Maybelline • Color Sensational High Shine • Lipstick

rated 4.0(22 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.72%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 Artbum on 9/16/2012 3:04:00 PM more reviews by Artbum

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

'Dazzling Plum' is spot-on drugstore dupe for my HG l/s NARS "Fast Ride" - a.m.a.z.i.n.g color and almost the exact formulation of NARS sheer l/s- It is the most gorgeous mulberry color, 2.5 shades darker than my natural lip color, and I have yellow undertones in my fair-med skintone. I now toggle b/t both my "Fast Ride" and 'dazzling plum' everyday, day and night. These are my only two lip products and I keep badger balm for occasional deep conditioning. the two sheer l/s moisturize my lips perfectly, feel balmlike and are absolutely gorgeous alongside minimal eye makeup (black eyeliner on lower lid, mascara, blush or no blush) . .

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pinkfrost52 on 7/23/2012 2:37:00 AM more reviews by pinkfrost52

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I purchased one in 'Mango Diamonds' (445). It's a gorgeous bright coral shade with shimmer and has sheer coverage. These lipsticks are a cross between a lipgloss and a lipstick so don't expect full coverage with these. They have a nice glossy finish and a small amount of shimmer that will be left behind once the colour wears off. They have a very faint fruity scent and need to be reapplied often as they don't last long on your lips. Overall, I love the consistency and smooth formula of these lipsticks. Would be happy to repurchase another shade.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hebrides on 6/5/2012 3:53:00 PM more reviews by hebrides

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I love this because it is kind of a cross between lipstick and lip gloss. It has no taste or smell, it gives a fantastic shine and it comes in several beautiful shades. My favourite is Lacquered Brown, which was discontinued (weird since it is the best shade), but I found one in the deleted bin. I also have it in the pink and plum shades. I use them alone, or layered on top of other lipsticks. One of my favourite lipsticks ever. I'll keep buying this (if I ever use up the 5 I currently have).

Edit: I still love this and use it daily, and I still give it my highest rating. It is only a glorified gloss/balm type of thing, but it lasts way longer than the others of this type. Maybelline's current line of lipsticks are no good for me - the texture and smell and shades are just a poor substitute for their Moisture Wear line that they had for years, many of which I still use. But this gloss line is something special.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sovay on 5/14/2012 1:07:00 PM more reviews by sovay

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I bought the Plum Shine (830) shade and love it. The shimmer is very smooth and the color is quite saturated if you don't put on a balm first. I'm fair with pink undertones and this turned a lovely berry/reddy/plum on me. I tested most of the shades on the back of my hand and this one looked neutral, but bright...if that makes sense. I wear lots of nudes and raisin colors normally and was looking for something a little redder. This was perfect for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 barbraella on 2/4/2012 1:17:00 AM more reviews by barbraella

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I got this lipstick in two shades, juicy pink and ice tea and i noticed that the name of the shades are different here in australia then in the us as for the lipsticks themselves i think they are wonderful,juicy pink is a gorgeous shimmery barbie doll pink and ice tea is a nude shimmer pink great for a smokey eye as for the shine part it is pretty shiny and the staying power is pretty good compared to the wet shine lipsticks which had zero staying power,overall i love these lipcolours and will be buying more shades soon.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 ShannonRose on 1/19/2012 5:59:00 PM more reviews by ShannonRose

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Other    

Shiny for maybe an hour, then wears off and leaves my lips dry and faded with clumps of product bleeding outside my lipline. Not good. Won't buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 teashadlynch on 12/14/2011 2:52:00 AM more reviews by teashadlynch

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I got this product in 5 colors, one I swapped her on MUA before I tried the color cause I did not like it once I got home and looked at it in true light (plum color). The 4 colors that I have a use are Pink Freeze, Disco Pink, Glisten Up Pink, & Nude Glow. Kind of strange that I got some many pinks cause im not really a pink girl unless I wear a really nice silver and black smokey eye. Well when I did my eyes and put this on I was amazed. The pigmentation was great and the shine was outrageous. I was like Wow I could not believe it. It was so smooth to have glitter the glitter was not chunky at all, In fact I could not feel the glitter in the lipstick at all. Whoever says that this does not shine is CRAZY!! I cant say that they are my fave lipsticks but they are deff. GREAT!!!I say get one just to try im sure you will like them. The down side is that this line does not have a wide array of colors so you have to pick out the ones that they have. All in all I think that these are great. They give a nice shine and are very smooth, no gloss or chapstick needed!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 versace1008 on 12/12/2011 11:39:00 PM more reviews by versace1008

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I bought the color sensational high shine in Plum Shine, I loved it, it went on smooth and it felt great on my lips, its a darker color, great for the holidays. Its a dark plum!
I love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 teslafaraday on 12/10/2011 1:17:00 AM more reviews by teslafaraday

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I have this in fruit punch, coral lustre, pink freeze, disco pink, and glisten up pink. They are nice colors, although I found coral lustre and pink freeze don't show up much on me. The pigmentation is just ok. I also find them to be slightly drying.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* JChrisBee on 11/25/2011 8:54:00 PM more reviews by JChrisBee

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I had to update this review to say that neither color I reviewed below stayed true to color. And, although they were completely different colors, they both fade away to bright fuchsia. Not only did they fade, they faded very quickly and left a hard to remove fuchsia stain on my lips. Very surprising, as well, since one had "brown" in the name. These were the only two colors that would even come close to looking good on me as I look terrible in lighter pinks, corals and bright reds, which seems to be the main colors of choice for the "high shine" lipsticks. So, please read on but know that these colors may turn on you especially these that are highly pigmented darker colors.

I bought two of these lipsticks: one in Dazzling Plum and one in Lacquered Brown. First off, the lipsticks go on easily without lipliner and opaque, which is what I wanted. There is a slight smell but no bad taste and the smell, not entirely unpleasant goes away quickly. It has almost the shine of a gloss without the glop.

The Dazzling Plum is a shimmery dark shade of plum red. It really brightens my face. Great for the holidays. I really like that it doesn't go on bright or pink. I like dark but not bright.

Lacquered Brown is really not very brown. It is a slightly brown gorgeous plum. I see this shade becoming my new favorite. It is great with my brown eyes. Don't let the word "sheer" make you think this is not going to have color. It has plenty of color but not quite as opaque as the cremes. The top reviewer said it was a sheer chocolate brown, but this couldn't be further from the truth.

Right now, they're buy one get one half off at Ulta and I had a coupon from O magazine. That's about the only time it would be a good deal to buy from there, but you have to buy a couple of them. Otherwise they're less than $5 each at my Walmart.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Lipstick products