Essie No Chips Ahead

2.4

87 reviews

33% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Green

This is a terrible topcoat. It makes the polish underneath bubble and look terrible. I have no idea if it actually keeps the chips away, as every time I have used it, I have had to redo my nails.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 7/12/2015 2:22:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Blue

So this will be a sort of contradicting positive review but here it goes. This top coat makes whatever polish you use take forever to dry. I often wake up with sheet/hair marks after I use it. Why 5 lippies then? It is the only top coat I've ever used that the polish will stay on my nails without chips for at least 5 days. With all others I get chips in the first 24hrs. Because of the long dry time I've tried to find something else, but nothing else makes the polish last for me (and I've tried so many of the "good" ones). So until I find something that dries fast and provide chip free wear, this will be my HG top coat.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/30/2015 12:36:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Honestly, I really love the Essie brand as a whole, but this product is just terrible.
I normally use the fast drying top coat, but they were sold out. So I bought this one to try out. Big mistake.

Con:
- It never dries. I could wait a whole day, and still smudge/smear my paint job
- Its expensive

Pro:
-None.

Sorry Essie, but why are you still making this product to sell?


on 4/23/2015 10:23:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Wow, a big disappointment! I Well...painted my nils last night. The texture of this is very tacky. After a full hour, I touched them to see if they were dry. No..and it resulted in the polish underneath being smudged! It didn't end up all over my sheets, but this morning, the texture of the nails itself is very sticky. Imagine white glue that has residue all over your nails. I took a shower; and it started peeling off my nails. I would not recommend this to anyone!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/14/2015 2:21:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Worst. Topcoat. Ever.
I thought it was just me, but I should have read the reviews before I bought this! I liked Essie's Good to Go, so when I ran out of that I thought I'd try this one. It's awful. It takes hours to dry completely, so unless you can just avoid doing anything with your hand for 2+ hours, you are going to end up with smudges. Really nothing good to say about this, I regret buying it. :(

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/10/2015 2:13:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Essie, what are you thinking? Did you even test this product? This is far and away the worst top coat I've ever tried. Despite letting it dry for an hour, the polish ended up being dented and even dulled in some areas (looked like your matte about you which does actually dry). Whether or not it chips in a few days is irrelevant; it looks bad right now! I'm not sure how this ever got on the market, but it should be discontinued. It's an embarrassment to the Essie brand.

Seche, please forgive me for straying.


on 1/10/2015 12:37:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Do NOT buy this product. If you did buy it and are having problems with your nail polish not drying, its not you, its this product. Take it back and demand a refund.

I've tried writing to Essie today to say how much this product is a total fail and rip off, however their feedback form on their website does not work.

This product does not dry. it does not set, and it will not let your nail polish dry or set and therefore it will ruin any manicure you do.

You put it on to half dried polish, and the polish will not dry. You put it over properly dried polish and it will soften that nail polish, make it wet, and your manicure is now ruined because you touch or bump anything and the nail polish behaves exactly like a wet nail polish, it smudges, moves and bubbles.

If you have this polish, contact Essie and complain about this product. Mail it back to them. You've paid your money, if you put it in the trash they don't get any feedback and they still get to laugh all the way to the bank, but if you post it back to them then they have to take some accountability for such an awful product.

I like the brand overall, but this product - I want my money back on this one.

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 1/3/2015 1:11:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Sheet marks after 2 hours of drying time, really?

I bought this without checking reviews because a coworker said she loves it. I, unfortunately, do not. The bottle is fine, the consistency and brush are fine, it just never dried. It's tacky and sticky for ages (even with drying drops - but I don't know if those serve any purpose), and hours later they are easily dented or marked. Once it is dry, I haven't found it to be a particularly remarkable topcoat. I start to get some chips within a couple days, like every other topcoat I've ever used.

I'm annoyed that I paid like $10 for this.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 12/11/2014 6:09:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Green

I just got this in a beauty box yesterday and since I had been meaning to do my nails, I did them last night... DISASTER. Firstly, I want to say that I waited at least two hours to let my nails dry before going to bed as I always do. I woke up with not only sheet marks but major bubbling EVERYWHERE. Now I'm debating whether to touch up my nails or just repaint them completely... I have the urge to chuck this product in the bin. I usually love Essie, specially their coloured nail polish, but this is bad. Will stick with Seche Vite. I regret using this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/19/2014 7:34:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I wish I read the reviews before I bought this! I needed a new too coat since I was nearly out of my beloved Seche Vite, but wanted to try something different since Seche hasn't got the nicest ingredients in it...anyway I purchased this essie too coat on sale, and figured it would be okay since I am generally quite a fan of essie products. I used it the night I bought it over Orly bonder and two coats of essie color, followed by the essie drops (which are terrible, done a separate review on them) and it still took forever to dry. The next day I had chipping on two nails even though I hadn't done anything more than shower and make the bed! So I removed that polish, repeated the same steps with another essie color, skipped the drops (since they suck) and this was about 7.30pm. By 11pm my nails still weren't dry, by I thought they were dry enough to go to bed anyway. Now today they're a hot mess, all smudgy, dull and full of marks. Also they're still soft and I'm literally able to make new marks in it since it hasn't set hard and it's now 11.30am the next day! I can't wait to get home and remove it, and go back to my Seche Vite. For a top coat that is a higher end drug store and claims to be chip free it is the absolute worst. Don't buy it, literally buy anything else!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.




Top Rated Essie Products

image

Lollipop

40 reviews
image

Lady Like

66 reviews
image

Chinchilly

135 reviews
image

Watermelon

55 reviews
Back to Top