my nails have chipped with it the next day after applying. So it's not glossy, doesn't even look that good with a single solid nail color, especially multicolors/layers, takes FOREVER(FOREVER!) to dry, and is too expensive! I would not recommend this product to anyone.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tigerlily217 on 8/13/2013 4:26:00 AM more reviews by tigerlily217

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Do not bother trying this top coat, it's a complete waste of your money! The worse top coat I have ever tried. The application is smooth and easy and it does leave a nice glossy finish to your nails, the good points stop there. It takes forever to dry! I applied this top coat on and was watching 3.5 hours worth of shows before heading to bed. Since I am always paranoid about ruining my nails I made sure to leave my hands out and avoid having contact with the sheets when in bed. When I woke up all of my nails had sheet imprints! It looked like I was rolling around in bed right after doing my nails. I couldn't believe it. 3.5 hours is more than enough time for it to dry. I always wait 20 minutes between coats to make sure everything dries properly. This is ridiculous. I'm an avid fan of Essie but this is not worth your money.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 ayelsmall on 8/2/2013 12:10:00 AM more reviews by ayelsmall

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This has to be one of the worst top coats I have used, and I have tried A LOT of them.. First of all, the brush is way too small for my liking..

I did a silver/gray/black gradient manicure, and it turned out awesome, looked better than a lot of professional manicures I've gotten in the past.. I let my manicure dry completely, and then applied this top coat.

While letting my polish dry, I watched two episodes of my tv show, which took about an hour.. touched my nails, and they felt dry. Decided I was going to go for a run, changed my pants and looked at my nails... RUINED. pretty much all of the nail polish smudged or came completely off my nail!! So aggravating!!!

Little bottle is in the trash now!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Essie products

More Top/Base Coats products